We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Downtown central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Despite the recent floods, our two-day stay during the Stampede was excellent. The valet parking ($15/day) worked well, only 1 block from the free downtown c-train tram, walking distance to a wide range of eating and drinking and shopping, and an easy walk to the tower. We had a nice quiet north facing room - no balcony, but then no noise from the pool either. Well appointed room, all clean, tidy and in good working order. Would come again.

Room Tip: South facing for a balcony, north facing to avoid overlooking the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    171
    184
    82
    71
See reviews for
65
126
62
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Staying afloat!

When the city was in crisis due to the recent terrible flooding, Mylene Edrozo and her team at the Ramada on 8th Avenue, Calgary kept the hotel afloat and open for business. One of very few hotels that stayed open for business!

My stay during the aftermath of this crises has been awesome! The service, the smiley faces and the genuine welcome has been excellent!

Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: I always stay on the sixth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear David G,

Thank you for choosing the Ramada Hotel on your recent visit to Calgary. We are so pleased your stay was enjoyable and that our employees left an outstanding impression! We appreciate the feedback and will pass your comments on to our Reservations Manager, Mylene, and our front office staff. We hope to be able to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Special thanks to the Ramada team for their help with a group that needed to be relocated. Their professionalism made everything work smoothly. Rooms were ready and staff was helpful and patient. Congratulations to all you were wonderful and calm during these difficult times Calgary went through.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Many individuals we dealt with during the recent flood conditions were in the unenviable position of having to relocate guests. To our delight, it was a pleasure to be dealing with such professionals who in turn made us look good. We’re glad we could help and we appreciate your referrals. Thank you for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I was evacuated from my downtown apartment on Fri the 21st "for a couple of days" that turned out to be seven days. The evacuation centers were not an option for me so I called and got what I found out later was the last available room at the time.
I walked in from the street tired, wet and bedraggled but I was greeted warmly and actually made to feel welcome there. The staff at the desk were courtious and considerate. Later when it became known that I was on a fixed income (disability pension) they actually dropped my room rate to the minimum. It was only a few bucks but it was a gesture that touched me deeply.
I ate very well there and the service was impeccable.
I cannot say enough about the staff. Many were evacuees themselves and were living in the hotel as well. These folks were overworked because of short staffing yet there was never a short or sharp word from any of them to me.
Overall, I would say that it is a good hotel and a GREAT evacuation center.
The management and staff are of the highest order.
Some of the staff that deserve special mention are:
Ellaine
Mylene
Rose
Elena
Adam
Eremine
Vanessa
housekeeping fellow on the 5th floor whose name eludes me at the moment.
Thanks to all of you for making a bad situation so much better.
I will be back and I will recommend you highly to everyone I know.
Bill room 527

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patagaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Patagaway,
Thank you for your generous review that has since been shared with the many staff that interacted with you while you were our guest. It was impossible not to be moved by the unusual climate in Calgary but equally by city residents who otherwise would not have stayed and later left as our friends. This unfortunate experience has been bonding in a special way and we are happy we were able to make a small difference during a difficult time for many. Thank you for your endorsement and for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards from us all,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Can't say enough about our treatment at the Ramada, Downtown Calgary. We were evacuees from the flooding here. Had decided to stick out the crisis at our apartment in downtown Calgary but it got a bit much for us so we started looking for Hotels to put us up with a reasonable price. There were some places that should be ashamed of the pricing during a disaster like this. Mylene was the reservations manager who we spoke with and she gave us a good price. At first we were not sure if we really wanted to move from home on Monday 24th June and finally gave up the ghost on the Tuesday and they kept the price as quoted. When we checked in we were greeted by Adam, Ermine and Vanessa. Such a great team. Cheerful, sympathetic and extremely helpful . Cannot say enough good things about this particular team. Fantastic is an understatement!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Executive and our room although old and a bit worn was ideal for us as we were e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlannahJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear AlannahJM,
Thank you for the warming and fantastic review! We sincerely hope your lives have returned to normal since returning to your home and we are so very pleased to pass on your kind comments to our staff. It was our pleasure having you as our guests, albeit the unfortunate circumstances that brought you to us.

Thank you for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Arrived during the floods, with all plans in disarray. Hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Decor dated, etc., and food nothing special, but the service was really outstanding as they helped me make plans to get to my destination in Canada despite washed out roads and other problems. The service was especially impressive because the hotel was itself short-staffed, but those on duty really deserve congratulations for splendid hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our party of two rooms, one arrived June 19th and myself the next day June 20th. Little did we know with in hours Calgary would be a city in crisis when a state of emergency was declared due to the unprecedented flooding which seemed to happen with out notice. As it happens, the Ramada Hotel Downtown was one of few hotels still with power and not evacuated. Over the next three days we experienced true hospitality in action and a hotel in control. We where able to access food service, a very nice lunch in the pub on Thursday with a delicious buffet and full menu; try the Halibut Burger! ...and all day in the lobby restaurant the balance of our stay. Very good food at reasonable prices, plus a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Understandable and under the circumstances with staff levels impacted or worried about friends and family, the key was to be patient. We where so appreciative of the service; all did a super job. Housekeeping service was provided as needed, the 9th floor attendants where so polite and kind. The outdoor heated pool was a welcome distraction from the continuous news coverage of the flood ravaged city and surrounding communities, however this coverage was timely, accurate and staff where always helpful in providing updates and information as needed. As we could really not get out of the hotel much being in the downtown core or attend the Sled Festival as planned, we just spend a great deal of time in the hotel. Under these circumstances, it was obvious this was a hotel in control and went above and beyond to ensure their guest where taken care of. Thank you to all the staff at the Ramada Hotel Calgary Downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are great on the south side as they open up onto the pool deck on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmooreinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind comments especially following a stay when the city was under a state of emergency. As one of only 3 downtown hotels that were not evacuated, like you, we have been deeply impressed by the dedicated efforts of our staff under circumstances we have never before faced. We understand many added an extra 2 hours to their daily travel time and others arrived on foot when no other means was available. Equally ‘stand-out’ was the patience demonstrated by guests like you, who even after your complete Calgary plans were cancelled, continued to make the best of it completely grasping the gravity of the peril faced by Calgarians. Thank YOU.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on a future visit to Calgary and the Ramada. And, next time when you depart, we hope it will be only with the warmest memories and experiences, normally synonymous with this fine city. We are pleased to pass on your generous comments to our employees and we thank you for choosing the Ramada.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing