We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I gave it a three star as the location of this hotel was excellent as it is near to a chino cook mall, lots of fast food chain / restaurant and gas station. From this location to downtown Calgary it took us 9-15 mins. drive. This motel was clean, bed was okay, good size bathroom but the aircon is noisy and was tired so we didn't bother and we just stayed here for a night. The receptionist was okay didn't suggest anything so we just help ourselves to get our free travel guide map. Free parking and wi-fi internet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

If this is the only place with rooms available, I will sleep in my car. Dirty, smelly,buggy, dirty linens and carpet. Hooker and druggie haven. Owner who absolutely didn't care about the premises. I'm surprised the business is legally allowed to operate- it's that bad.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ringwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is great place to stay at given rate considering the locality of the hotel.
Chinook mall, Gas station, Rental car are all at walkable distance.
Downtown is just about 5 Km from hotel.
Also, staff is very helpful and on their toe to help out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I found the service and cleanliness of this hotel appalling. The hotel is run by a family who are very uptight and have big chips on their shoulders and take it on the guests. On one occasion, there were no facecloths in my room so I went to front desk to get another one. They made a big deal out of it like it was my fautl there were no facecloths in the room, not the maid's Then they asked if I need it right away. Well of course-duh! Then there was no maid service after a few days of staying there. I was there for a week. They said weeklies get limited service, and I asked what to do about the garbage. They finally took it out. A couple of days later there was no maid service again and no facecloths had been replaced and were gone! And I saw the maids sitting on the carpet talking away for over an hour not doing any work at all. I had to go to front desk again to get facecloths. The whole time I was there the room was never vacuumed at all and the sheets never changed. I also broke out in red blotches on my skin after checking in. They looked like bedbug bites. They went away after I left. Spend more money and get a decent clean place to stay, people!

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Howard Johnson Express Hotel!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sugarpie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Had stayed at the Howard Johnson Calgary with some of our business clients. Would highly recommend the hotel, primarily for a decent service, an excellent price and a very good location for this hotel. The new management met our needs with regards to the rooms and the housekeeping service very promptly. Overall a good place to stay in Calgary.
Wilma

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Confirmez votre réservation avant votre arrivée car se sont des voleurs!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Niet doen.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hilde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
250 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
156 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £29 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing