We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay At Howard Johnson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here with family for about 2 weeks. Stay was comfortable. Mini-Kitchen facility was of a great help, specially while staying with family. The rates were reasonable, with the property situated quite close to the Calgary Downtown, transit and Chinook Center Mall. Staff was very friendly and co-operative.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have just recently stayed at the howard johnson in calgary
the rooms were very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
Everything I requested for was brought to me and they were very nice about it.
For the price I paid i was very pleased with everything!
AWESOME hotel and price !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksekhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Its Really good to stay in this hotel, i stayed for a week and every thing looked fine for me, here the front desk agent was very friendly and helped me a lot, rooms are very clean. i enjoyed staying here and i recommond this hotel if you visit calgary and downtown is very close to this hotel, i can assure you that you will enjoy staying here. I came very early in the morning before the standard checkin time and front desk agent saw me very tired and promptly alloted me a upgraded room with no extra cost.

Room Tip: rooms on main floor, ask for a room with fridge, microwave and LCD TV(no extra charges).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madan Mohan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I am so unhappy about our stay here. We were expecting quality of Howard Johnson, this place is a disgrace to their name! We booked from out of province and when we arrived we were so mad, as the place was so run down from the outside. And that's just the beginning ....the inside was filthy and we found bed bugs in the bed, along with blood stains. The room keepers were terrible and the owners were very untrustworthy. Not to mention my husband went out to get our daughters teddy she forgot in the car after dark, and was confronted by a what he calls a prostitute. [--]
Let's hope the filthy owners take bed bugs home to thier families. Can't believe the health board doesn't close them down!
STAY CLEAR OF THIS PLACE unless you enjoy all the above :/

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank forrestgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

We are confused .Did this actually happened ? .Bed bugs ? Which room & what date you stayed ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Let me start by saying, it felt as if i stepped foot into a giant litter box. The rooms are terrible! The television did not work, and the windows are filthy. But that is not the worst part. Upon check out of this rats nets, they accused me of smoking in the room, which I did not do. As a matter of fact I have asthma and dont smoke. They would not give back my $300 damage deposit, and when i argued she said "what are you going to do about it". Eventually i phoned the police and was told i had to file a law suit. I strongly urge anyone considering this hotel, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Unless you enjoys disgusting rooms with thieves as owners.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marion1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

We are sorry , you were charged 200 (not 300) .For smoking in a non-smoking room .That is the cost which involves sanitization , deep cleaning & lost rent of the room .As you know,all rooms are non-smoking at our location .This charge was put after we saw an occupant smoking in the room & smoking evidence was found in the room .Later on, occupants were also heard blaming each other for smoking in the room . We are not in the business of Stealing Deposits !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

If I could rate in the negative I would. An associate of mine and I stayed here one night. The rooms were run down(that's putting it mildly), cable did not work, stains on sheets, floors and walls. The room smelled funky.
In the morning upon checkout we were told to hold on while they checked the room, this was fine by us. They came back and said we smoked in the room based solely off an empty cigarette pack they found in the garbage and we would not be getting our damage deposit back. I informed them that my associate has terrible asthma and there is no way we smoked in the room. They said we were lying and got loud and rude with us to the point we had to call the police on them. When the Police came we were told there is nothing they can do about getting our "damage deposit" back from them we would have to deal with the Howard Johnson company and possibly go through a civil process.
We have contacted the Howard Johnson and not heard back from them at all, they were friendly on the phone but that does not replace our lost money or make up for the terrible room and customer service we received. Avoid this place at all costs there is a Days Inn and a Best Western right down the road they may cost a bit more but WAY better rooms/customer service and they wont steal your money.
Anyone that gives this place 5 stars either sleeps in dirt on a regular basis and this is a step up or they work for the company, bottom line.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Yes, we saw you smoking in the room .Moreover, ash was found on the table in the room. Smoking charges are made only after serious consideration Again,we are not in the business of stealing deposits .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Dingy rooms, smells like mold infestation, squashed bugs on ceilings, telephone wires coming through wall with no cover plates, ground floor windows not securly shut and a very foul mouth on boy who acts as manager/maintenance, the use of the "F" word by management is encouraged so STAY AWAY from this poorly run down establishment. I will post on YOUTUBE and FACEBOOK to reach more vitims

Room Tip: there are NO good rooms! thos establishment should be shut down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Hi , AGAIN we''ll have to repeat ourselves as this is the same guest reviewed us oct 27 .How can i forget .Front desk was busy i personally helped them .They had a COMPLAINT for everything ....... we dont know french ? .....we are supposed to be 6.1 km from airport ?? ......why there's so much traffic in calgary as they were stuck in traffic for 45 mins @ chinook ???.Bothering local authorities by dialling emergency services & hanging up assuming nobody would know from which room is calling .From the authorities we came to know that they have " anger & behavioural management problem" .Themselves admitted that they were kicked out from other hotel the same day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
181 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 110 in Calgary
854 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#52 of 110 in Calgary
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £28 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing