We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotels in third world countries have better customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotels in third world countries have better customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Canceled our reservation 20minutes before check-in. They ruined my anniversary. Did the bare minimum and then when a complaint was filed they did nothing. They didn't even confirm our check-in date before assuming that we were different guests. Their definition on customer service is irreversibly skewed. Nothing was handled properly about my complaint. The duty manager is incompetent and cannot understand English. The GM Mr. Stewart is as useless as they come and tries to play dumb when it comes to things not being handled properly. Avoid this hotel at all costs, it's not worth the time, money or hassle.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DresdenDeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager7836, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
The hotel notified the client early in the afternoon prior to their arrival that the Jacuzzi room had mechanical problems. We offered the client an Executive King room which was refused. We apologized for the inconvenience and Ramada corporate has apologized and offered compensation which was refused. We pride our self in customer service and can only apologize as we did not have the room type requested available due to mechanical issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    171
    184
    82
    71
See reviews for
65
126
62
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I've been staying here for almost a week and it's an average hotel. Rooms & bathrooms are a bit small and I'm staying on the side with no balconies. Recommendation to request a balcony room when checking in. The room itself has two double beds (with overly squishy pillows that neither myself nor my 3 co-workers find comfortable), a flat screen tv, closet with adequate number of hangers, small table with 2 chairs and dresser with 4 drawers. The one thing I will note about the bathroom is that the showerhead is quite low. I'm 5'10" and it's lower than the top of my head which is quite annoying.

I've used the heated outdoor pool which was plain but lovely and clean. I used the work-out room and it was okay - they have 1 treadmill, bike, recumbant bike, ellyptical and a weights section. I found the room itself to be poorly ventilated and quite warm and small.

Other than that, staff is reasonably friendly, maids are good everyday and apparently the breakfast is average (according to my co-worker).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz8723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Went down for the Calgary Stampede and loved that they had under ground parking, where I left my truck the whole time, cause I never had to use it for the transit station was only 50 feet away. The food and entertainment was great every day :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daiseyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Spent a weekend get-a-way to relax and see the city. This hotel is ideally located for shopping & touring the heart of the downtown in Calgary. Rooms are specious and the new renovations have made a big difference. The staff treat you like family and are very accommodating with requests and help when asked.

Love the outdoor patio pool but was a little to early in season so this wasn't open just yet. I would recommend to those looking to be downtown to take this into consideration.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSM-ERI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estevan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel offers clean rooms, always friendly service, and is economical. The staff at the front desk are always smiling, and very accomodating. The hotel is old, and is showing it's age a bit, but the cleanliness and courtious staff make up for that.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieB0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I have stayed in this place many times for work! Early check-ins seem to be possible, as they never seem to be booked solid. The room was better than the last time I stayed there, but still very very dated and tired. The hallways smell a bit smokey, and they could really use some upgrading! The prices are good if you don't care about amenities!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TavelAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Very good and friendly staff. Breakfast does not have value for money. Internet is fairly fast. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing