We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money spent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Conveniently located 15 minutes from Calgary downtown, this hotel is a good alternative for price conscious travelers who do not want long commutes.

The Chinook Centre is within walking distance.

Overall, a good place to stay at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emgee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Hi, thanks for reviewing us . And we hope to welcome you again & again to our location in Calgary for business & leisure . With a promise of value for money & comfortable stay .See you soon .Please drop us a line with your valuable feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked this hotel on our trip to alberta. We booked it around month before. We were shocked to know when we reach there in midnight that they have cancelled our booking with just one phone call that too 3 hours prior. How do you expect someone to be at home to take there call when you are most probably in your flight. They gave us reason that our credit card is not approved. We booked travel lodge with that car only and used that card on rest of our trip, This is cheating. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME HERE......YOU WILL BE ON ROAD WITH NO BOOKING IN MIDNIGHT...THIS HAS NEVER EVER HAPPENED TO US......

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank YACHIKA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Please heed the warnings you read in my review as well as those posted by other reviewers. This hotel is truly disgusting on every level. My boyfriend and I sensed a revolting funky stink from the moment we stepped foot on the premises- like rotting sewage. This smell was everywhere. We were greeted by unprofessional impolite clerks (family run business- why franchises are a waste of time!) who directed us to a filthy room where the sheets were still dirty, there were bugs everywhere and the horrible stench continued.
Over the course of a 4 night stay, my boyfriend's cologne was stolen, the wifi was on and off, and the tv had only 12 channels. The breakfasts were disgusting and inedible, the rooms were hardly cleaned and the best was yet to come...!
Upon check out time, the lady at the front desk (owner's ignoramus wife?) refused to check us out because my boyfriend is black. She literally asked people behind him in line to step forward so that she could help them and continued to ignore him until he raised his voice to get service. When we returned the next night to point out the missing cologne, the husband refused to acknowledge our complaint, walked away while we were talking to him and said since he wasn't there when the "alleged" incident took place, he couldn't offer more than a heartless "sorry man."
Save your money, avoid the bugs and filth, and don't give your business to racists with no concept of customer service.

Room Tip: Choose a room at any other hotel. Hell, sleep in the park and get dirty and robbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Hi, these events are not true & blown out of proportions After arguing with fellow guests including an elderly couple . You came back next night with a cap ,claiming it to be of the missing cologne. Which we promptly searched our lost & found . Even though, it was late night we promptly contacted house keepers too . If you suspect us , please report this to civic authorities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The front hall smelled like garbage, and that should have been the first sign. The guy was hard to understand. The hallway up to our room smelled like garbage, the hallway was dark and dirty and it also smelled different. The room has mold on the ceiling, the towels weren't folded and the toilet paper was almost empty. We used our own blankets and sheets and we put them over the pillows, because they also were stained. We are actually contemplating going to ask for our money back. Keep driving people!! You'll find something better

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Redbird2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

They took 100 dollars security deposit for one night and never gave it back.Thieves
!!!!! Do not stay there,believe me they will not refund your money!!! Two weeks later and still not refunding the deposit. Terrible service,very unhelpful staff and front office.When asked for the remote,they did not have one.In the end it costs more than a good hotel.I am very angry and will tell everyone not to go there.

Room Tip: There is no good room and nothing good about this shabby place. They are a bunch of lying thieves an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hebedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Hi , we apologize for your experience .Please ASAP contact hojocalgary@gmail.com to resolve this issue to your satisfaction within 1 business day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We agree with other poor reviews of this hotel. It is a run down place. To top it off, they put a charge on our credit card, without telling us, for damage we did not do. Terrible customer service dealing with them. After repeated phone calls without reply, we fianlly talked to the manager who was very rude and refused to reverse the charge. Since this is a HJ franchise, their corporate office was of no help in dealing with this dispute. If you do stay there, against our and other reviewers' warnings, make sure to get any exisiting damage in writing. You may want to take pictures. Check your credit card statement when you return home.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank escapewintersoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

We apologize for the in convenience caused . You very well knew about the damages done .We had charged you aproximately seventy five dollars .We had replied to your mail suggesting we can reduce the charges . Surprisingly, you asked for a refund of one hundred fifty dollars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and would discourage anyone from staying here. I was in Calgary for a swimming championship with my son and the rooms were disgusting. I initially tried to book a room and they wanted me to fax my visa card and my signature to them to book a room. I have never had to do that before to book a hotel room. Eventually I justed booked a room and did not mention that I was with the swim club. There were ants on the bed and on the curtains. I killed bugs daily in the bathroom. One of our swimmers room had a bad infestation of ants. One night there was a drug deal that happened at 3 in the morning right in front of my room. At 4 am the same night i had to call the front desk to get them to quiet the party that had been going on all night in the room above ours. To their credit it was quieter after that. The rooms were filthy. Breakfast consisted of toast (cheap bread), waffles, bananas (sometimes), coffee (sometimes), cereal (cheerios), oreos??, and some juice and served in a stifling hot room. One of the windows in our room didn't even have a screen. The chain lock on our door was falling off. On the morning I was leaving, I went to the little bungalows that they had to pick up one of our swimmers and she opened the door and the room was so hot I thought I would pass out. This young girl told me it was too loud to open the window (room is about 10 metres from very busy road) and the window air conditioner was too loud. Also in this same building there were plugs held into the socket with some duct tape. I will never ever stay at this dive again and would discourage anyone even remotely thinking of staying here.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
7  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 110 in Calgary
203 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#91 of 110 in Calgary
262 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#84 of 110 in Calgary
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#79 of 110 in Calgary
179 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £27 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing