We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service during crisis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #79 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Arrived during the floods, with all plans in disarray. Hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Decor dated, etc., and food nothing special, but the service was really outstanding as they helped me make plans to get to my destination in Canada despite washed out roads and other problems. The service was especially impressive because the hotel was itself short-staffed, but those on duty really deserve congratulations for splendid hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our party of two rooms, one arrived June 19th and myself the next day June 20th. Little did we know with in hours Calgary would be a city in crisis when a state of emergency was declared due to the unprecedented flooding which seemed to happen with out notice. As it happens, the Ramada Hotel Downtown was one of few hotels still with power and not evacuated. Over the next three days we experienced true hospitality in action and a hotel in control. We where able to access food service, a very nice lunch in the pub on Thursday with a delicious buffet and full menu; try the Halibut Burger! ...and all day in the lobby restaurant the balance of our stay. Very good food at reasonable prices, plus a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Understandable and under the circumstances with staff levels impacted or worried about friends and family, the key was to be patient. We where so appreciative of the service; all did a super job. Housekeeping service was provided as needed, the 9th floor attendants where so polite and kind. The outdoor heated pool was a welcome distraction from the continuous news coverage of the flood ravaged city and surrounding communities, however this coverage was timely, accurate and staff where always helpful in providing updates and information as needed. As we could really not get out of the hotel much being in the downtown core or attend the Sled Festival as planned, we just spend a great deal of time in the hotel. Under these circumstances, it was obvious this was a hotel in control and went above and beyond to ensure their guest where taken care of. Thank you to all the staff at the Ramada Hotel Calgary Downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are great on the south side as they open up onto the pool deck on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmooreinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind comments especially following a stay when the city was under a state of emergency. As one of only 3 downtown hotels that were not evacuated, like you, we have been deeply impressed by the dedicated efforts of our staff under circumstances we have never before faced. We understand many added an extra 2 hours to their daily travel time and others arrived on foot when no other means was available. Equally ‘stand-out’ was the patience demonstrated by guests like you, who even after your complete Calgary plans were cancelled, continued to make the best of it completely grasping the gravity of the peril faced by Calgarians. Thank YOU.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on a future visit to Calgary and the Ramada. And, next time when you depart, we hope it will be only with the warmest memories and experiences, normally synonymous with this fine city. We are pleased to pass on your generous comments to our employees and we thank you for choosing the Ramada.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Ramada with a group of students for two nights. A cell phone and charger was left in two seperate rooms. We realized the items were left there soon after check out and contacted the hotel, who claimed that the items were not in the room. After several attempts speaking with the front desk a parent contacted the hotel the phone mysteriously appeared. They said they were sending the other item via mail, however, after waiting two weeks to recieve it they apparently have no recollection of this. Theft is definitely an issue at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear AOC1234,

Thank you for choosing the Ramada on your recent visit to Calgary. We are pleased to confirm the usual safe and timely return of all items frequently left behind at the hotel including but not limited to iPads, phones, laptops, chargers, fine jewellery, teddy bears, favorite pillows etc. We keep complete records on items found, where and when, and have a sign-out process for items picked up and a trail for items sent regular post or by courier.

At your convenience please contact the individual you spoke to when arranging delivery and in the event you do not have a name, always feel welcome to contact our General Manager directly.

We pride ourselves on the integrity of our staff, our attention to detail and that theft is not an issue at this hotel or at any reputable hotel. We hope to have your item(s) to you asap.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

On any other day, this hotel should be rated a 3 - 4. However, we give this hotel full marks for their friendly, kind and thoughtful service during the forced evacuation of downtown Calgary. After trudging through knee deep water after we were forced from our downtown home, we walked into this hotel to find the staff rushing around, smiling and welcoming distressed guests. They were offering an all-day lunch and dinner buffet and a very low price and since we hadn't had power in our home for 24 hours, this was much appreciated. The hotel itself is clean and slightly dated in its decor. Our room near the elevator was noisy due to the sounds from the gears. The service in the dining room on the second night was very slow (but very friendly) and we assume this is because the staff from the night before had gone home to sleep, and there was only one server. We also were not pleased because we were charged by both Expedia (through which we booked) as well as the hotel for our stay, and it was inconvenient to deal with this. We also attempted to book for a third night and the desk staff tried to be helpful and advise us that we could get a cheaper rate if we booked through Expedia again. However, thank you thank you thank you for your hospitality during a very distressing time in Calgary.

Room Tip: Ask for room far from the elevator, since the elevator gears are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Skytre,

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to learn your visit with us came as a result of your downtown home flooding. We sincerely hope that the peril of this unfortunate situation faced by you and so many local residents is minimized as quickly as possible. It has been equally warming for us to become acquainted as we have with many local guests who under the special circumstances were first rate visitors all the way.

Our rooms beside the elevator are more generous in size and require less walking to and from, however not always the best fit due to proximity of more guest traffic. We are sorry our service in the dining room was slowed but glad the server there was friendly.

Guest room rates originate with the Hotel and are seamlessly mirrored across all booking channels including our central reservations. The best available rate should be the same no matter which way you wish to reserve. On a rare occasion there is a computer system glitch and all info is not yet synced. If that occurs, the best business practice is to award the most competitive rate directly. We appreciate you pointing this matter out and we will re-address again with all of our frontline staff.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Because of work, I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It is a decent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. One of them gave us directions for some evening sightseeing. Breakfast was not included in our room price, but the continental breakfast buffet was not bad at all with lots of food selections. The decor and building itself is a bit dated, but the rooms are spacious and bed is comfortable. The location is very convenient with major corporations just around the block. Overall I enjoyed my stay and will not mind staying here again for my next trip. The only complaint I have is that they put me in a room next to the elevator, so I got occasional elevator sound during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for something far from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sibant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Sibant,
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful, your room spacious and the bed comfortable. We apologize that your room allocated beside the elevator was not preferred and will remind our staff to ask if such a room is suitable at the time of registration. While some like the convenience of being near to the elevator, and the extra space in-room, we know it is not always a visitor’s first choice. We are glad you otherwise enjoyed the Ramada and hope to have you as our guest again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The staff are extremely pleasant and accommodating. Reservations -- especially Mylene works very hard to accommodate my wishes !!! My only suggestion is to renovate the BAR so we can feel comfortable and relax . The other comment is to try and silence the room doors --- they are very loud when closed. I comment positively about the hotel a lot during my business day. William

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank William M. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear William M.R.,
Thank you for your comments and for your loyalty. We are happy to hear our Reservations Manager, Mylene, and guest services team meet your needs and make you feel well looked after. A full renovation of the The Red Fox slated for spring this year regrettably was delayed. It is our hope that in the winter of 2013, we will be able to forge ahead with the desired changes. The modified room layout, furniture, flooring etc proposed will assuredly meet with your approval. In so far as door closers are concerned, will discuss with our maintenance in the immediate to ensure that noise from doors closing is kept to the bare minimum. Again thank you for your comments and for choosing the Ramada Downtown Calgary on the occasions your travel brings you to Calgary.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our crew travels to Calgary very frequently for business and the Calgary Ramada is always very accommodating to our group and everyone's individual needs. I always ask about availability there before any other hotel in Calgary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Tim O,
Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your feedback. We are very pleased the Ramada Hotel is your hotel of choice for your crews visiting Calgary. We appreciate your endorsement and look forward to accommodating you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing