We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Stay all around!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Shelby, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Stay all around!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. No heat the first night and bathroom light didn't work the first night. second night had a little heat and the light was not changed. Maybe it was the ballast. Hot water was slow to get hot. No microwaves or refrigerators in rooms. All in all this property is in dire need of amenities and repair. My room had 2" of duct tape around the window seal. The guest service was great! Rooms were clean as well.The employees must put up with a lot of building complaints. Ownership is lucky to have the two people they have working behind the bar. The bartender actually was taking food to the rooms one night and the bartender was doing the work of two people the other night.

As a general manager of a participating brand of Choice, Management & Ownership need to get their act together or they are going to lose good people as well as guests. I would agree that lobby area is attractive with the new furniture, but it is a big let down when you get to your room and it is not functioning properly. I'm sorry but I think no problem as important as heat in the rooms is out of the facilities control! If that had happened in my facility, the proper contacts would have called to fix the problem no matter the time or expense. Excellent guest service is priority #1 and Management should look at better scheduling and ownership should prioritize capital expenditures. You have great employees, give them the help and the tools necessary to do their jobs effectively PLEASE!! This could be one of the best places in town if that happens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    156
    125
    73
    72
See reviews for
119
134
50
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was booked for a hockey tournament. We arrived to a room with NO HEAT! When we complained we were told they "will turn the boiler on"?! We got in trouble for noise (ya think....14/15 year old hockey boy) and NICK couldn't be ruder and told us we were unreasonable and not welcome back! With a hotel at 47% occupancy, why would you put another guest in a room beside a hockey team, out them on another floor or put hockey team on main floor! Guess what Nick.....won't come back and definitely won't recommend!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rella_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Rella_9,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. Your comments are of value to us so that we can grow to be a better team and hotel.

I understand that we had some mechanical issues during your stay that affected the heating system. I certainly apologize for this. It was a matter that was out of our control and we had an engineer in immediately once we were made aware of the situation.

When we are blocking for a group arrival or multiple rooms we do try and isolate or block in a group so that everyone is on the same floor. Regardless of occupancy we are not always able to block only the group or individuals on floor to themselves. We hope that all guests regardless of why they are at the hotel to respect everyone around them. Hotel is obligated to respond to all noise complaints and handle the situation. I do apologize on behalf of my team if the situation was not handled correctly. I will use this opportunity to coach Nick on how to better deal with the situation should a similar situation occur.

Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Overnighted here, place seems a bit tired and grimy set within a light industrial wasteland. Restaurant food was reasonable but pricey. Bed was comfortable but HVAC was super noisy, and other guests didn't help with yelling and banging in the middle of the night.

Won't be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaojake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments is greatly appreciated.
We also realize that the hotel is could use some updating. We are in the process of ordering new lobby furniture. Currently we have the sample set in our lobby and it looks fantastic. This will certainly update our lobby area. Rooms are also on the list to update. We are committed to replacing the drapes in the rooms and all linen and towels. We have also currently replaced 30 rooms with new mattress. It’s an ongoing process but we are aware and hope to have it completed by the end of 2014.

We have serviced the HVAC system in your room and it’s not working great. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. Without your comment this may have affected other guests.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Would not recommend this hotel. Staff is either unwilling or incapable of addressing problems. Rooms are not up to date. I reserved a room for 3 nights but couldn't make the first night because my flight was snowed in at Chicago O'Hare. I called the hotel to explain that I was snowed in and they said they still had to charge me for the first night even though I wasn't showing up. They told me they have a shuttle that runs to the Calgary airport every hour on the hour but neglected to tell me that I had to reserve a seat. I tried to reserve a seat on the 9AM shuttle but they said that the 9AM had been cancelled because a flight crew wanted to use the shuttle at 9:30AM. So the flight crew essentially cancelled not only the 9AM shuttle but the 10AM as well. No notice was given to people in advance. I complained and they said that I could take a taxi (at my cost). Only good thing of my stay was the bartender, Michelle, was very nice and attentive. They seem to have a totally different staff and attitude at the bar than at the front desk. Still not going to stay here again.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear TonyF F,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Your comments are appreciated and valued.

I am happy to tell you that we have started the updating of our rooms. We also recognize that our rooms are a bit tired and perhaps out of date. We have placed orders for new linen and towels for the rooms. We have also replaced over 30 rooms with new mattress and new drapes are in the works. We are looking forward to a fresh look at the Clarion hotel!

I am also sorry to hear that you had issues with our complimentary airport shuttle. This shuttle is limited for space so guests are encouraged to book in advance to ensure space is available. We do have a shuttle schedule to the airport which is subject to change if needed. We also have contracts with certain companies and we are obligated to transport these clients to and from certain locations. Staffs are instructed to accommodate these shuttle times and if no one is booked at certain hour we do adjust the schedule accordingly. We will at no time adjust set schedule if guests have already booked for these times. Shuttle times are subject to change and this is why we encourage our guests to book the shuttle as early as possible.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed in a huge jacuzzi suite but it was highly outdated with hand crappy painted old furniture and couches dusty musty ... the vents and baseboards were dusty ... drink cup stains on end table ... old old old ... id rather be in a hospital ... this is out of some nightmare the 80's barfed up ... altho it had gorgeous massive windows the curtains were horrid like out of a vintage c rated movie theater... visibly dirty and a huge draft made the room freezing! the fridge microwave wallpaper coming off the walls and closet doors/knobs came from my grammas house ... the jacuzzi was huge but old... no baseboards carpet just went up onto the wall lol puke brown poorly painted over forest green 70's furniture ... thank heavens there was an updated 42" flatscreen ... brass lamps and picture frames in old pictures overly outdated ... this was like going back in time to a low budget 80's porno set ... if you could only see ... wow!I hope I only have to experience this once in my lifetime cuz this place cuts the cake all the way from the lobby ... the nicest thing in this place is the hallway pepsi vending machines ... its the only thing with color other then the led light on the tv ... men dont ever bring your lady here she will hate you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondinrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Diamondinrough,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and I will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests.

We have shared your review with the housekeeping Manager. We will use this as a coaching tool for the team to ensure the quality of cleaning is improved. It's unfortunate that you never gave us a chance to rectify the issues while in-house as you only mentioned your concerns casually at check out. We could have offered different options for you to ensure that your stay was more comfortable.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skawina, Poland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good clean hotel near the airport. Check in was pretty incompetent. Rooms were good size and clean but my room 402 had one of the worse beds I have ever found in a hotel. It was a 'Sleep Number' bed with adjustable tension. Initially the bed was rock hard once I adjusted the tension it became less firm but no more comfortable, luckily jet lag and a very long day meant I sleep well but there again I would have slept well on the floor. My colleague did not have a 'Sleep Number' bed in their room so I am not sure how many of them are in the hotel but if you find yourself in a room with one, well I wish you luck in getting comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments.

I happy to report that we are exchanging all sleep number beds out of the hotel. We have currently replaced 40 beds and look forward to the next shipment. I am sorry that you had to experience one.

Hope that you are able to join us again and try out our new beds!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I steyed overnight on a recent trip and found this Clarion to be a great socializing atmosphere. It has an integral bar and many chairs surround a large glass dome atrium with a chandeleir hanging from the center. A black grand piano becons to the musician, so that those around can enjoy the melodies. The hotel is equipped with complete convention center and convention facilities plus a business center with printing capabilities for those on the go. The rooms are spacious with a comfortable queen bed in this particular room. The bathroom is well equipped with both a bathtub and shower equipped with a long snorkel swivel showerhead for those tall people.

The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful, having very good local knowledge which they were happy to share. Housekeepng staff were quietly accomplishing their assigned duties without disturbing other guests.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay,choose a room away from 16th avenue (which is the busy Trans-Canada highway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#56 of 109 in Calgary
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#38 of 109 in Calgary
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 2120 16 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing