We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    52
    53
    43
    177
See reviews for
72
64
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

If I could give this hotel a zero rating, I would. Howard Johnson needs to do a serious review of their Calgary south location. The beds were covered with dirt and had a hole in the mattress.The sheets were dirty. We actually slept on towels we brought from home. The carpet on the floors were incredibly dirty, the walls were dirty, and the only chair in the room was not stable. There were flies in the bathroom and the floor was very sticky. The hallway leading to room was musty. Be aware that they take a damage deposit on your credit card and also take a copy of your drivers licence. Overall, this hotel isn't fit!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank amymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here at this hotel first time, was ok had older style room with looked like log beams showing from ceiling, upon check out the front desk lady looked through all dirty towels and handtowels, and wanted to charge us for one face cloth that was dirty wasnt terribly dirty, had used it to clean off dust from window sill as we wanted to open the window, after much debate we were charged 7 bux for a face cloth. And then they wanted and put a $200 deposit on top of the room charge for the night, and then it took them a few days to return it. The front desk lady is not a pleasure to deal with at all, she only sees it there way or the highway. During busy times in Calgary they want $500 deposit, all the stuff in the one room we had would not equal out to $200. The carpet was stained beyond repair, the curtains had burn marks in them, and the room smelled musty with a mix of curry. I have stayed at $300 dollar a night hotels and they do not put such a deposit as what they wanted here. Thought ok well first time maybe just a bad time for them gave them a 2nd shot it was much worse, room was dirty bed was dirty, we didnt sleep on there blankets we had our own and used our own sheet. I did read the reviews the 2nd time and should have listened to them and steered clear. This hotel should be condemned, and the staff given customer service training. They charged $100 bucks plus tax for single bed room, for $20 more you can get a much nicer room elsewhere. Would not send my worst enemy to this hotel, or let any animal stay here. People walking up and down walk way outside room smoking and drinking. Is old only nice area is the front office which is hot and humid. Not accommodating at all. You can tell the owner is all about the money and thats it, saw a couple who lost there deposit over some ashes that were on the bottom of door on the floor just outside room. Obviously the owner did not put this towards the hotel. For a few bux more you can get much nicer hotel, expedia and such need to take this hotel off there website for $50 a night i would consider as you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Observe the reviews for hotels, wish i had before staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kyle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I wish I would have read the reviews,
Please do not stay at this place or take your kids there, it is mold infested and stinks.... On and on I can go.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE
THEY ARE A RIP OFF
It is a hazard to stay in this so called hotel.
One more time..... I beg you not to stay at this hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I'm currently staying at this hotel for 5 nights, I wish I would have booked elsewhere! The people at the front desk are super friendly, but my room is disgusting!! There's freshly patched holes in the walls, stains on the carpets, the toilet seat is pealing as well as stained and does not flush properly, the chain lock is missing on the door, there's no screen in the bedroom window, the fridge is SUPER tiny, I can barely fit anything into it and not to mention the stench in the room, not sure what it is, but it's not pleasant, that's forsure!! I won't be staying here again, I'm afraid to take my shoes off in the room! Gross! I haven't been here 3 hours and already I am disappointed!! This hotel needs a major make-over, not to mention a good cleaning!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we choose this hotel every time we stay in calgary....love the deals...great value....over the years the clientele and service has greatly improved.Friendly staff. Excellent location. Waffles, Cherries,strawberries,bananas ....hmmm.....for breakfast.In short , no frills decent place to stay.Choice of kitchenette rooms is there too

Room Tip: bigger rooms the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#76 of 109 in Calgary
177 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#92 of 109 in Calgary
243 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#86 of 109 in Calgary
35 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
152 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#85 of 109 in Calgary
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station
Address: 5307 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0J3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Calgary)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, a guest laundry facility, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, free local calls, a balcony and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (17 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is a 100 percent smoke-free property. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located on Macleod Trail SW, and are near local attractions such as Glenbow Museum, Heritage Park Historical Village, and Calgary Zoo. Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station is your best choice within the largest city in Alberta, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Red Deer or Edmonton. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Calgary/Chinook Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn Chinook Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing