We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown
Ranked #80 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Upon booking the hotel they said they offered parking, albeit valet parking, but when I arrived they said the parking was full...so I had to park 2 blocks away in a parkade, not a pleasant surprise in winter (Note to staff: if there is limited parking they should state so up front so I could have stayed elsewhere). I had a corner room which had a shared second outside privacy door, but the problem was if you or your neighbour closed it upon exit you could not get back in as there was no key hole nor any way to unlock it from the inside, so one had to go down to the front desk for assistance, again not a pleasant experience and a safety hazard with small children. The duvet on the bed was heavy and loaded with large matted clumps of goose down and large spaces with no down and I was surprised why this wasn't thrown in the garbage long ago...it was so bad I had to throw it on the floor to get a good nights sleep. My unit was also not insulated from outside noise even though I was on the 8th floor...I could hear car doors slamming and all the traffic below...the patio door or the windows appeared to be poorly soundproofed. The bed was hard, but if you like hard beds, it was fine. Otherwise the room was spacious and reasonably well appointed for a business traveler and the elevators were reasonably fast. The Taxi's occupy most of the spots out front so trying to temporarily park to unload your gear can be challenging. It is also on a one way street so if you miss it you have to circle around several blocks around the construction to get back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

The hotel is in the town center, a short walk away from everything.
It's in the middle of a bussy road, but the rooms are quite quiet. The lobby is big with a small shop.

The rooms are accessable with the elevator. They are spacious and clean, with two beds, SAT TV, phone.
You have a coffe and tea maker in the room.
If you are there for a view....forget about it...all you can see from the window are other bouildings. We didn't have the balcony.

The breakfast was quite ok, a self-service one. The breakfast room might get a little bit crowded, because it's not that big. The personnel was kind and helpful.

The hotel is on a good position, with wonderful rooms, so I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Traveled to Calgary on business 9/20-9/24. Hotel was in a convenient location. Rooms had no air-conditioner. Was provided a very small box fan with a cord not long enough to allow the fan to reach the window. (The weather that week was warm for Calgary). We had 4 rooms. 1 room was moved due to bad TV. 1 room had a nail sticking up from the floor in the bath, all were hot. Beds in all 4 rooms were lumpy. Over-all appearance of the hotel is very tired. The positive....the staff was friendly....

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planopearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed for one night after landing at Calgary airport - the beginning of a three week stay in Canada. The staff were very helpful friendly on arrival – but different staff were very slow and unhelpful on departure. The room we were given was big with a Jacuzzi in the corner and the bed was comfy (but may have had something to do with being tired after along night). The room was clean. The only real issue with the hotel was how outdated the décor is – it is need of an update – oh and you couldn’t turn the air conditioning off which was very noisy. My partner really enjoyed the cooked breakfast but I didn’t love mine. Average - or maybe even a bit below average for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warrentobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The rooms are ok, nothing special, but the staff in the restaurant and the lobby were very friendly and helpful. The location in downtown is great, the pool is a great plus for the children.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallisellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Came on business. Couldn't find another downtown hotel for less than $300/n but this was only $150/n. Nothing special about the hotel. Rooms were not bad and confortable. Had a couple of hairs in the sink and shower but no big deal. No minifridges in room. Hotel is older but again no big deal. Right in downtown and within walking distance to Ctrain and most offices withing downtown. Bellhop and staff more than accomodating. Didn't like first room i got because to close to elevator but they easily gave me a different room. Beds were only doubles but had duvets. Rooms were small but typical for downtown. Rooms had coffee makers, hair dryers and ironing boards. Wireless internet available. Overall a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robaec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

The Ramada is closer to a motel than a full service hotel. The room I was in was updated on the surface, but the bed was still motel-quality, and was not geared to business travel (e.g. no plug or phone at the desk).

The lobby is very dated and I would not recommend eating there.

Concierge staff was not knowledgeable about downtown restaurants - I was looking for an upscale, nice restaurant and they recommended Milestones (a chain, family-style restaurant)! Also, were unable to point me to the closest coffee bar, even though the Good Earth (good coffee!) is next door, which I found out by accident.

It is walking distance to the businesses on the western side of the downtown core, which keeps this place alive. But, would not recommend unless you are trying to stay really close to work.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yvrtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
0.3 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.6 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown

Address: 708 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Calgary
Ramada Calgary
Calgary Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing