We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...I enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #99 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok...I enjoyed it”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife told me not to.She was in doubt as to what other people had reviewed online.But I did it.Came to Calgary for work .Being a plumber ,was on the hunt for the cheapest option.Which got me here.Reception staff ,was friendly .Even though , they had a no vacancy sign on . They asked me to wait so that they can arrange something .Surprisingly ,they did past mid - night having had the trouble of trying a few hotels before .I found my oasis here.Would definitely recommend as a no frills option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    50
    51
    40
    169
See reviews for
66
64
46
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I checked in late afternoon and returned late evening only to discover at about 11pm that the sheets had what appeared to be blood stains, both the flat sheet and the top sheet. It took some negotiations to request more than just the flat sheet. Eventually I was given a set of sheets. I was assured by the front desk attendant that the sheets were clean, even if there were stained. The attendant refused to understand that this was not proper for guests. As I peeled off the sheets, I then saw that the mattress also had blood stains and all kinds of other stains. The attendant without coming in the room and seeing the stains, argued with me that it was not blood. I requested another room and apparently that night the hotel was full. I was told I would have to wait until the next day to have another room. I refused and had to relocate to another hotel at about 11:45pm. The hotel refused to refund for that night, even though I did not occupy it. The hotel manager would not take my calls the next day. I emailed and his reply was that I refused the change of room and that he was legally entitled to keep my room rate for that night because I apparently occupied the room for 6 hours. I took photos which I included in the email. They did not care as they claim they take the utmost care to provide for a clean environment. It was dirty, smelly and a health hazard. The worse hotel experience ever. I hope the manager reads this and I look forward to reading his attempt of pathetic response.

Room Tip: A tip to help travellers choose a good room at that hotel ? Very simple, if you have the opportunit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Georges R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Seward, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

First off, they hate American . Second, they will keep your money if you book a room and give a months notice of Cancellation. The rooms are old and small and stink. Breakfast is a granola bar. Trust me, stay away from these Greedy prejudice Heartless people, who own this so called inn. More like a over priced homeless shelter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerK9074RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing us. Deep Discounted Non refundable Bookings are set in stone . Bookings are Cancellable & refundable as per the specified policy. I'm sorry we didnt meet your expectations of a hot breakfast . Being a budget motel has its limitations . For further clarifications please contact

Vishal
General Manager
403 264 0030 ext 129
Hojocalgary@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Terrible! Absolutely HANDS DOWN THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IVE HAD!! Booked a room from hotels.com and coming from out of province. Arrive happy on our HONEYMOON making a quick stop at a cheap hotel for a layover before hawaii. They claim they had no booking from our travel agent, then continue to tell us our price would be double what we had budgeted for. We explain we could not oay that amount and would like it for thw original price. They became extreamly rude and hostile! Offended we would dare to ask for the original price, ontop of the new asking price they wanted a 300$ deposit for 1 night! Every other customer was frusterated and lied to about their prices. They handed my husbandcredit card to a worng person, who thankfully returned it to us. The front end girl lost another customers credit card and they tried to accuse us for stealing it infront of other customers! Left in tears, with no other available hotels in our price range. Ended up spending 200$ on a room for one night at another hotel because we were desperate for a place to sleep. Horrible, rude, dirty stinky place.. if i can save one peraon from a similar experience by writing this review i am happy! Please think twice before coming here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bdjdidnfkfikfnfnfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing us .We are sorry for your experience .Hearing that we havent got any of your booking .You first reacted no problem but made a u turn . Why make us the scapegoat when hotels.com e mail clearly mentioned.You will be sent a confirmation # later .Which you never got .
I spoke to the supervisor at hotels.com and apprised you of the case who are ready to compensate you .Hope you contact them and get things straighten out .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I paid for a room walked in ask for a refund right away and they wouldn't give me my money back. room are not fit for a homeless shelter. really you would be better off sleeping in a bus shelter. on top off all this i paid cash, when i called they said 200 deposit when i got there it was 300. the next day they kept my 300 dollar deposit. so at the end of the day it cost me $410. for a night in a hotel l i felt i should have been paid to stay in. i called ho jo and they refuse to do any thing about this. If you want the worst hotel experience you've ever had then go ho jo express inn 5307 McLeod Trail SW Calgary. ill never stay again and im hoping i can save any 1 who reads this the same experience i had with them. what a rip off

Room Tip: any hotel but this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mitch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi,We apologize for your experience .Catering to 3000 guests every month mostly comprising of business travellers and families.For the comfort of all the in house guests we have strict rules to deter people to party .Breaking the house rules ,smoking and partying will not help.For further clarifications please call me personally at 403 264 0030 ext 128 or hojocalgary@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelfeathers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Where to begin. Awful experience all around. Think twice before checking in. Four in a room and to even get enough towels was an argument. Room in desperate need of work. Very very run down and smelly.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank angelfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Sold my townhouse in calgary .Stayed in upgraded mini kitchen room here until our new home was ready .Inspite of busy times at the motel parking was easy .Loved the location being close to the mall .Not far from downtown though . Rooms were basic but clean . We found staff was attentive and friendly .No hot break fast & pool.Still we had a good a good time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal C, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable for each of our guests. Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks and Best Regards
Vishal
General Manager
hojocalgary@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#75 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing