We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Starting staying there about ten years ago, it was great at that time. Stayed there last week and was very disappointed. Very overpriced for what you get. Two nights in a row we asked to have extra pillow & towels brought up, it never happened. We also used to love going to their steakhouse Carvers, the last two times it was not good. Wish it was like it was ten years ago. We all used to love going to the water park, not just the kids, but it is very run down and grungy looking now. They either need to make some big changes or charge a lot less to make it worth the stay now.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay, and for that I sincerely apologize. We are beginning the process of completely rejuvenating Carver's steakhouse. Later this year, Carver's will be shut down to undergo extensive renovations, along with a new and reinvigorated menu. Hopefully you will return to find these changes both refreshing and up to Starwood standard. Our pool area is regularly cleaned and maintained, and our snack bar in the pool area has recently been gutted and renovated. Again, later this year our operations team are looking to make some extensive physical changes to the pool area.

In regards to the delivery of the items you have requested, I would like to invite you to contact myself directly so that we may look into the matter for you. You have our sincerest apologies. Please feel free to contact me with any other concerns you may have, and I also welcome you to return, so that we may exemplify the service we know to be true to our property.

Kind Regards,

Adriana
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
adrianam@sheratoncalgary.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    145
    46
    19
    6
See reviews for
148
47
10
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We had a nice weekend stay-cation with our 3.5 year old. Hotel was clean, friendly & newly renovated. Room service was delicious & beds were comfortable (aside from the pull out, which is always flat & sad at a hotel).
My only complaints: bathroom is incredibly small & the pool/water park is very cold. The water slides were amazing & the 2 hot tubs & pool were a nice temperature, but the air is very cold. I was hoping to lounge & soak in humidity & heat but you need to be covered up when not active in the pool, there were many people huddled under towels on chairs trying to stay warm.
We would return, but don't expect to sit back & "lounge" while the kids play. The seating is lacking & you'll need long pants.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MissesHlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana M, Public Relations at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are always happy to hear back from travelers, and one can’t deny that our Signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds offer remarkable comfort! You are correct in saying the pool temperature is nice (all meet Alberta Health guidelines) but the air can get cold! It is unfortunate that it was not accommodating. We have passed this information on to our operations team, and we would like you to know that over the summer we will be replacing several doors and windows to ensure the comfort and relaxation of our guests. If there any other concerns you may have about our property we invite you to contact us directly at our main line 403-291-0107. We look forward to serving you again and hope to be a choice hotel for your family in the future.

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 30 nights. Comfortable beds. Nice working desk. Very good restaurant if you need to eat at hotel. Clean room. Swimming pools very big, actually the biggest swimming polls and waterfall in none resort hotel. Very nice staff. Free parking. Fitness room has all the equipment you need to workout. The only minor thing is the Starbucks coffee is not within the standard of the hotel and Starbucks coffee quality. I almost forgot. .. Free basic internet. I used to go to Hilton hotels butt this Sheraton beats the high end Hilton hotel brands.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kass4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana M, Public Relations at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Being a seasoned traveler we appreciate your kind remarks regarding our property. We were very happy to serve you during the month you called our hotel home! We have to agree that we offer a variety of amenities for the convenience of guests like yourself, and it’s wonderful to hear you were able to take advantage of all of them. I am sorry to hear the Starbucks coffee was not to your liking, however I would like to note that our express stop is not a full-service Starbucks, so the menu is reduced for grab and go convenience .I invite you to contact myself directly should you have any additional concerns, as we appreciate information that may help improve not only your experience, but that of all guests. It is especially gratifying to hear that you truly experienced the Sheraton brand in our service and amenities that are standard. We hope to hear from you soon, and welcome you to stay again when visiting Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here for one night while travelling on business. The location was good, fairly close to the airport (which is a ways from downtown) and had convenient parking outside. There were a few restaurants in the vicinity but the location next to two busy streets does not lend itself to walking.
The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were well-maintained and comfortable. The furnishings were quite attractive and the bathroom had a nice large shower with decent pressure.
Even though the hotel is situated next to two busy roads, there was no noticeable outside noise. The only noise I heard was from other guests passing by in the hallway or the rather loud air-conditioning unit in the room.
I did not make use of any of the other on-site amenities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana M, Public Relations at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you kindly for sharing your review. We’re happy you enjoyed the product of our $16 million dollar investment to renovate our property! We agree that the room décor is much more enjoyable. I suggest you visit our property website at www.sheratoncavaliercalgary.com and click on ‘newly redesigned guestrooms’ on the main page. It really showcases how far the rooms have come! We’re proud to offer guests complimentary parking and well- maintained guest space, although it concerns us that your heating unit was creating unnecessary noise for you. I invite you to connect with myself directly so that we might find out which room you were staying in. We would appreciate any concerns you may bring to our attention, and your feedback will be passed on to our Maintenance team so as to prevent such disruptions from occurring in the future . We hope you are able to enjoy our other on-site amenities during your future stays with us, and invite you to stay again upon your return to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

First time at this hotel. came for a work conference. I have stayed in all kinds of hotels in all kinds of places and have to say the customer service here was the best I've seen. All the staff were pleasant, responded with an answer (as opposed to I don't know and then they disappear), they were very helpful. I'm actually shocked since the job market in Alberta makes finding great customer service tough. The hotel is all updated which was really nice. Couple minor points: 1-no bathtub which made having a 1.5 yr old there with me a little tougher but we managed fine. 1-the towel were super scratchy and stiff. Terrible hotel towels are a pet peeve. 3- the flat sheets on the bottom barely fit the bed so when you moved, you pulled the sheet off the mattress. 4- the toilets are super powerful which also means they're noisy and you can hear them flush through the walls. These are very minor points but I wanted to give an objective review. The hotel has a great waterpark and several restaurants with really, really good food. I will absolutely stay here again with my family and for work.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and had very little issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana M, Public Relations at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you kindly for posting your review, we appreciate the objective manner in which you reviewed our property. It is truly wonderful that the Starwood level of service you received created a memorable and positive experience for you! We are very proud of our staff. May we suggest you try our traditional room with two queen beds? These room types include the bathtub you require when travelling with your little ones, and we agree it would be more convenient for you! We would like you to know that we have contacted our laundry supplier, and our Rooms Division will be discussing how we can make our towels softer. In the future if there are any in room amenities that do not meet your needs, our staff will be more than happy to replace them for you as your comfort is important to us. We do enjoy serving our guests and invite you to stay with us again. See you soon!

Warm Regards,

Adriana
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel Calgary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked here last minute through a mystery deal, so we had no idea what to expect. Starting with the free shuttle from airport, we found all of the staff exceptionally polite. The hotel is older but fully renovated with nice modern decor. The king bed was soft but very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean!

Our only issues were the hot water in the shower was hard to get right, either cold or HOT, and there's no fridge. The location was not pedestrian friendly, and though there are restaurants in the area, we didn't have a car, so we ate at the hotel restaurants. The pub was very busy with the typical pub menu, I had the steak sandwich special, which was alright, but for breakfast, I'd definitely recommend the Colours restaurant as they served the best eggs Benedict I've ever had!

The next time we end up in Calgary, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kells_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana M, Public Relations at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
It’s wonderful you were pleasantly surprised with your mystery booking! I would like to invite you to our Front Desk or to the Concierge Desk on your next visit so that we may provide you with more information about the local area. Our property is located on the same street as some popular restaurants (Earls, Joeys, Boston Pizza and Chiantis are 5 minutes walking distance, and a variety of locally owned authentic ethnic restaurants!) and fast food restaurants either right next door or across the street. We are also within walking distance of Sunridge mall which is a 15 minute walk in good weather. Given the cold winter days we’ve been experiencing, we do find it difficult to leave the comfort of our hotel, and are glad we were able to accommodate you by being a full service property. We have to agree that Colors Bistro provides a great breakfast to fuel up for the day! We hope to see you again very soon, and that next time we might provide you with the necessary information to fully discover the area!

Warm Regards,

Adriana M
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel Calgary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimbey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We found our room to be very comfortable. Noise transmission was very low. Water park is exceptional.
Pick up service from airport a big plus,especially since this airport is a fair distance from the Calgary International airport.

Room Tip: Corner rooms give extra senery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our sevices and amenities to suit your needs. Please be aware that a new access to the airport will re-open in May of 2014 so the travel time to the airport sould greatly improve since the closure of Barlow Trail. We do hope you will return to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cavalier Hotel

Property: Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
Address: 2620 32 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 6B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#25 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking downtown Calgary & the Rocky Mountains, the Sheraton Cavalier Calgary Hotel is located in the city's suburban airport business district near local attractions, shopping, and restaurants. 15 Minutes to Calgary International Airport and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Calgary
Calgary Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing