We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calgary hotel Aloft”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Calgary University
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed on business. Great location. Easy parking and access to train. Bed very comfy. Stayed on the main floor with no noise issue because it was during the week I'm guessing. Big plus for me is the lack of children running down the halls. Walkin shower was nice but there was some poor drainage issues that caused the water to not drain, next morning I'd have to step into a cold pool of yesterday's water. Only other issue I have is that you can't even get a free cup of coffee in the morning, could careless about breakfast but charging for morning coffee was a surprise. Other than that, best hotel on that strip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erins_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for leaving us a review about your stay. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our great location with the train right outside. Our Re:fuel pantry offers free drip coffee each morning, with additional espresso choices for purchase. We apologize for any confusion over this and hope you choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Aloft Calgary University
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We arrived on the fourth day this hotel was open. The evening staff were friendly. We were the first people to use this room. I feel confident in saying this as the bathroom did not flush properly. Our second night in this room we informed the front desk of the problem and requested it be fixed in the morning. Instead of listening to our request they sent someone to our room right away. The fellow they sent did not really know anything about plumbing , therefore did not know what to do, flush did not work so left and came back with plunger, when that did not work left and came back with snake. all of this happening at close to midnight with 3 women in the room trying to get some sleep. The next morning 2 of the 3 of us took a shower after which the floor was soaking wet. They moved us to the room next door and offered us free breakfast for our troubles. (an egg on a bagel). Our next day was when the big troubles began. Since we were in a new room and checking out the next morning we put the do not clean the room sign on the door. The first of our party arrived back that evening to find that someone had been in the room (peanuts on the floor and dresser (extreme allergies) she had an nasty discussion with the front desk and they offered us a discount on the room and sent someone to clean up. The next morning when we went to check out the lady at the front desk claimed she knew nothing of this offer and called us "Liars". Is this how you treat someone paying $150 a night. Maybe in a hostel or motel but I expected better. This person should not be working in the service industry. I felt the night staff to be great but this soured my experience and I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Flush to make sure all is working and avoid the day manager.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests, and are pleased that this issue has since been resolved. We trust the rest of your time in Calgary was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We switched from the crappy Hampton Inn 2 doors down. The evening manager was very pleasant and willing to help us on the rate. Once checked in, they even reserved us a table at a nearby restaurant. Friendly service, clean, new and modern. The bar/lounge area was inviting and relaxing and the cute Asian waitress was attentive and happy. After a few drinks, the pool table near the lobby was a nice touch.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I travel frequently and save 5 stars for truly exceptional places like Ritz Carlton's, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aviation1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We appreciate your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and were able to join us in the W XYZ bar for a specialty cocktail. We love hearing from frequent travelers and hope your travels bring you back to Aloft Calgary University soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This property is pretty consistent with the Aloft brand: sort of a chic dorm feel. First impressions from the outside were a little off as it is stuck between an old Ramada and another old motel type place, but inside shows a very modern hotel. Service was friendly and efficient.
Location is very convenient: easy access to the north part of the city, the airport, and right next to the LRT to get downtown if you don't want to drive. Pool and fitness room are not huge but are adequate. I will say the rooms are on the small side, but in a city where the average hotel price is VERY high: this hotel is really a terrific value and I would even say "Best in Class" for this type of property in Calgary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just got home after a 4-night at this hotel.
What we loved about this hotel:
- The fabulous service every time we approached the front desk. They looked happy to be there and were truly motivated to work hard to make this new hotel a success.
- We arrived at the hotel parched and in need of a drink. They offered us a complimentary cup of tea on the spot.
- We wanted some hot water to make tea in our room after a long day. The front desk lady immediately produced a kettle (magic!).
- The affordable breakfast sandwich ($6) with complimentary hot tea and coffee.
- The really nice shower and Bliss bath products.
- Comfortable beds.
- The nice pool table and games in the lobby.
- Really nicely equipped fitness room.
- Excellent self laundry facilities though pricey at $2 for wash and $2 for dryer.
- Free parking.

What needs work at the hotel:
- The key card system. Our key cards worked and then they didn't work, so we had to have them activated at least 3x during our stay.
- The noisy lobby area in the evening. The bar area blasted loud music in the evenings, so really difficult to relax in the lounge area or lobby. But maybe I'm just getting old...

Overall a great place to stay when visiting our daughter at UofC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichmondCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay and that our exceptional staff could take care of all your needs! As a neighbor to the University of Calgary, we look forward to hosting you again when you come to see your daughter! Go Dinos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wow. Hidden gem of calgary. Amazing service modern spacious lobby and very clean. Was originally booked at hotel arts but my assistant pushed this hotel on me after a friend recommended. Not disappointed great staff. Would definitely go back again. Only dissapointment was that I was really looking forward to using the spin studio they apparently have but not open yet. Next time !!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardoconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great hotel, great stay, great price.
I stayed here one night for business. It was so new that 1) the restaurant has not been opened, and 2) the grand opening is next week, lol.

The WXYZ lounge was awesome - the caesars were one of the best I had (black pepper was used) and the bartender Pat was super friendly. Much better than the lounge at the Sheraton Cavalier in Calgary. Supposedly, live music would be introduced in due course!

The main area also has a pool table and card games / board games, which was great. When I arrived I noticed a bunch of guests playing downstairs. Definitely gives a relaxed vibe. There was 2 computers with a printer to print your boarding pass, and also iPads set up for use if you like. Plenty of room and great looking modern furniture to lounge around for sure in the evenings. The staff are also super friendly.

I do agree that it could be confusing to get around the hotel to your room given the strange hallway layout, but overall this is a minor point and it is totally fine.

Inside the room - it does kind of feel like you're sleeping in a new modern university dorm. The shower was great - walk in, roomy, and had excellent water pressure (which is a must). The linen and towels were average - comparable to those at the Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, etc. It is NOT the same level as the Sheraton or Westin (aka. definitely not a heavenly bed) - but still comfortable and fresh regardless. The TV is great - it's definitely on the larger side and flipping channels was highly responsive. The best part is there are TONS of plug ports by the bed for all the electronic devices - I counted 2 on each side of the King size bed, plus 2 more on the desk. And there was an extra set on the wall for the ironing board. They really thought this through.

The gym is basic but the pool area looks amazing.

Internet speed was good with no lag for video streaming.

The price is also really decent for Calgary (relatively). Hotels are extremely expensive in Calgary ($200 in suburbs, $400 downtown) and the ALOFT is a refreshing break ($160-170).

The 4 downsides I have for the hotel are as follows:
1) Area - kinda sketchy looking as it is located on a strip of low quality cheap motels. Didn't notice any good restaurants in the area, or in walking distance. Pretty much have to rely on your car to get to places - but it's close to downtown.
2) Avoid the side facing traffic / C-Train rail. The rumbling of the train can be felt if you sleep on the side of the hotel closer to traffic. Luckily, most of the rooms face away from traffic so make sure to grab a room that face away.
3) Ironing board is not full size - it's a little lower and maybe 2/3 of the regular size ironing board. Not great if you have lots of shirts to iron.
4) Food choices not great. The restaurant is not open yet - supposedly it will come in summer. The lounge only offers 5-6 items on the menu which are mostly bar type foods (Wings, chicken fingers, curry chicken with rice, etc). There is no room service menu. The cafe downstairs serves some cold sandwiches and frozen dinners but that's pretty much it.

Make a green choice is available here if you want to decline housekeeping at 250 points per night or $5 for hotel food. This is on the lower side compared to Westin and Sheraton who gives you 500 points.

Unlike another reviewer, I also had no issues with the toilet/shower. Everything worked fine. Room was clean and perfect.

Overall - stay at this hotel if you are looking for a fresh, no-frills vibe, with good value for money!

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid the side facing the traffic / main road. You can hear all the traffic plus the C-tr...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolioblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#50 of 109 in Calgary
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Calgary University

Address: 2359 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn University)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#14 Business Hotel in Calgary
#16 Family Hotel in Calgary
#27 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Calgary University 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Calgary Universityis the newest and hippest addition to the Calgary area. Located just steps from the University of Calgary, we're a convenient choice when you're looking for Calgary University hotels. Aloft Calgary University perfectly blends design, style, technology and comfort offering a forward-thinking alternative for the savvy traveler. Check out our list of things to do in Calgary including shopping, dining and sightseeing, all just a few short miles from our door. Aloft is the perfect choice for your next trip to Calgary!Far from ordinary, Aloft Calgary University offers guests a new experience with a fun scene. Enjoy a glass of vino or a signature cocktail at the W XYZ Bar, play a game of pool in our Re:mix lounge or just surf the internet with free WiFi throughout the hotel. If cravings start to kick in, explore Re:fuel by Aloft℠, our 24/7 grab and go pantry.Once you've had a fill of our Re:mix lounge area, head up to our loft inspired guest rooms where you can recline and relax. Our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead and custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, will help our Calgary accommodations make you feel at home. In case you need to get some work done or watch all the latest videos you've downloaded, our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42" LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Calgary
Quality Inn Calgary
Calgary Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing