We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bed!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night before an early flight, because they offered free shuttle & allowed us 7 days free parking. The hotel was a little above average (some road noise) but the king sized bed was one of the nicest I have found in many years. This hotel is in the city's N.E.
and because of airport construction/road change, it is not real close to airport anymore. Free parking & shuttle helps. Would stay again for a 1 nighter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbtwos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of our Stop Over package as a convenient alternative to parking at the airport. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    186
    115
    43
    33
See reviews for
159
97
46
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Coast Plaza doesn't pretend to be something its not...
Its a reasonably priced hotel with expected amenities (pool, gym, bar, restaurant, conference rooms etc...).
My family and I stayed one night in what's called a "Superior room" on the 11th floor. The room had a great view of the downtown Calgary skyline with the rocky mountains in the background. The problem with the room was the walls were thin.
We were waken several times by the neighboring rooms and we ended up calling security twice.
-I know, this is a review of the hotel, not the other guests-
The furniture was dated, as was the bathroom. The HD TV was nice, and the hotel does provide internet plug-in. (not sure if there was Wi-Fi). Reception was nice, but nothing to rave about.
Overall, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
It is unfortunate your recent stay did not meet your expectations. The hotel is currently in the process of updating the décor in our guestrooms and we urge you to come back in the future to experience our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I desperately want to give this hotel 2 stars. The non smoking room smelled like a smoky casino. There were more cigarette burns on the bathroom sink, carpet and drapes than I could count. The television didn't work. The view was of a filthy parking lot (it is a conference center in a cruddy part of town, so that can't be helped I suppose). The window coverings didn't sufficiently block the light at night nor in the morning...it was bad.

But, the bed was comfortable and the sheets seemed clean. So some sleep was accomplished. The reason and ONLY reason it doesn't get one to two stars is because the Canadian staff...so friendly and helpful. The kid at the desk remembered my name the next day and went out of his way for me. The buffet waitresses were amazingly friendly and helpful. And the buffet was actually a really good breakfast at a pretty good price.

PLEASE COAST HOTELS, clean up the property to match the high standards set by your staff!

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your satisfaction. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments to ensure the issues are dealt with accordingly. The hotel is in the process of refreshing our guestrooms and hope you will give us an opportunity to make this up to you in the future! On a positive note, we are extremely pleased that our staff were friendly and accommodating to you and that they assisted in making your stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I was in town for one night for a holiday party. I ended up not feeling well. The gentleman at the front desk ordered a cab to take me to the hospital. I ended up having to stay in the hospital past check out. They were very understanding and offered me a late check out. Things progessed and I ended up needing emergency surgery. A quick call to the hotel later and they had the room ready for my family to go into that night.

I really appreciated all their help and not having to worry about this when I had other stuff going on. Great job!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dcf260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We greatly appreciate your recent review and are thrilled to hear that our staff were accommodating to you and your family. We have shared your feedback with our staff so they know that all of their hard work goes a long way! Wishing you a speedy recovery. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Coast Plaza Calgary located in north-east of the downtown Calgary, closer to the International airport. This hotel is ideal for business travelers who do not need to go to downtown as the traffic is generally light in this part of the city. It is adequate for short term stay, but probably not ideal for long term stay. There is not much around the vicinity other than two shopping malls, a 2nd. run movie house and variety of restaurants. There is a sports bar in the hotel, which is a nice place to hang out. The restaurant within the hotel is also pretty good. The hotel staff is friendly and courteous. The room service is good. Rooms are generally available in short notice, except for the Calgary Stampede week, so book ahead during that time. I stayed there at least a dozen times, and never found any major issues that I need to mention here. Overall, pretty decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaustuv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Many thanks for your recent review! We appreciate being recognized for our convenient location to downtown and the Calgary International Airport as well as the many services in our area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! All the best to you and yours in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The folks here are super friendly and try to be helpful.
I stay here about 4 times a year. There always seems to be 'bumps' ... The hotel rooms always feel cluttered and I usually have a snag like key cards not working... I stay here because the company lays for it - not by preference. :(
On the plus side- the conference services ALWAYS seem to go smoothly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for the review! We are sorry to hear that our guestrooms do not meet your expectations. The hotel is currently updating the decor in our guestrooms and hope you will be able to experience our new look soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

my husband and I checked in on Friday for business. I introduced myself to the hotel desk clerk as a Coast Rewards member. They had no idea about the program. They had a difficult time understanding what I was saying to them about my rewards card. At check out there was another hotel desk clerk who took my card and added the stay onto that. The hotel is starting to look its age. The room was comfortable, The light fixtures needed new bulbs. very dim. We requested a late check out and the hotel desk clerk called us to see if we were checking out or not. That was at 12:15. One good thing they had was the hot apple cider in the front foyer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay and apologize for the inconvenience experienced at check-in. The Coast Plaza Hotel and Coast Hotels greatly values the loyalty of all Coast Rewards Members. We are in the process of updating the decor in our rooms and hope you return in the future to see our refreshed rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1316 33 St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#32 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the Calgary International Airport and the city center, in the heart of North East Calgary's business community; The Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre is your home away from home where you will experience contemporary accommodations, friendly service and exceptional dining. Within minutes from the Trans-Canada highway and in the midst of two shopping centers, dining and entertainment and within walking distance of the nearby light rail transit system. As well as within very close proximity to the Calgary Zoo, TELUS Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Stampede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing