We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place with good and fairly inexpensive food”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here in June this year for a wedding event. Arrived Thursday afternoon and stayed until Monday morning. We were on the 8th floor and the room was clean and quiet. We upgraded slightly to a room with one king sized bed. The bed was comfortable and the room had a small table with two chairs near the windows and also another comfortable chair beside the bed along with the usual "hotel furnishings" ie -wardrobe cabinet with hangers and two bath robes which also was beside the TV stand with storage drawers for clothes. There was a desk area with chair and free internet. Bathroom was small but adequate and most importantly, clean. There was also a small fridge in he room. Ironing board and a small closet for more hanging clothes also present. Overall it was what you would expect from a hotel room. Nothing extraordinary but as I said, clean and comfortable.

We had a few meals in the restaurant and I must say the prices were very fair and the food delicious. Try the fresh trout if your into fish. 12 bucks or so but very tasty, I had it twice!

We decided earlier to gather many of the wedding party and guests for the Carriage Inn Sunday Brunch for about 20 dollars a head. We sat down with about 24 people at a long table and enjoyed a fabulous buffet consisting of a wide variety of food. Something for everyone for sure no matter what you enjoy. Everything was tasty and the variety was equal to or better than any brunch buffet I have been to. Well worth checking out if your staying here or even if your not. I'm sure most of the people there were not even staying at the hotel. Make reservations to ensure you get a seat. There are two sittings every Sunday and I would eat here again for sure.

The hotel is within walking distance to many chain food outlets and also a 7-11 is across the street. The 7-11 is poorly stocked unless you want total junk food but it does have juices etc if you need to pick up a few things.

There is also a walled outdoor pool to enjoy with an open roof which is great to cool down in or for a place to let the kids blow off some steam. The pool is beside a small gym for those who feel the need to exercise every day.

All in all, my experience here was good and the staff was friendly. No complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatzAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Carriage House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff here is excellent. I felt very welcome right from the start. The front desk were amazing!!! They were so friendly and I felt like they wanted me there. Hard to find now a days. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of a vacation in Canada. Staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was clean and comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was limited (hot food was scrambled eggs, sauté potatoes and either sausage or bacon on different days), but nicely presented and more than adequate.

The hairdryer in our room was not working, but was swiftly repaired when we reported it.

There is a good choice of eating venues - bar, casual or more formal - and further choice in the surrounding area. Access downtown is less easy, but it isn't far to the C-train station and trains are very frequent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there on a Friday and Saturday to attend a meeting down town. My room was nice and a very nice breakfast was included. Parking was free. Is not very close to down town but the LRT is only 2 blocks away and take about 10 minutes to get there

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The service at check-in was very friendly and I was presented with a nice little gift. I was attending a business meeting there the next morning. I would choose a room a little further away from the elevator but the noise wasn't enough to wake me. The bed was very comfortable. I didn't use any of the spa facilities so have no idea there. I was attending a conference (once of many that I've attended there) and it's always comfortable and food is good.

Room Tip: My room was fairly close to the elevators but wasn't too noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If your destination is south Calgary then the Carriage House is a great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and very friendly staff. We forgot our cell phone in the room when we checked out and didn't realize it until we had arrived back in our home town. In fact we didn't know where we had "lost" it. When we contacted the hotel to see if it was there, they had already found it and then helped arrange for pick by a family member living in Calgary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Carriage House is a nice, clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff that is well located. Although it was not a need of ours, the hotel seemed to be very wheelchair friendly. They advertise pet friendly but also can accommodate those of us with allergies that require non-pet friendly rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glodawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 109 in Calgary
529 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#44 of 109 in Calgary
544 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,132 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 9030 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing