We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

In terms of structure, the hotel is decent. Rooms are okay, the lobby is fine. The reason I gave this hotel two stars is the staff. In my three days in this hotel, every single question I asked was answered with "um I don't know". The staff here knows nothing about recommending anywhere to eat, anything surrounding the hotel, what time the Starbucks LITERALLY next door is open...etc.

I had an issue with my charger, and I'm here on business- I asked if someone from the hotel could possibly buy a charger at the Walmart down the road and I would pay them for it. Now I understand this is going above and beyond but instead of saying " Sorry we cannot" they put the phone and started discussing it and then I heard someone say "just hang up" and then they hung up on me. Seriously??? Not only was I staying there for several nights, I also held conference at the hotel.

I found everyone at the hotel to be extremely unhelpful and knowledgeable. I would never ever stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel was a wonderful discovery! It was right near the places I went to Calgary to go to, within walking distance of some really great restaurants, and has it's own pretty decent restaurant! LOVE the pool area! It's not "fancy" but it for sure is a nice hotel for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrap_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I enjoy staying at the Carriage House Inn because it is well located to some of the places I like to visit when I am in Calgary and affordable. It is not upscale but the staff are pleasant, the restaurant is pretty decent, the pool area is lovely and the hotel rooms are nice with comfortable beds. Parking is free too. I would recommend a room above the 2nd floor facing north for better views. Second floor has a view of the roof and many views are blocked.

Room Tip: Third floor and up for better views. Downtown is to the north so view will be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertagemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Staff was great throughout hotel and the staff that helped with the wedding in the Windsor room--- awesome! Great location and very easy to find. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing with the extra sitting room for family visits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a great place to stay. Has a fine dining restaurant, sports bar and a gaming lounge. Withen walking distant there is other places to eat. The hotel is newly renovated with an outdoor pool and good gym. The staff is awesome. I have been staying there for many years and would not switch hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Carriage House Inn was our lunch and dinner destination when we lived here in Calgary in the late 70's and early 80's, during the days when the sweet old owner would always come over & say hello & chat for a minute. Amazingly, even though he's gone, and we long-since moved away from Calgary, the friendly atmosphere remains . . . and coming here to stay is almost like coming home. No exaggeration. Everyone is so warm and welcoming, including the lovely gal who checked us in early evening Friday, 27th; and Eppie in the restaurant. Rooms are beautifully renovated. Linens are excellent . . . although both my husband & I wish the housekeeping staff would make beds up so that the comforter comes up to our chins instead of our waists! Only one thing I'd add to the rooms and that's full-length mirrors; but really no complaints. Everything is impeccable and immaculate and Carriage House is run like an efficient little city. It just all WORKS! Meals are great, although the included breakfast tends not to get refreshed up till its 10 a.m. end time, even though numerous people are still coming in. Sunday brunch is excellent. Would we stay here again? A resounding "Yes."

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarafa336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have lived here approx 30 years ago. Dinner every night in lounge. If feeling like a treat went to restaurant always good food and service. Friday nites spent in bar at the back where it was rip roaring good time. First place I ever thru peanut shells on the floor. Looks like its all been renovated. I met so many good people from the south side of town. Also must admit I was drug store cowgirl from the Ranchmans - very close by. It is good for your soul to remember positive places that helped you grow. Thanx Carriage House.

Room Tip: I lived on 2nd floor - party room, never received any grief just occasional feedback from gentlemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 110 in Calgary
548 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 110 in Calgary
552 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 110 in Calgary
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 9030 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £67 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing