We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel as it was close to a wedding I was attending. It is pretty far out from the city. The rate I used included breakfast. The check in process was fast and friendly. The room was a little small, but adequate. The Peanut Bar was closed for renovation, but there is a bar across the road. The breakfast buffet was very average - food was a little blah. There is a Starbucks very close by so that worked for me instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jospos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    360
    138
    41
    25
See reviews for
277
235
55
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was booked into this hotel by a colleague for a work trip. Easy access to Ctrain and downtown. Checkin was easy and staff was nice. Morning food was above average.
But i wasn't happy otherwise. The grounds, elevator, hallways, and rooms are outdated and need work. Overall my expereince was "average". For the price, i will defineately look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Carriage House Inn was a winner in our books. We stayed there because we had a wedding to attend near by. We booked online and had a AAA rate which included hot buffet for two for breakfast. The buffet was hot, the food was good and we enjoyed our bacon and scrambled eggs, yogurt and pastries along with orange juice and coffee. The service was very attentive. This was not the Sunday Buffet but the one served before 10 a.m. and it was exactly what we wanted. One comment about improvement for the buffet would be to get different toasters. The toasters were extremely slow and the "toast" came out the same color as it went in. When we saw how long it was taking people to get their toast, we decided just to skp it and did without. Our room was clean, comfortable and we enjoyed the array of toiletries displayed in the bathroom. Shower was great. This is a smoke free hotel and we smelled cigarette smoke in the hall when we left our room to go to our wedding venue. We told the front desk and they said they would look into it immediately. No problems after that. We found all staff pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor right by the elevator. We thought we might be bothered by noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding reception and were very pleased. The staff was very accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. The reception was beautiful and the catering was outstanding. We also ate in the dining room which was a pleasant experience. Very well trained staff, wonderful food, acceptable pricing. Our room was very clean, especially the bathroom which is a must for us. The carpeting had a couple of stains but otherwise was very clean. Did think charging $1.75 for a bottle of water a little excessive. Our only complaint. Had a wonderful stay. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked this last minute as we wanted to stay longer in Calgary. Was reasonably priced but nothing was special about it.

The front desk staff needs some training on how to deal with customers - I was left standing, without acknowledgement, for several minutes while one girl chatted with a male customer being checked in by another person - not too professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Carriage House Inn in June 2014 while our kitchen was being renovated. We found it to be good value for the money and breakfast was included.

The rooms are clean and quiet and the beds are super comfortable. Staff went out of their way to find a more suitable (flatter) pillow for me!

The food in their dining room was extremely good and we enjoyed the personal attention of James, who ensured that we had a great experience!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a family or business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it had a restaurant and lounge. It's a nice clean hotel. We went in to inquire about a room for the night, and with no credit card we were told that the room rate was $70.00 more to pay with cash/debit. Plus we had to pay $100.00 refundable deposit. I completely understand the need for a deposit but it is totally stupid that someone who is paying cash has to pay $70.00 extra. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Blackfoot
#20 of 109 in Calgary
521 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#45 of 109 in Calgary
540 reviews
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,087 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
656 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 9030 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0M4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#31 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn now offers complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, free WIFI and free parking. Outdoor heated pool and hot tub open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Calgary
Carriage Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing