We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I live in Calgary but had 5 friends coming from out of town so booked 3 rooms for us as we were attending a music festival, I requested connecting rooms and got what I asked for. The staff were so friendly and helpful. One employee went as far as coming outside and showing us where the public parking was. We were on the 3rd flr which is where the outdoor pool was and it was very clean with lots of room to longue around and enjoy the sun. It really felt like I was on vacation and my friends agree that we must stay here again next year.
Thanks to Frank S for being so kind and helpful and the entire staff it was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank deewithdolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear deewithdolphins:
It was a pleasure to read your review and it is always a great boost for our staff and management to hear positive feedback. Thank you! Our outdoor heated pool and pool access rooms are enjoyed by many visiting guests and a completely perfect combination "for a dip" when Calgary temperatures rise as they have this August. Many places to stay in Calgary, thank you for choosing ours.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Veta H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Nobody is going to feel impressed as they pull up to this Ramada. It's a bit dark and dated. But the guy at the front desk was friendly and efficient, the room was clean and comfortable, the Brewster bus to Banff stops right outside, and they gave us free coffee and muffins for breakfast. All good. My only complaint: we booked a king bed, but they gave us a room with twin beds, without any discussion. As two women, this has happened before and people choosing to look at us, and make assumptions and decide what room to give us, ignoring which room we pre-booked, leaves us feeling embarrassed and, too tired to go back downstairs and make a fuss, wasn't a very romantic start to our vacation. The hotel wasn't full. Poor, Ramada. You lose a star for that.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear ms_scotsgirl,
Thank you for your feedback, and constructive comments received. We are terribly sorry we did not assign a king room as requested and yours is a kind reminder that we must ask versus assume. We do apologize for this fail on our part and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We are very happy to learn the hotel's location, staff and amenities served you well. To our delight, we are pleased to announce we are in the midst of planning a fresh and more welcoming hotel exterior. We look forward to showing off our new look in the months ahead and like you, know our visitors will approve of the change. Ms_scotsgirl, thank you for choosing the Ramada and we hope to accommodate you again when your travels bring you to Calgary.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you are in the downtown core of Calgary, whether its for business or a night out. The Ramada Downtown on 8th is the perfect location. The staff were polite and helpful and the room was clean and the bed was so comfortable.
We had just been out celebrating my birthday, and stayed one night in the 2 queen bed room. It had an awesome balcony and view of the pool. And the underground parking is valet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIss_Susie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

MIss_Susie83,
Thank you for choosing the Ramada Hotel Downtown and for the wonderful comments received. It pleases us to know you found our staff polite and helpful and the guest room to your liking. Our central location makes it easy to explore and enjoy Calgary as it sounds you did on your recent celebratory visit. We're so very glad we played a good part in your birthday stay and look forward to accommodating you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Was there for 1 night with wife and two kids to visit the zoo. Location was good but overall condition and service not.

Room was clean, but little things like dirty light switch (wanted to use a cloth to turn off and on), calking around sink was dirty and missing in areas, doors to room and balcony stuck making hard to open.

Rented a family movie for $16, but movie cut in and out throughout making it difficult to watch. It was acknowledged as an issue by the front desk but no offer for refund or discount. Valleys a bit unprofessional dirty uniform shirt or no uniform shirt at all.

Probably would not go back unless only option in area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Aaron G:
Thank you for your comments. Disappointed to hear that our housekeeping efforts were not to your standards, or ours, on your recent visit with us. We have shared your guest experience with our staff and assure you we endeavor to do better. Many city attractions are nearby or, like the visited Calgary Zoo, easily accessible by the C-train. We are glad our location was convenient for you.
Thank you for choosing our property while in Calgary.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Deepak B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Manager_YYC, Manager at Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
0.5 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £63 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing