We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Motel Village
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel as a family member was hospitalized at the Foothills Hospital. Due to a large conference in town, this was the only place available on short notice. The bathroom was horrible as there was mould all over the ceiling. No fridge, and laundry facilities were in the basement of the hotel, shared with the cleaning staff. It was party central as a football game was on close by at McMahon Stadium. Nobody seemed to care. The worst part was I paid a hundred bucks a night to stay here. I will NEVER stay here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epochlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoInnsSuites, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hello

I really appreciate you taking time to write a review about your stay with us, when concerns like yours are brought to our attention we are able to fix them so that it does not happen again.

As with any hotel, there is somebody at the front desk available 24 hours per day to address and resolve any concerns that you may have. We actually do have newly renovated rooms available, as well as rooms with fridges and microwaves.

There is a sign posted, that states that all laundry facilities are available after 3pm

I would like to invite the author of this review to call Yasmin Peerani the General Manager of The EconoLodge Motel Village to discuss this review further. You may contact her, toll free at - 1-866-501-0542 or yperraniecono@shaw.ca

Thank You

Rory Siddall
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    26
    38
    22
    31
See reviews for
21
35
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

If you want a cheap quick stop hotel at a cheap price this is okay. A bit run down but for a one night stop over it is ok. NOT a place for a holiday stay! Busy location and a bit worn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finnsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoInnsSuites, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hello

Thank you for leaving us a review!

We would like to let readers know that we do offer newly renovated rooms. We are also, the proud recipient of the APEX award for best housekeeping for 2011. We also have staff available 24 hours per day should you have any concern with your stay.

Rory Siddall
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Booked ahead because motor inn was "pet friendly". When I arrived I did not feel welcome with my dog at all. I was told that the dog was NOT to be left alone in the suite at any time. Rather inconvenient .. how is one to go to a restaurant? This initial reception set the tone for my stay. I felt as if I was not the "customer" at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoInnsSuites, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this concern to our attention.

Because of this review, we have changed out pet policy;

Pets are allowed to be in the room unattended, however we would request that they not be left alone for more than 4 hours.

Rory Siddall
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We booked this Econo Lodge because of its location and because it was cheap(relatively) for a "get there late leave there early" part of our itinerary. Based on some of the reviews posted here and my own experience, I expected this Econo Lodge to be a little rough around the edges and it was(a little). My thought has always been this: if your paying for a place where you'll be unconscious for 85% of the small amount of time you're there, then I would rather spend money on something else, like a really nice dinner or for a great hotel later on in the trip. As long as there is no filth or vermin, all the appliances are functional-i.e. A/C, TV and hot water-and no disturbing noises at night, I'm pretty easy to please. The hallway did have a sour kind of old cigarette smell but the room itself smelled fine. They had lobby coffee and a very modest continental breakfast in the morning and all the staff we encountered were helpful and accommodating. For "low maintenance" travelers like ourselves, the Econo Lodge had all we needed.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The only posive thing is that it was one of the cheapest and that its very good accessable with a Car. But the whole place would need a renovation. If you look behind curtains etc. you will see how this place is rotten. Additionally booking via HRS lead to the situation where I was told that non smooking rooms are more exspensive and I should complain with HRS, anyway "this is what you have to expect if you book the cheapest rates" (Quote). So I had to pay an add on.
Breakfast was very very basic.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This place is a little run down but the location is quite good. The room we stayed in just did not smell good. Perhaps it was stale smoke (though the desk clerk said they've been non smoking for 15 years) or mold or I don't know what. It was badly covered up with over fabreezing. My wife started to have an aszema attack after only 30 minutes in the room. The desk clerk was very understanding and set us up with another room, however the second room was no different. In the end the clerk refunded us our money and even helped us find another hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mortaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Good rates, he staff were friendly and gave us directions to where we needed to go
Location was really good because it is right off of 16th avenue and there is a dennys next door and an LRT station right across the street.
The rooms were comfortable

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
187 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Motel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Motel Village

Property: Econo Lodge Motel Village
Address: 2440 16 Ave. N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Motel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Econo Lodge Motel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Motel Village Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge Village
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing