We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Calgary University
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awesome, trendy,clean,and friendly. My bf and I booked for one night since he had a meeting down town in the morning. They have a good check in and check our time 3(in),12(out). Those times are important when you want to just relax. The room was so nice and affordable my bf asked if we should stay another night to take our time exploring Calgary and we did! I am currently typing this review on my tablet on the free WiFi! Oh ands free self parking close to public transportation. Winning! I love the atmosphere. They have a small Indian fusion eatery located towards the back of the building. The portion sizes are snacky but Very Yummy! You even get a 10% discount being a hotel guest. Nothing has been a disappointment!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy that you and your boyfriend have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again. Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    82
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
61
58
17
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This property used to be the Quality Inn University which has received a complete makeover while constructing a major addition over the last three years. This is our first visit since re-opening as Aloft and we were very pleased with our stay.

Staff is very welcoming, the games room area just off the front lobby is an excellent touch. The new large modern lounge is a great place to unwind after a busy day, the decor is applealing and interesting to say the least.

The rooms are well appointed and with the modern layout are more spacious than your standard room. The oversized walk in shower is a welcome change, as is the closet and other fixtures that adorn the room. In my opinion the beds can make or break a comfortable stay, and we found the beds very comfortable.

We found everything about this hotel appealing, we will be back and will have no problem recommending to friends and family when traveling to Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roving_Hatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I are currently staying at aloft for 4 days for a wedding. We asked for a room at the back as suggested. It is clean, quiet and comfortable. Love the bed. We had our 3 daughters visit with their children and their pool area was a good space for us to visit and have pizza. The front has a pool table and games. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here recently for one night, and I was very pleasantly surprised with the hotel/stay (exceeded my expectations)!

This is a recently renovated/remodeled hotel, which is very clean and modern inside.
Definitely the nicest hotel in the area now!

Room is very well sized and appointed. Very new, modern, and practical design.
King size bed was great.
Free WIFI (no problem with speed), free safe in room, free gourmet coffee, free parking.

Hotel/lobby staff were very welcoming and helpful as well, as soon as you enter.
Their service and friendliness is definitely noticed and appreciated (hotel manager - please pass along thanks to your staff, and continue this level of service!).

Location is great also, especially if you still want to stay 'centrally' in Calgary, but don't want to be right in the hustle/bustle of the downtown core.
10 minutes by car into downtown, 15 minutes by C-Train (station right out front, easy 2 min walk).

---

Overall was very satisfied with my stay at the Aloft.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others, and would happily return for another stay in the future.

*I f this review was helpful/informative, please take a quick second to hit the 'YES' review was helpful button. Thank you and HAPPY TRAVELS! *

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisco, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would stay at this location again in a heartbeat. The place is nice, new, friendly. Rooms are clean, comfy and beautifully and simply designed. The indian restaurant had delicious food, the cute indoor small pool was a great place to relax. The bar had a great drink menu, unfortunately closed too early for our liking. There is a 24hr snack bar area and breakfast is served hot from order in the am. Dogs must be welcome as they had water dishes at the entrance. My room (126) was next to a door that led outside and it was pretty loud when it slammed shut, the door was mostly used by staff I believe. Free wifi, underground parking. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovefromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just finished a weekend at the Calgary ALoft with our soccer team and could not be happier with the hotel. Open, airy, funky, and fun design & decor. Large rooms with ample amenities and terrific, attentive staff. Would book again in a flash and the hotel more than accommodated and welcomed our soccer team + families. Nothing beats a new, clean, roomy hotel...

Room Tip: There is a block of ~4 rooms on the 2nd floor tucked away from the main hallway, yet close to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Calgary University, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Michelle B,

We are thrilled that you and the team enjoyed your stay with us - we loved having you! We hope that you will keep us in mind in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I came to stay here at the last minute. I have previously stayed at Aloft in Minneapolis and when I realised I needed to make other arrangements I felt relieved that Aloft was available. The staff are friendly and exceptionally helpful. The hotel itself is funky with lots of open spaces for socialising or sitting and interacting with others - games, pool, bar etc...It is a great option if you're looking for something that enables you to grab and go re breakfast in the mornings and is close to the light rail making that trip into the city or the Jubilee Auditorium easy. Loved my stay. I stayed on a week night so it was quite. The bed was comfortable and the shower awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbatty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#71 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#43 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Calgary University

Property: Aloft Calgary University
Address: 2359 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn University)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#14 Business Hotel in Calgary
#16 Family Hotel in Calgary
#27 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Calgary University 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Calgary Universityis the newest and hippest addition to the Calgary area. Located just steps from the University of Calgary, we're a convenient choice when you're looking for Calgary University hotels. Aloft Calgary University perfectly blends design, style, technology and comfort offering a forward-thinking alternative for the savvy traveler. Check out our list of things to do in Calgary including shopping, dining and sightseeing, all just a few short miles from our door. Aloft is the perfect choice for your next trip to Calgary!Far from ordinary, Aloft Calgary University offers guests a new experience with a fun scene. Enjoy a glass of vino or a signature cocktail at the W XYZ Bar, play a game of pool in our Re:mix lounge or just surf the internet with free WiFi throughout the hotel. If cravings start to kick in, explore Re:fuel by Aloft℠, our 24/7 grab and go pantry.Once you've had a fill of our Re:mix lounge area, head up to our loft inspired guest rooms where you can recline and relax. Our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead and custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, will help our Calgary accommodations make you feel at home. In case you need to get some work done or watch all the latest videos you've downloaded, our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42" LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Calgary
Quality Inn Calgary
Calgary Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing