We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked two rooms here through a promotion which offered the second room at half price. Great value. While not centrally located it has easy access to main transportation routes that made travel easy. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. There was a big wedding at the hotel that night but we didn't hear a thing and had a great nights sleep. The grandchildren enjoyed the pool. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We are so happy to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    174
    109
    40
    32
See reviews for
140
87
44
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel before a trip to B.C and on the way home. All 3 nights we stayed were enjoyable, the bed was comfy and so were the pillows. We swam in the pool all 3 nights in their salt water pool, which was at a good temperature. We were also able to entertain friends under a gazebo in the court yard. The only issue we had was the poor service at the restaurant in the hotel. The waitresses were often slow or ignored us ( even when there was only a couple of other tables occupied). We did enjoy the breakfast Buffett but often chose to eat at other restaurants in Calgary

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandjsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Terrific to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate you sharing your recent experience and apologize for the slow service in the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightwater
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our last hotel after our road trip, and chosen because it was reasonably close to the airport. On check in we were greeted by an unsmiling and frankly fairly hostile receptionist. She must have had a bad day (or didn't like Brits), but that aside the hotel was good, the rooms clean and comfortable, and a good location for the C train just a short walk away. The bar and restaurant staff were excellent as were the 2 meals we had there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLightwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel is not worth the money and below standard. Booked this hotel for 1 night before our 10 day trip to banff, jasper and lake Louise. The room that we were given was in the B tower and the AC unit did not work (on a very hot day). Complained about it to the front desk. Sent some tech (did not look like a tech at all), did something to the AC unit and the thermostat and said it should be okay in some time. Still the room was very hot. Called the front desk manager at about 1030 at night. Said it is a problem in many rooms in that tower and arranged for a fan. After being still not happy, offered us a room in tower A at about midnight. This night manager was nice that he allowed us to keep the old room as we had lots of luggage and did not have any energy to transfer all the luggage in the middle of the night. This was the only positive part of the whole (horrible) stay.
Now comes the worst part/customer service
When i booked this hotel through hotels.ca, it was advertised as free breakfast. Next morning after having sleepless night, went to the front desk to ask for the breakfast coupon. First of all a very non competent front desk staff (chelsea) refused to acknowledge that breakfast was at all included with my reservation as it was reserved with hotels.ca. When I insisted that it was when i booked this hotel she hesitantly gave me 2 coupons for the breakfast (we were 2 adults and 2 children). I took it and went to my room to check the printed contract i had. Not anywhere was mentioned that breakfast was complementary only for two people. Went back with the printed contract from hotels.ca and asked her to show that breakfast was only for two persons. With her very rude attitude she said that these were the instructions given to her by the management. When I demanded to speak to the manager on duty she hesitantly called the manager. His name was dan [--]. He went through the contract and still was not able to find it and finally offered me the 4 coupons.
My question is why do they put their patrons in such a embarasing situation to begin with. why do we have to ask for breakfast coupons and why is it not given with check ins. Why false advertise and not live up to the expectations?? Why allot rooms when they know that AC is an issue in tower B?????

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay and that the hotel did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss your stay with us in further detail do not hesitate to provide you contact information to jgodfrey@calgaryplaza.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, finishing our trip to Canada. Very convenient location. We were able to use the hotel shuttle bus to return to the hotel after dropping off our hire car at the airport. The C train was a 5 minute walk with frequent trains to Downtown. Several shopping malls within easy walking distance.

Arrived early but were able to check in. Very accommodating reception staff. Room was very comfortable, 2 queen size beds. Breakfast was very good value, lots of choice at the buffet and very friendly staff. Booked the shuttle bus for our trip to the airport which was dead on time and a very welcome service provided by the hotel.

Loved the decorations in the public areas for the Stampede.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Terrific to hear that you had a great stay! We are happy the hotel was able to accommodate you and provide a convenient location to the many nearby services! We hope you had a safe trip home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I came from San Francisco and my flight was delayed due to weather issue or something so I missed my connecting flight going to Vancouver. I was having a bad time already, very tired and disappointed. United Airline gave me a phone # to call for hotels . My bf was the one who booked me in this hotel. I didnt expect anything from this hotel, as I just wanted to have a place where I can stay ,relax and sleep. I had troubles too looking for the shuttle place since it was my first time here in clagary, good thing the shuttle guy showed up on the said time. Very helpful , he helped me with my heavy luggage. When I got into the hotel, all the guest services are very welcoming and accomodating. The room is awesome and clean. I like how clean the bathroom too and with all those bath room stuffs. Restaurant was great. Overall I had a fantastic stay here. Checking out today as Im writing this feedback from this hotel. I will come back again and stay here for sure. Thank you COAST Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevVanderlipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so very happy to hear that your had a fantastic stay! We hope you had a safe trip home and that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location was great and the staff were better. Walking distance to Marlborough Mall, the Marlborough LRT station, Pacific Place, a variety of restaurants (including some fast food) made the hotel a good choice for me.

The staff was incredibly helpful, setting me up with a shuttle to the airport for my flight back to China. The facility was really nice and the rooms were very comfortable. The conference facility was busy almost every night, but it wasn't any kind of intrusion.

The Concierge staff was very knowledgeable and able to help me with a few specific issues that I had to accomplish while I was in the city. I would definitely recommend the hotel and the staff to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Many thanks for the review and taking the time to share your recent experience at the Coast Plaza Hotel. I am happy to hear that our staff were friendly and accommodating and have shared your feedback with them so they know their work doesn't go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
#38 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1316 33 St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#32 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the Calgary International Airport and the city center, in the heart of North East Calgary's business community; The Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre is your home away from home where you will experience contemporary accommodations, friendly service and exceptional dining. Within minutes from the Trans-Canada highway and in the midst of two shopping centers, dining and entertainment and within walking distance of the nearby light rail transit system. As well as within very close proximity to the Calgary Zoo, TELUS Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Stampede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing