We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Terrible! Absolutely HANDS DOWN THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IVE HAD!! Booked a room from hotels.com and coming from out of province. Arrive happy on our HONEYMOON making a quick stop at a cheap hotel for a layover before hawaii. They claim they had no booking from our travel agent, then continue to tell us our price would be double what we had budgeted for. We explain we could not oay that amount and would like it for thw original price. They became extreamly rude and hostile! Offended we would dare to ask for the original price, ontop of the new asking price they wanted a 300$ deposit for 1 night! Every other customer was frusterated and lied to about their prices. They handed my husbandcredit card to a worng person, who thankfully returned it to us. The front end girl lost another customers credit card and they tried to accuse us for stealing it infront of other customers! Left in tears, with no other available hotels in our price range. Ended up spending 200$ on a room for one night at another hotel because we were desperate for a place to sleep. Horrible, rude, dirty stinky place.. if i can save one peraon from a similar experience by writing this review i am happy! Please think twice before coming here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bdjdidnfkfikfnfnfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing us .We are sorry for your experience .Hearing that we havent got any of your booking .You first reacted no problem but made a u turn . Why make us the scapegoat when hotels.com e mail clearly mentioned.You will be sent a confirmation # later .Which you never got .
I spoke to the supervisor at hotels.com and apprised you of the case who are ready to compensate you .Hope you contact them and get things straighten out .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    48
    51
    40
    165
See reviews for
64
64
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I paid for a room walked in ask for a refund right away and they wouldn't give me my money back. room are not fit for a homeless shelter. really you would be better off sleeping in a bus shelter. on top off all this i paid cash, when i called they said 200 deposit when i got there it was 300. the next day they kept my 300 dollar deposit. so at the end of the day it cost me $410. for a night in a hotel l i felt i should have been paid to stay in. i called ho jo and they refuse to do any thing about this. If you want the worst hotel experience you've ever had then go ho jo express inn 5307 McLeod Trail SW Calgary. ill never stay again and im hoping i can save any 1 who reads this the same experience i had with them. what a rip off

Room Tip: any hotel but this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi,We apologize for your experience .Catering to 3000 guests every month mostly comprising of business travellers and families.For the comfort of all the in house guests we have strict rules to deter people to party .Breaking the house rules ,smoking and partying will not help.For further clarifications please call me personally at 403 264 0030 ext 128 or hojocalgary@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

angelfeathers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Where to begin. Awful experience all around. Think twice before checking in. Four in a room and to even get enough towels was an argument. Room in desperate need of work. Very very run down and smelly.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank angelfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Sold my townhouse in calgary .Stayed in upgraded mini kitchen room here until our new home was ready .Inspite of busy times at the motel parking was easy .Loved the location being close to the mall .Not far from downtown though . Rooms were basic but clean . We found staff was attentive and friendly .No hot break fast & pool.Still we had a good a good time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable for each of our guests. Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks and Best Regards
Vishal
General Manager
hojocalgary@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Where do I begin with this hotel?
I booked a room through booking.com 2 days prior to my check-in date. I received an e-mail from booking.com that my reservation had been cancelled because my card details were incorrect. I re-booked my reservation again through booking.com. I received a call stating they were having issues taking payment from my card. I let them know I was using a pre-paid Visa and that was probably why. The lady on the phone said to just use the card upon check-in, which I thought was fine. My boyfriend and I drive all the way to Calgary, arrive at the hotel. We don't even get a hello or anything. The guy at the desk simply says "are you the one that was having online booking issues?" I replied "yes". The lady at the other computer (who later claimed she was the manager) promptly comes over and says "well, let's swipe your card now to see if it works". They set up the machine and I swipe my card for an amount of $84.78. The second my card says approved, the lady come out with "you need a $250 deposit" I thought that was a bit high, I've never had to pay an amount that high for a deposit before. Now, I do understand it was a pre-paid card and I would need to put down a deposit, which I was completely ready to do. I went outside to try and figure out how I was going to come up with that amount. My boyfriend went inside to see if we could somehow lower the deposit and she then tells him "you need a $300 deposit". Wait a second here, somehow the amount went up $50 within 3 minutes?
I asked the lady if I could have my money back since I had no way of paying for the deposit since I was unprepared for such a high amount. She absolutely refused saying it states on the site that a deposit is required. I tried to explain to her I understood that, and if we could try to work something out. She just kept saying "no, it's policy". She was extremely rude and when I asked for the manager, she snapped "I am the manager".
Instead of arguing with her, which clearly would have gotten me nowhere, I decided to call booking.com to see if they could refund my money. After talking to them, they told me I had to call Howard Johnson. While I was being tossed around between the 2 companies, I realized my receipt of payment said "not approved", yet on the terminal it said approved. I checked the balance of my pre-paid card and it showed they took $97.49. She took more money than she should have. When I went back into the office I asked her about it and she just said "no, no I didn't". I tried showing her the proof, but she was not interested. She just shook her head and asked us to leave the office. She completely denied the fact that she outright stole money from me. Of course she wasn't going to refund it, because then she would have to admit she stole.
I went back to the car and called Howard Johnson. I ended up speaking with a manager who just said he was going to put in a complaint, and I would hear back from them in a few days. Hopefully this gets resolved and somehow someone can stop this from happening again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annessa219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was on my 5 day business trip to calgary downtown area . Economical ,Tidy , Decent staff and Location were to the best of my satisfaction. I was a bit concerned about the other reviews on trip advisor . But during my stay all was good . i was surprised to find bus service to downtown every 20 minutes . Did i mentioned great wifi speed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vince b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It is a very dirty. A very run down motel. The room stunk!!!Only one light in the room worked. The television was not working at all. There were ants in the bathroom. The curtains were torn and tattered and dirty. Nothing was clean. The saga begins at check-n, when we had to pay a damage deposit. Attached to the bill were several credit card receipts for various charges which it took 15-20 minutes to straighten out before we even checked-in, After we viewed the filthy room, we immediately asked to check out with a refund. No refunds. The mgr. would not show his face. He left the desk clerk to explain the policy which made no sense because the patron ahead of us got a $400. refund. The clerk told us that Booking.Com made the reservation and charged our card. Not true. We left, then came back to get a proper check out date, because she tried to show that we had stayed there for two days which we did not do. Then, we were charged double for both days having left on the day we checked in. We are appealing that with Visa. We are informing everyone we can about this dreadful hole and total disgrace to the great city of Calgary. We shall contact Wyndham Hotel Group and Booking.com and everyone about this horrible place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RWS169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing