We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, bad and thieves!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 20 November 2011

If I could rate in the negative I would. An associate of mine and I stayed here one night. The rooms were run down(that's putting it mildly), cable did not work, stains on sheets, floors and walls. The room smelled funky.
In the morning upon checkout we were told to hold on while they checked the room, this was fine by us. They came back and said we smoked in the room based solely off an empty cigarette pack they found in the garbage and we would not be getting our damage deposit back. I informed them that my associate has terrible asthma and there is no way we smoked in the room. They said we were lying and got loud and rude with us to the point we had to call the police on them. When the Police came we were told there is nothing they can do about getting our "damage deposit" back from them we would have to deal with the Howard Johnson company and possibly go through a civil process.
We have contacted the Howard Johnson and not heard back from them at all, they were friendly on the phone but that does not replace our lost money or make up for the terrible room and customer service we received. Avoid this place at all costs there is a Days Inn and a Best Western right down the road they may cost a bit more but WAY better rooms/customer service and they wont steal your money.
Anyone that gives this place 5 stars either sleeps in dirt on a regular basis and this is a step up or they work for the company, bottom line.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Yes, we saw you smoking in the room .Moreover, ash was found on the table in the room. Smoking charges are made only after serious consideration Again,we are not in the business of stealing deposits .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Dingy rooms, smells like mold infestation, squashed bugs on ceilings, telephone wires coming through wall with no cover plates, ground floor windows not securly shut and a very foul mouth on boy who acts as manager/maintenance, the use of the "F" word by management is encouraged so STAY AWAY from this poorly run down establishment. I will post on YOUTUBE and FACEBOOK to reach more vitims

Room Tip: there are NO good rooms! thos establishment should be shut down
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Hi , AGAIN we''ll have to repeat ourselves as this is the same guest reviewed us oct 27 .How can i forget .Front desk was busy i personally helped them .They had a COMPLAINT for everything ....... we dont know french ? .....we are supposed to be 6.1 km from airport ?? ......why there's so much traffic in calgary as they were stuck in traffic for 45 mins @ chinook ???.Bothering local authorities by dialling emergency services & hanging up assuming nobody would know from which room is calling .From the authorities we came to know that they have " anger & behavioural management problem" .Themselves admitted that they were kicked out from other hotel the same day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My work associates and I went to Calgary to attend a two-day course. Based on their reputation, rates and website, we thought we'd take a chance. We were unbelievably disappointed. The rooms were filthy, with cracks and water stains in the ceiling, a broken door janb in the bathroom, lights that flickered and dimmed when the bathroom light was turned on, baseboard heater covers not attached, mystery stains on the wall between the beds, and TV and phone not working. We decided to stay the first night of the two we had booked, as it was too late in the evening to change hotels. I did phone the front desk that night to find out what their checkout policy was.
The next morning, I communicated with the front desk staff about our concerns, citing damage and dirt, stating that HoJo needed to spend some money on their rooms. Front desk asked if we wanted to change rooms, I replied no, and stated that we would not be back, and got verbal confirmation from Front Desk that we would not be charged for the second night.
Unfortunately, I didn't get a receipt. When I got back to work two days later, I called to ask that a receipt be faxed to me. It was, after 7 phone calls and more than a week had passed. Once I got the receipt, I realized we had indeed been charged for the second night for both rooms. Two weeks and 10 phone calls later, still no satisfaction.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Guest didnt inform that they are leaving one day earlier than planned .As they agree they should've informed & taken a reciept

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Do NOT give them your credit card until you have seen the rooms, as they refused to give us a refund when we returned to the desk in disgust, and Visa said they could not charge-back. The clerk offered us another room, which was bigger but just as dirty.
This place is not only old and shabby, but a disgrace. The bedspread appeared to have blood on it, the sheets had spots of something on them, and we could not get out of there fast enough. It seems to be nothing more than the local flop house.
If you are reading this too late, about all you can do is complain about this "independantly owned and operated" franchise to Wyndham hotel group corporate office at ------. You are better off sleeping in your car at the Walmart parking lot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llnjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Wow, seemed decent . Checked in after showing rooms .Given a free upgrade .Said 1) on web it shows hotel is 6.1 km from airport ? 2) why we have wi fi ? .Above all played dirty games by repeatedley dialling 911 & hanging up ,thinking that nobody will know which room called ......Need we say more ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Was in Calgary for business and stayed couple of nights at this location. Rooms were small yet clean, the lady at front desk was very helpful in providing directions. Will highly recommend & definetly come back as prices were nominal & lowest being that close to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Do NOT book without seeing this place. We booked ahead with hotels.com. Upon arrival, we realized this was not a place we wanted to stay, but could not get a refund since we'd paid hotels.com, would have to pay a cancellation fee because of their 24hour policy. The room was dingy and musty. The beds visibly sagged, and when I turned down the sheets, a bed bug crawled out. After 3 nights I had 12 bed bug bites although I tried to be vigilant. The wifi did not work for me nor others, although I did get a help number to contact, but they could not help either. The bathroom was renovated and clean. Towels were adequate and clean. The breakfast was adequate, but you have to ask for coffee, bread, etc to be replaced and they don't clean the tables until the breakfast period is over. The laundry worked, coke machine and ice machine worked. We chose this place sight unseen because of the Howard Johnson branding, thinking that although it was old, it was located well for our needs and surely the brand would have standards. NO THEY DO NOT. Avoid staying here unless you can do a fumagation on the pillows and beds daily long before sleeping.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if you do, ask for 2 double beds. Single rooms are barely larger than a do...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheShoeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Given a discount rate, this can be very good value if you are just looking for a place to crash. There's really nothing going on nearby, but it is located within a few minutes drive of great shopping, and the Saddledome.

Typical old, slightly run down motel affair. They say they've renovated and it's true of the flat screen TVs (which still look like crap when they aren't tuned, and lack the high def signal). Air-conditioning worked (thankfully!), and there were lots of channels on the TV. Free wi-fi was okay too. Otherwise, just a basic not terribly clean property. My room key card was finicky and took up to 5 minutes to work sometimes...

The rate they were advertising when I arrived was 35 bucks more than what I paid; it is not worth that much extra!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
251 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
156 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#85 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £29 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing