We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good business and restful hotel”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August, and also in April, and will continue to go back. It is extremely clean, efficient, quiet (in spite of its size) and very comfortable.
It has 3 restaurants, including an impressive french one, and the chefs know their stuff.
The prices are reasonable, the staff courteous and friendly, and the location is perfect for our purposes.

Room Tip: ask for the end of a corridor, preferably on a high floor. It will be dead silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked this property to attend a convention taking place there. They were able to accommodate my early arrival, upgrading my room to do so.The room was comfortable, most especially the bed. I ordered breakfast from room service both morning I was there and was pleased when it arrived hot and in very reasonable time. The conference facilities were excellent.I hope my convention goes back to this property next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHalsband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was attending a Lucas Agnew dog training workshop. This was very convenient to Spruce Meadows, where the workshop was being held. The staff very very accomodating. Also pet friendly. Complimentary breakfast for us as well. I would have one request that was denied. It was to be able to use the stairs rather than the elevator. For some reason only certain floors had access to stairs?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shade1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I were very disappointed when arriving at this property. The room with king size bed we booked months in advance was not available so they put us in a room with twin beds. The property was dirty, one of two elevators was out of order, the coffee machine in the room was broken and the list could go on and on. Do yourself a favor and look for other accommodations while visiting Calgary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn for a family wedding, and were both pleased and disappointed over the attributes of this hotel. The hotel has a tired and worn facade, yet the interior appears to have been recently refurbished. The rooms are average size with no amenities to write home about - but they are quiet, which is a good thing as I did not want any of the other guests to hear me shouting "where are the mountains" while peering through the "mountain view" windows. We were on the 7th floor but we may as well have been on the 1st floor due to the view, or lack thereof.

The clothes closet was so narrow I could not hang my shirt and jackets, and seemed to have been added as an afterthought. Hotel rooms should anticipate travellers with clothes.

Based on the amount of travel my wife and I experience yearly, I feel that the hotel's web site's photos and descriptors are overstated and border on being deceptive. Despite the excellent photographs incorporated into the web site, this is a "nice" 2 or 3 star family inn, not a superior hotel.

The complimentary buffet breakfast was disappointing, as was the small selection of food offered and even smaller level of service. On the other hand, the level of service in the banquet hall during the wedding was first rate!

Finally, although we did not use the fitness facility and outdoor swimming pool, both were in great condition and looked inviting. If visiting during the summer, bring your work out clothes and bathing suit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

In May I stayed at the Carriage House for three nights with my elderly mother. I chose this hotel based on location and price. I had requested a room near the elevator as my mom has mobility issues. Upon arrival we were offered a free upgrade (including complimentary breakfast each day) to a room closer to the elevator. The front desk clerk also gave us two complimentary drink coupons. The hotel is older but the room was nicely renovated and very comfortable. The small fridge in the room was very nice to have. The coffee maker in the room did not work and when I reported it to the front desk the next morning we received a complimentary pot of hot coffee delivered to the room. I thought this was a very nice gesture to make up for the coffee pot not working. We had one dinner in the restaurant and both the food and service was very good. The complimentary breakfast buffet each day was also very good. All of the staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a great stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again and I definitely would recommend the Carriage House to anyone looking for reasonably priced, clean, comfortable accommodation with a level of service that in my opinion rivals much pricier hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I picked this hotel because of its location and the outdoor pool. We enjoyed being able to see downtown Calgary in the distance. A nice large window for viewing lightening! The air conditioning was challenging to adjust but when asked it was looked after. Nice and quiet room :) We were beside the elevator but we didn't hear it at all. The first night we dined in their fanciest restaurant and were treated to liquors! We had croissants from their bakery counter in the am. Friday morning there was a huge bakery set up in the lobby with many local baked goods. Also a family type restaurant and a lounge and a pub so lots of choices right on site. They were working on the pool one am( cracks have been repaired in the concrete) and the pool was closed one afternoon for a private function. Luckily we still had time to swim and relax by the pool at other times.

Room Tip: 7th floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonbeams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 110 in Calgary
548 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 110 in Calgary
552 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 110 in Calgary
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 9030 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £68 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing