We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Absolutely horrendous! We checked into our room at 8:30pm and had to be moved twice. Our first room reeked like dirty feet. It smelled so bad your eyes watered.

When we tried to move they wanted to charge us an upgrade fee! I couldn't believe it. It wasn't our fault our room was uninhabitable. After 15 minutes of arguing, he 'did us a huge favour' and let us take another room for the same price.

Our second room was a disaster. Stickers all over the ceiling, cigarette burns in the carpet and it looked like somebody had kicked the door in at some point. The bolt was hanging off the inside of the door. I didn't feel safe at all considering the room doors are outside. After going back to the front desk again, the guy working was extremely rude. We asked him to come take a look at the door and again, after a few minutes of arguing he 'did us a favour' by going to look at it.

Totally unacceptable. Spend the extra $20 per night and stay somewhere else. It's worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MelBee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

We apologize for the inconvenience caused . We have immediately undertaken a phased full scale Professional Enzyme Shampoo of all the rooms . Plus ,the repairs as remarked . For the settlement of your complaint please write directly to hojocalgary@gmail.com .Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Recently my husband and I were booked to stay at this "Howard Johnson" property for three nights. We lasted 4 minutes!! The location is NOT south Calgary, as indicated, rather quite central. It is an old, dirty property on a very busy street which has a new paint job on the outside.
The room was disgusting- dirty-actually found an empty dirty 2L Orange Crush bottle, Doritos, sugar packets, Cheerios, paper coffee cups and stir sticks under the bed; poorly furnished - floor lamp plugged into a random socket across the room from anything, dingy lighting, worn flooring, small room. Bedding was suspect-hair tangled in blankets and on sheets. Door closed with gaps around it (very cold out) and air system didn't work. We did NOT feel safe to either stay or even go back to the office to talk to the management. To say the least, the few clientele we saw did not inspire confidence in us. I had previously submitted this review BEFORE reading any others. I was so surprised to read, over and over again, the same experiences we had. I laugh at the rebuttals by the 'management'. Do NOT believe them. In fact, my husband did not even recognize the lobby in one photo.
We booked this motel because of the chain name. I cannot believe that Howard Johnson has ever checked this property. I can't believe they would want their brand associated with this property.
So that you have a context, my husband and I have backpacked and stayed in my locations in Europe, Asia, Australia and central America. I have NEVER been in such a disgusting lodging.

Room Tip: DO NOT BOOK! Not worth any cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SusanGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Hi, Thanks for reviewing us .We are truthful enough to admit any shortcomings.After carefully reading your review we've found many false stories & looks like you have never stayed with us. Even neighbouring hotels put "south" in their adress.All rooms have radiant panel heat not "air heat " as claimed. Door gap,hair on sheets & blankets is not true.Lobby looks exact as per the picture. We keep a check on all of our guests as they come to visit downtown,american consulate,saddledome,stampede ground,mitchell eye care etc. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I go to this hotel, the heat doesnt work so i freeze all night. I go to check out and the four ladies at the front tell me that the room is heavily perfumed and they are charging me two hundred dollars cause we smoked in the room. I do not smoke and we did not smoke in the room, I refused to leave until they show me evidence of smoking, I argued with them till I got my money back. I would never ever go to this hotel and would never suggest it to anyone. They are money hungry scam artists. Horrible place!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sheri123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Yes, the room was smoked in (we found out when the "Perfume Mask " wore out ). We were at loss ( cost of sanitization & room out of service for 4 nights ) due to your action of smoking in a non smoking room & dumping perfume in the room. There were no heat issues .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel was so so. It was on the cheapier side, and in a good location for the area we wanted to be in (near Chinook). It has it's perks as well as some major downsides. The stand-alone lobby building was disgusting...when we entered, it stunk like sewer. It was gross. Luckily the rooms were much better. They were actually nicer in appearance than anticipated based on website photos. The room was fairly clean...a couple cigarette burns in our comforters even though it's a non-smoking room, and old food tray under one of the beds. The bathroom was clean and was fairly new (stayed there Feb 2012). The major downsides was pretty tight parking areas, and the radiant heat didn't seem to heat up our room at all....not that the huge gaps around the door helped letting tons of cold air in. It was one of the end rooms where there is one outside door (which was open), then you walk into a lobby with two suite doors. Air came in from under this door, and probably from the sides as well as we could see light through it.

Location, price = good. Staying there in the window = never again.

Room Tip: Check the room before finalizing your booking. Especially in the winter months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdubber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have never had such a bad experience with accommodations as I did with HoJo Express. I assumed by the name that a certain standard would be adhered to, but this is not the case. The free wi-fi that was advertised did not work, the LCD television had only one channel that worked, the patio door did not lock, and the "continental" breakfast consisted of three oranges and some cookies. I was so creeped out by the place that I didn't want to stay there for the three nights that I had booked, but they do not do refunds.

After checking out, I discovered that my credit card had been charged an additional $20. When I called to inquire as to the nature of the charge, the girl informed me that there was blood on two towels and a facecloth. This is a blatant lie! The manager was supposed to phone me back yesterday, but of course I received no phone call.

Save yourself the stress and book somewhere else - anywhere else. This place is a scam and a rip-off.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

It is very unfortunate that your stay at our property was not pleasant , but we want to inform you that any incidentals charged to your card are for valid reasons. Not to mention that pictures were taken as evidence and can be emailed to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I chose to stay here because of the Ho Jo name, but have never been so disappointed in any motel! First, the room was run down, and the FREE wi-fi that was advertised on the sign, did not work at all! We needed to do laundry and the drier was out of order (and appeared to have been out of order for some time), we asked if we could use the drier the motel uses for towels/sheets/etc, and were told that it too was out of order!?! What?! We went to get ice and discovered that the ice machine was broken...to top it all off the bed was lumpy, preventing us from getting a good night's sleep! The only nice thing I have to say about this place was that the young lady working at the front desk was pleasant and we felt bad that she had to work at such a crappy motel!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank travel0ver35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comar18, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Hi, we would like to apologise about your experience .We need to know when wifi was not working.As far as we know we 've had no complaints about wifi & ice machine .For that matter wifi's strength & speed has always been applauded . You came to the front desk & demanded access to professional hotel laundry .Reason , your work clothes are too dirty & dIdn't want to use guest laundry machines .We would like to protest in strongest terms about this mis leading review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Just like to say that I was at the only HoJo in Calgary and found the people,location to be up to what I expect at other fine hotels.
Never had a problem that was not fixed after I called the "Front Desk".
Staff were polite and kept the premises clean.
Cannot find any complaint that was not taken care of after I notified the "Front Desk".
Overall, I have to say that my stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmonk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 110 in Calgary
203 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
262 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 110 in Calgary
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
179 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £27 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing