We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here last week. I checked in on Thanksgiving Monday and left on Wednesday. the location was convenient and my room was "ok". I was disappointed to find the pub closed due to the holiday and found the customer service to be lacking. The best people working there were the guys in the parking garage who were friendly and helpful. I doubt I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oc64Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear oc64Edmonton:
Thank you for choosing the Ramada on your visit to Calgary during Thanksgiving. During some holidays the Red Fox is indeed closed but our licensed Cheers Restaurant and Room Service remain operational regular hours. While we regret the inconvenience of the beverage room not being open, we do hope we were able to assist on another level and/or that you were able to locate a nearby establishment to your liking. Our customer care is normally a strong suit and we are happy the garage attendants were attentive. We sincerely apologize that all staff you encountered did not leave you feeling the same, good way. Your comments will be passed on and we appreciate your feedback which dedicates us to more attention paid to service delivery. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    169
    183
    81
    71
See reviews for
65
125
61
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've stayed here a few times and it seems like it keeps going downhill. While some effort has been made to makeover the rooms, the common areas are awful. The room with the ice machine, even on the "Executive floor" is creepy and dirty. The bathrooms in the rooms are so small it is hard to get the door shut. The location is nice though and the staff are always pleasant, but for the price there are much nicer options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CI30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear C130:
Thank you for your valued comments. There are many stay options in Calgary and are especially grateful to returning guests who help us to achieve our usual high occupancy. The Ramada Hotel has refurbished guest rooms with new beds, carpeting and case goods and we will next be addressing guest corridors and public areas. Like you, we look forward to the positive changes ahead and we hope we will be able to share them with you at a future time you may need a Calgary room again. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I don't know what other reviewers are smoking, but if this hotel is ranked better than 3, these people have minimal expectations of a hotel in a major city and probably use AAA to get a $5 discount off the continental breakfast.

The only thing going for it, is location and that's exactly why they can charge what they do. Stick this hotel out at the airport or south MacLeod trail, and it's going for $99/ngt at best.

It's old, tired and dirty. Staff are junior. Most are ESL. Restaurant closed in the afternoon and I couldn't get room service if I held up a $20 bill. The front desk kid actually took my order. Got a call in my room 20 minutes later by someone who asked if I wanted fries or a salad with my burger.

The only reason why I stay here is because it's literally a 5 minute walk to my companys office.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Blake E:
We are sorry to learn you guest experience at our hotel was not to your satisfaction. Our property has had a lengthy and strong history in downtown Calgary delivering a clean and comfortable stay, competitive pricing and friendly, professional service. We take great pride in our normally efficient staff and regret you were shown anything less than our very best during your stay. Client feedback is always shared with our staff and we are grateful for your input. Thank you for choosing the Ramada Hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived from Sheraton hotel in Vancouver and stayed in Ramada, for 4 nights.The Hotel is centrally located in main downtown area.Room's size is good and is provided with all basic amenities (free and fast WiFi). Hygiene conditions are also good. The valet parking is very convenient .The staff is very polite. When a small problem in the room occurred, they immediately fix it.This gave me an excellent impression about their attitude to the client. It was not Sheraton but I fully recommend it, because it is absolutely a value for money, proposition.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERATO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Erato K:
A delightful review to read, thank you for your endorsement. We hope we can accommodate you again and thank you for choosing the Ramada.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been staying at the Ramada Calgary Downtown for a number of years now, while attending the annual Calgary International Blues Festival. The hotel is in a perfect location, about 15 minutes by foot from the festival grounds, yet close to shopping and sightseeing in the core of the city. Staff have been exemplary, the services top-notch and the accommodations always clean and comfortable. Quite frankly, I have never even considered looking into any other hotels in Calgary - the Ramada Downtown is my Calgary home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brant Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Brant Z:
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Ramada whenever your travels bring you to Calgary. We have a longstanding relationship with the Calgary International Blue's Festival and are pleased for the many who make the Ramada their home away from home, year after year. Your comments have been shared with our staff with our sincere thanks. We will look forward to your return next summer.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed recently in Sep13 at Ramada in Calgary. Hotel is conveniently located at the eighth street. Calgary train station at 6th and 7th street is nearby walkable distance from the hotel. Hotel is conveniently located from most of business office in downtown. Quality of breakfast as provided (not complimentary)in morning was good. However Hotel room is not so well maintained. The bathroom tiles were rough cheap quality tiles, black colour carpet in the room floor puts you off immediately when arrive in the hotel room. I have to change the hotel room as, no power adapter was found around the working desk. Also room facing on 7th avenue will have some noise from the Calgary train. There is good indian restaurant raj palace located at 6th avenue is walking distance from hotel

Room Tip: choose room facing 8th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vorapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

It may not be the newest property around and may not have some of the frills but boy do these folks have hospitality nailed. I have been coming here about every 3 months for the past number of years and it keeps getting better. The staff are attentive and polite. Something is very right here because the turnover seems to be non existent. The same staff are there to welcome you every time you come back. I was particularly impressed with the Valet staff. They stole a page out of the Ritz Carleton training. Somehow they know your name and they use it- "welcome back Mr. so and so. How was your day Mr. so and so. Being recognized goes a long way to feeling welcome.The rooms are always clean and the beds comfortable. As a downtown Calgary property, I would highly recommend it and shout out its value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Doug S:
Thank you for the excellent review which was a pleasure to read and has been shared with our employees. You describe the type of guest experience we would like all hotel guests to have and we will do our utmost to continue the standard. Thank you for choosing the Ramada and we look forward to your return stays.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing