We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Great Falls, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, decent hotel.”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here for a concert at the Saddledome, which was a $7.50 cab fare away. The beds and pillows were comfy. It was a simple, clean room with all you need. I wouldn't stay here if you are looking for a place with a great view or anything like that. Stay here if you need to be downtown and you don't plan on spending much time in the room.

We asked the front desk for advice on using the city's train system. She was less than helpful and we ended up taking a cab. Didn't tell us we needed exact change and we were unclear on which train to take. The city's posted train maps were of no help whatsoever. Not a single attendant to ask either.

Be aware that they will charge you an extra 15 bucks for valet parking. The entrance for the valet garage is very tight, I would stay away if you have a large vehicle.

This was the best value hotel I could find downtown. It has a restaurant but it's overpriced. $4.00 for a scrambled egg! Again, I recommend if you're looking for a clean hotel in downtown Calgary without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewdawgq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    181
    200
    88
    72
See reviews for
71
134
67
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Hotel is in the business district and we stayed at the end of August for 2 nights (Fri/Sat), so the place was pretty empty. The result of this was that the breakfast service was minimal - no buffet - and on the Sat evening the restaurant was completely closed. We didn't mind too much because we anted to go out anyway. The room was simple and clean, with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.

Though the hotel was nearly empty, the rooftop pool seemed well used and was quite noisy through the evening

Room Tip: Go high to avoid noise fro the pool, which is on the roof of one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have been staying at this hotel on and off for the past 4 months for business and pleasure. The staff have always treated us very well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, you can always get a good nights sleep. The front desk staff Mylene and Lindy are always very pleasant and have been great to deal with. The under ground parking is a great feature and Antonio is always very pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed with a number of colleagues for a trade show at the Petrolium Club. This hotel provided the business services I needed and has complimentary WiFi. The staff were all very friendly and helpful in making dinner reservations. We found a lot of restaurants and lounges close by so drinks after dinner were enjoyed on a nice patio. The have a lobby restaurant with a good breakfast buffet. Best of all the price is right in a city where 4 star rates are out of control. I found calling them direct got me a better rate than I found online.

I will come back.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottCowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A standard business hotel that is also well suited for a short city break as all the main sights are within walking distance. The hotel has a pleasant roof top pool, and also importantly for Calgary has underground parking for $15.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This Ramada is old. considering, even with a business rate it was still 149 i don't think its worth it. They've tried to update what they could (new tile in certain places) but it is still clear this is an OLD hotel. It's clean but still, i didn't want to take off my shoes. The sleep was alright although it can be quite noisy with doors closing and opening from other rooms. The gentleman at front desk wasn't very helpful and often snarky or snappy. The ladies were pleasant. The room service is absolutely NOT worth it. I know room service is generally over priced but the food was worse than the greasiest truck stop i've eaten at.
I wouldn't recommend this, there's got to be other options in downtown Calgary.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a good room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelCarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here 3 years ago, and were awakened by water gushing from the ceiling at 3A.M, and had to switch rooms, which was not their fault, although they could have offered us a discount. Anyway, we gave them the benefit of the doubt, due to their reputation! BIG mistake! Last night, we rented a jacuzzi suite, and they placed us on a floor full of teenagers, who repeatedly woke us up from 2A.M on. They sent security up once, and they should have done a follow up, especially since we heard the guy say the same group had complaints the night previous! Speaking of our jacuzzi, it was dirty. Awesome. $160.00 for a dirty jacuzzi, and their shower was awful!!! NO pressure AT ALL. Also, no phone book, which sucks when you like to, order food or something. We complained to the front desk agent at check out, and he was a little snotty but gave us free parking. Yay. P.S. the beds WERE comfortable though!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glitterintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager7836, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
We appreciate constructive comments and thanks for realizing the hotel has made strides in the past few years with new beds, furniture, carpets and flat screen digital 36”TV in all rooms. Your comments regarding the Jacuzzi have been brought to our Housekeepers attention as has the water pressure. The noisy guests are something we try to make sure doesn’t happen and we have security on duty 24/7 but being a downtown property it will happen on occasion when guests return from the downtown bar scene. Once again thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#81 of 109 in Calgary
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing