We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stolen Items”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Regina, Canada
1 review
“Stolen Items”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arrived friday night, carried our luggage up to our room. Slept. Headed out the next day to a volleyball tournament my daughter was playing in. While at the tournament, one of the other parents asked if we'd brought our 'valuables' with us. When I asked why, he said, 'look on Trip Advisor, there are several reviews on there that say people are having things stolen from their rooms!'. We had our phones, wallets, ipad with us, so I didn't think much of it. When we got back to the hotel, my wife tried to find her backpack that contained a couple of jackets, her passport and the keys for my truck (which was back home in Saskatchewan). The bag was gone. There's no question that it was there the night before. We reported it to the front desk and the guy basically shrugged his shoulders and asked what I thought he should do about it. It was like talking to a wall. When I escalated the intensity of the conversation, he said he'd make a note of it and pass it along to the manager. He basically argued with me in a tone like this, "Why would we want your stuff? Nobody was in your room. Only housekeeping would go in there and they wouldn't take it.". You've got to be kidding me....On a positive note, the guy my wife has been dealing with after the fact (Lucas) has been very helpful. I don't know at this point if we'll get to a satisfactory solution, but it seems someone is at least listening.

Room Tip: Stay someplace where an issue is met with a solution...not an argument or denial. There's obvio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    154
    123
    73
    72
See reviews for
119
132
50
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel obviously has a serious problem.I had left my jewerly bag beside the coffee maker when we checked out. As soon as we remembered the forgotten item we called the hotel. The first person we spoke to said nothing had been returned and that there was no one else to speak to. We called the next day and again they said there was nothing we could do and that housekeeping were the only people that had been in the room after us. We asked to speak to a manager and were told a manager was not available. It is quite apparent at this time that I will not be getting my jewerly back but hope that further travellers will chose other accommodations by reading this review. It is also my hope that upper management of this hotel chain might investigate some serious issues within this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank angelaernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Angela,
I thank you for your feedback, as can see from other feedbacks we were victim of break-ins. this is not a reflection of our hotel, to prevent this from happening again, we have taken the following steps

A)The police have been involved and there is an ongoing investigation. For the record everyone who works at the clarion has been cleared.
B)We have changed our procedure and policy
C)We have installed a brand new camera system for the hotel and Parking Lot.

Again, we apologize for this uncomfortable incident. We value your patronage and will work hard to regain your trust

Thank you

Assan Amadin
General Manager
Clarion Hotel and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I checked into the hotel at approximately 11pm on the night of 3/5/14. When I left early the next morning for meetings I left some items in my suitcase which was left on a valet stand. I specifically closed the suitcase and laid my sleeping clothes on top of it. I left the room with the the suitcase closed, but not zipped.

I was gone the entire day. I returned to my room at approximately 6pm and upon arrival found a dirty towel just behind the door. I assumed it was left behind by housekeeping. I went to my suitcase to get something and slowly started to realize that things were not how I left them. First, it looked as though the items inside had been shifted around. There were some toiletries which were double-bagged when I left, but now were only in one shopping bag. It began to dawn on me that I had left my digital camera and some other electronics in the suitcase, and that they were missing. I immediately called the front desk who had the cleaning supervisor come and tell me that she was part of the crew that cleaned my room, but that she cleaned the bathroom only. She said that this has never happened before.

The night manager spoke to me as well and repeated that they’ve never had an incident such as this. I can say that in my 20 years of traveling I’ve never had items stolen from my room either. The hotel’s “investigation” was that their interrogation of the room lock showed the only access to be from the maid and from myself when I returned in the evening. They accepted no responsibility for either hiring thieves who took items or for someone’s incompetence at leaving my door open for someone else to steel my property. Too bad like better hotels they have no cameras in the hallways for security. Take a chance if you want the savings, but don’t leave anything behind in your room that you value.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you value your things and your safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a seminar. The rooms were comfy and well maintained and the bed was comfortable.

The staff were great and allowed our group to use the entire property as well as the lobby late into the night.

The only complaint for me is the size of the fitness room, as well as the pool temperature. Was very cold.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryFrozen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. No heat the first night and bathroom light didn't work the first night. second night had a little heat and the light was not changed. Maybe it was the ballast. Hot water was slow to get hot. No microwaves or refrigerators in rooms. All in all this property is in dire need of amenities and repair. My room had 2" of duct tape around the window seal. The guest service was great! Rooms were clean as well.The employees must put up with a lot of building complaints. Ownership is lucky to have the two people they have working behind the bar. The bartender actually was taking food to the rooms one night and the bartender was doing the work of two people the other night.

As a general manager of a participating brand of Choice, Management & Ownership need to get their act together or they are going to lose good people as well as guests. I would agree that lobby area is attractive with the new furniture, but it is a big let down when you get to your room and it is not functioning properly. I'm sorry but I think no problem as important as heat in the rooms is out of the facilities control! If that had happened in my facility, the proper contacts would have called to fix the problem no matter the time or expense. Excellent guest service is priority #1 and Management should look at better scheduling and ownership should prioritize capital expenditures. You have great employees, give them the help and the tools necessary to do their jobs effectively PLEASE!! This could be one of the best places in town if that happens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was booked for a hockey tournament. We arrived to a room with NO HEAT! When we complained we were told they "will turn the boiler on"?! We got in trouble for noise (ya think....14/15 year old hockey boy) and NICK couldn't be ruder and told us we were unreasonable and not welcome back! With a hotel at 47% occupancy, why would you put another guest in a room beside a hockey team, out them on another floor or put hockey team on main floor! Guess what Nick.....won't come back and definitely won't recommend!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rella_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Rella_9,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. Your comments are of value to us so that we can grow to be a better team and hotel.

I understand that we had some mechanical issues during your stay that affected the heating system. I certainly apologize for this. It was a matter that was out of our control and we had an engineer in immediately once we were made aware of the situation.

When we are blocking for a group arrival or multiple rooms we do try and isolate or block in a group so that everyone is on the same floor. Regardless of occupancy we are not always able to block only the group or individuals on floor to themselves. We hope that all guests regardless of why they are at the hotel to respect everyone around them. Hotel is obligated to respond to all noise complaints and handle the situation. I do apologize on behalf of my team if the situation was not handled correctly. I will use this opportunity to coach Nick on how to better deal with the situation should a similar situation occur.

Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Overnighted here, place seems a bit tired and grimy set within a light industrial wasteland. Restaurant food was reasonable but pricey. Bed was comfortable but HVAC was super noisy, and other guests didn't help with yelling and banging in the middle of the night.

Won't be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaojake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Front Office Manager at Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments is greatly appreciated.
We also realize that the hotel is could use some updating. We are in the process of ordering new lobby furniture. Currently we have the sample set in our lobby and it looks fantastic. This will certainly update our lobby area. Rooms are also on the list to update. We are committed to replacing the drapes in the rooms and all linen and towels. We have also currently replaced 30 rooms with new mattress. It’s an ongoing process but we are aware and hope to have it completed by the end of 2014.

We have serviced the HVAC system in your room and it’s not working great. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. Without your comment this may have affected other guests.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Airport Inn
Best Western Airport Inn
#57 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 2120 16 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering breathtaking views of the magnificent Canadian Rockies and vibrant downtown, the full-service Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport is sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Located less than 10 minutes from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and the city centre, this Calgary hotel offers easy access to shopping, entertainment, and business districts, as well as local attractions, including Fort Calgary, Telus Spark Science Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Hotel amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, a pool, whirlpool and fitness room, as well as on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Calgary
Calgary Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing