We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Conference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I just wanted to take some time to talk about the conference that the Ramada hosted for my organization this weekend. As a first time organizer I really appreciated the help that Colleen and Alison provided me throughout the months leading up to the conference. They did a great job explaining options and working to maximize my budget. Come the conference, the staff were super helpful. David did a great job managing the catering staff, and Mylene was amazing to deal with regarding rooming lists. The hotel rooms are newly renovated with comfy beds, which my delegates loved. The food was great too. Our banquet dinner was one of the best I've ever had! These guy take it up a level with their service. Beautiful displays and great great great staff!!! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    171
    184
    82
    71
See reviews for
65
126
62
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This hotel feels a bit tired and in need of a makeover; the public areas in particular all feel very dated. The decor - particularly in the public areas is fairly consistently a kind of brown colour, which makes the whole place seem dark and unwelcoming. The restaurant and bar are nothing special - the bar in particular seems to be a hang out for the local alcoholics. The good news is that the rooms are clean and the beds of comfortable - rooms have balconies which is nice if the weather is good. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I keep staying there out of desperation for work, as the prices of Downtown Calgary hotels are through the roof. The hotel rooms are very dated, and the hallways always smell like smoke. However, they have always been great for early check-ins which is always appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TavelAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our stay started off very badly. There is VERY limited parking for this hotel. When we arrived there was no parking left in the hotels lot. You then have to find a PAY lot nearby or ifnyour lucky park on the street, which you will have to pay for. Then trek back to hotel with your bags. The manager was extremely rude and offered no apologies for the inconvenience. I will say that they will credit you a portion of your parking charges but the inconvenience means I would never stay therenagain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here for a concert at the Saddledome, which was a $7.50 cab fare away. The beds and pillows were comfy. It was a simple, clean room with all you need. I wouldn't stay here if you are looking for a place with a great view or anything like that. Stay here if you need to be downtown and you don't plan on spending much time in the room.

We asked the front desk for advice on using the city's train system. She was less than helpful and we ended up taking a cab. Didn't tell us we needed exact change and we were unclear on which train to take. The city's posted train maps were of no help whatsoever. Not a single attendant to ask either.

Be aware that they will charge you an extra 15 bucks for valet parking. The entrance for the valet garage is very tight, I would stay away if you have a large vehicle.

This was the best value hotel I could find downtown. It has a restaurant but it's overpriced. $4.00 for a scrambled egg! Again, I recommend if you're looking for a clean hotel in downtown Calgary without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewdawgq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Hotel is in the business district and we stayed at the end of August for 2 nights (Fri/Sat), so the place was pretty empty. The result of this was that the breakfast service was minimal - no buffet - and on the Sat evening the restaurant was completely closed. We didn't mind too much because we anted to go out anyway. The room was simple and clean, with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.

Though the hotel was nearly empty, the rooftop pool seemed well used and was quite noisy through the evening

Room Tip: Go high to avoid noise fro the pool, which is on the roof of one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have been staying at this hotel on and off for the past 4 months for business and pleasure. The staff have always treated us very well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, you can always get a good nights sleep. The front desk staff Mylene and Lindy are always very pleasant and have been great to deal with. The under ground parking is a great feature and Antonio is always very pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing