We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business Trip to Calgary”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I spent a week at this hotel in June 2014 for a business conference. The facilities in the hotel were everything you would expect from a Sheraton. Each of the meeting rooms was well appointed. The larger ballrooms were well lit and I didn't have any issues with over-enthusiastic AC.

The food was excellent and varied. There was always sufficient and the lines kept moving. The bus-staff were always quick at clearing away plates. I didn't eat in any of the restaurants but had food from the Lobby Bar one evening which was excellent, quickly served and good value.

I cannot fault the room. Two very large beds and more than enough space to work too. The AC was noisy and fierce at times but I got into a routine of switching it on and off manually rather than rely on the thermostat to kick-in in the middle of the night. I opted for the 'green' service which meant that housekeeping didn't come and clean during my stay. They did, however, replenish the coffee and toiletries which was appreciated.

Free shuttle service was good even if the route from the airport to the hotel is not the most picturesque welcome to the city. It took me past car junk yards and run-down lots which might not be the image that the team at visitcalgary.com would want tourists to be greeted by. Probably the only reason the hotel doesn't get the full five stars is the location. Nothing around the area at all except more hotels, fast-food restaurants and warehouses.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ccpsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. We are pleased that our Convention team did a great job with your event! It is disappointing to hear that the airport route is not that pleasant to the eyes. Since the addition of the airport tunnel following the road closure by they city to the airport I'm afraid that this is the route that is necessary at certain peak traffic times in order to make the trip in a timely manner. Just to note when you next visit, there is a shopping mall within waslking distance and several ethnic restaurants directly around us in addition to several chain restaurants such as Cactus Club, Joey on Barlow ,Chianti Italian Cafe and our own award winning Steakhouse in the hotel as well as a Cattle Baron across the street. Guest services would be happy to provide you with directions and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    134
    45
    18
    6
See reviews for
135
43
10
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a solid hotel in Calgary, near the Airport. Although, considering the construction near the airport, the cab ride was rediculously expensive. Talk about taking the long way around...

I found the rooms to be quite nicely appointed for a Sheraton, and the hotel is in close proximity to some restaurants.

The highlight is the view from the Club Lounge. Terrific views of downtown Calgary, and the mountains in behind. I'd stay here again without reservation.

One small annoyance -- they weren't participating in the double startpoints promotion. Shame on you!

Room Tip: Club Lounge is where it's at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of your hotel stay. Please allow me to explain that promotional offers through SPG are always on an opt in basis for hotels. As there is a cost to the promotions, we have to analyze the time period it is offerred and whether demand may be extremely high. Because this offer was during an extremely high demand time we chose not to participate. Depending on where the hotel is located and what the current occupancy is in the city that is how the hotel's make the decision.
We know that SPG offers wonderful benefits for members and that it may have been disappointing to know that this current benefit was not valid at the Sheraton Cavalier Hotel. Please note that for future stays you can go to the offer on spg.com and it will clearly state which hotels are participating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was a one-night stopover. The registration was smooth. Good room. We had dinner in the steak restaurant. I am now a definite fan of Alberta beef - one of the best steaks ever. Great bottle of Canadian red wine; looking forward to this appearing in UK wine merchants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are thrilled to know we were able to exceed your expectations and even happier to know Carver's Steakhouse was a highlight of your trip! Carver's will soon be under renovations, so we hope you will be able to return and enjoy yet another lovely meal with us soon. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. I'm a kid at heart and the opportunity to have fun on the waterslides and in the hot tubs after busy days of work is exactly what I needed. And they are "real" waterslides- not the silly little, skin-shredding standard corkscrew slide that most hotels put in now. The mattresses were amazing too! Good selection of restaurants if you are feeling too lazy/tired to go out on the town. It's a little pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are gracious for your honest, positive feedback. We are proud we could provide you with a well-rounded, convenient and comfortable stay. The fact that we can provide you with a restful and fun experience while on business in our hotel is very rewarding! We hope you will stay with us again during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We met for three solid days of meetings and the entire experience was flawless. Excellent catering, quiet conference room, attentive service from the tech staff for teleconference calls and wifi service too.
The rooms are clean, modern, fresh and inviting.
The front staff was courteous and went out of their way to make sure every customer is served promptly.
We also enjoyed the lounge for drinks and appies at the end of the day; the entire hotel was so pleasant. I travel frequently and often for business - the Sheraton Cavalier would be my go-to place for meetings in Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of your experience at the Sheraton Cavalier Hotel Calgary. We are proud of all of our associates and of the beautiful hotel itself and are pleased that we were able to fulfill your expectations. We do hope you make us your hotel of choice when in Calgary!
Warm regards,
Joy Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at the Sheraton. I received a cold and unprofessional welcome. We have stayed here several times but have never received such impersonal responses from staff. We have 7 rooms booked here and asked for a place for our group of 16 to eat. They wouldn't allow us to eat in the pool area and wanted to charge us to eat in a meeting room. I think when I've got 7 rooms rented with you you can find us a place to eat some pizza. They couldn't care less. They weren't at all willing to accommodate us. This hotel has lost it's high level of customer service. I might as well stay at a crappy motel. Won't be back

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rdkello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.
Please allow me to explain that while we typically do have fees involved to rent function space - to cover such costs as labor and utilities required to operate - we can usually find a solution that you would find suitable. Our associates have obviously failed in providing that to you on this occassion and I assure you that we will follow up thoroughly.
I do hope you will visit us again when in Calgary so that we may have the opportunity to host you in what we believe is our normal high standard.

Regards,
Joy Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
700 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Everything you need is inside this hotel. Rooms are on smoking, but outside there is area for you to smoke. Staff is really fantastic, from reception, till waiters of all restaurants there. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with one of the best ever "cloud" bed spread .I liked it so much several years ago that I simply bought one set for myself. Any time here, I sleep fantastic. Hotel is busy, but, somehow, it is never to crowded, it is just perfect. Love this hotel. Special thanks for receptionists -front desk . They re fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabioinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cavalier Hotel

Property: Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
Address: 2620 32 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 6B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#25 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking downtown Calgary & the Rocky Mountains, the Sheraton Cavalier Calgary Hotel is located in the city's suburban airport business district near local attractions, shopping, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Calgary
Calgary Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing