We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay over the stampede”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stay over the stampede”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel was great, nice staff, good room facilities and awesome pool. Not as handy to the ctrain as some hotels but we drove to the closest mall on one occassion and caught the ctrain to the parade, then on another occassion we taxied which was easy, not so easy to get a taxi back though. With the kids in tow we drove and parked at a carpark near the stampede for $25 cad and this worked really well to. Overall awesome stay. We splashed out on a suite which was nice but we had family who were in rooms and they were happy with them as well. Would stay again for sure

Room Tip: A suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannefamilytrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. What a great time to visit Calgary to experience the "Greatest Outdoor Show on Earth"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    142
    46
    19
    6
See reviews for
147
44
10
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

After staying in many hotels of varying star ratings for the past week, we really had minimal expectations for the Sheraton, having booked mainly for the waterpark for our kids.
I am happy to say that this is the nicest hotel we have stayed at yet since having kids 8 years ago. Super friendly staff, beautifully decorated rooms and when I asked for a higher floor room with a great view, that is what I got!
It was the best stay. And the waterpark is awesome for the size of the hotel, great variety of things to keep little people amused.
We will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank edmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMCAV, Director of Sales at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review of your recent experience with us. We are so glad to hear your stay was and enjoyable one. We are happy you were able to take advantage of some of our services and it sounds like the children thoroughly enjoyed it! We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My family was not expecting the great stay we had as this hotel doesnt have much curb appeal. Inside though it was great as the front desk staff were helpful, the pool was outstanding (best waterslide set up for a hotel this size I have ever seen an we have been to a lot!), and the breakfast pancake buffet they have was truly fun and of very nice quality. My only critique would be that the halls were a bit messy and there was the typical noise issue with others out in the hall being hear theough the walls (we kept the ac on and this helped muffle the sounds enough).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay, we are elated to know that your overall experience was above expectations! We pride ourselves on providing the best customer interactions possible, so we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

As a Flight Attendant who's been flying 25+ years you can imagine how " old" it has gotten staying in hotels. I bid to fly to Calgary in November 2013 and because of how much I enjoyed that month staying here I find I am bidding to fly here consistently. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The WINDOWS OPEN, yes that may sound silly to most but after being locking in a metal tube all day it's wonderful to be able to breath fresh Canadian air!

The staff is extremely nice and professional. I enjoy chatting with John about NHL hockey and having dinner off the menu at Henry's. Not expensive. There are plenty of other restaurants near the hotel as well.

If you have kids, there's a neat indoor water slide park on the 2nd floor.

Wait for the Sheraton hotel shuttle from the airport, don't take a cab... Big $$$$$$

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! It's reviews like these that make us strive to be the best we can be. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The outside of the Cavalier looks like a Sheraton from the 1960's which hasn't been given TLC in quite some time. This made me a bit concerned walking in but as soon as you enter the lobby, you see how modern the hotel actually is. The lobby "waiting" area connects to a bar so you can watch TV or have a beer. There are two restaurants connected to the hotel and a steak house just across the street, making dinner easy if you're lazy. The fitness center isn't huge but has everything you need from cardio to dumbbells to cable machines. The room looked to be renovated fairly recently and was very comfortable. The SPG lounge on the 8th floor had a great breakfast and actually quite a bit to choose from considering it is just a small lounge. Hotel also has a free airport shuttle that runs every 45 minutes in the morning.

Really, there was nothing about the inside of the hotel that I can criticize. When the only thing you can criticize is the way the outside of the hotel looks, you know it's a pretty great hotel.

I travel to Calgary once every 3 months for work and definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel will give you a great view of downtown Calgary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to let us know about your wonderful experience with us! We are delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations as we have been working hard to ensure our hotel is state of the art for our lovely guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next journey to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights while on holiday. The indoor pool and water slide were very fun and my husband and I rode the water slide many times. The hotel pub had excellent food and great nightly specials. The room was spacious and had a nice view of downtown and pretty sunsets. I will gladly stay here next time I'm in Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caffeinekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review! We're overjoyed to read all about your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were in Calgary for a family vacation June 28-July 5. My husband stays at this hotel for business and really likes it, so we decided to stay there as a family. The hotel was great... from the staff at the front desk...Rizwan, Jodie, Petra, to Colours restaurant...Crystal, and the Club Lounge...Lynn.
They all made us feel so welcome...especially our children! The hotel amenities are great. The girls loved the waterslides and the PJ's & Pancakes breakfast! The hotel was very clean, the beds were super comfortable, and staff were exteremly prompt when asking for additional towels, etc. The view from our room was amazing, we saw the city skyline, and were lucky to be able to see the Canada Day fireworks right from our suite. We were there for the start of Stampede, and we loved how the hotel decorates the front and lobby to that theme. It was also great to see the staff dressed up in their cowboy gear! This hotel will be our first choice in Calgary whenever we our lucky enough to go again! Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: if you can, upgrade to a suite. They are spacious, beautiful and recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so elated to read your glowing review! We are grateful that we were able to help you create warm family memories during your stay with us. We are happy to hear that our ongoing customer service training and recent renovations created a positive stay experience for you, and are always encouraged by great comments like yours. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Northeast Calgary
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Four Points by Sheraton Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cavalier Hotel

Property: Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
Address: 2620 32 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 6B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#25 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking downtown Calgary & the Rocky Mountains, the Sheraton Cavalier Calgary Hotel is located in the city's suburban airport business district near local attractions, shopping, and restaurants. 15 Minutes to Calgary International Airport and Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Calgary
Calgary Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing