We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet Parking???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Valet Parking???”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Check in was excellent, valet parking included in the price. Everything close by. A room on the 28th floor so we had a view, of sorts. The suit was modern & comfortable with TV's in both the living room & bedroom. Presented the valet card for my car next morning & sat in the reception area. A young lady duly appeared within 5 minutes with some keys for a compact, I explained that we were waiting for our car, but we had a Suburban not a compact, the young lady apologised & disappeared. 2 minutes later a different lady brought the same keys for us, we explained again that it was not our car, we had a Suburban. After 5 more minutes I went back to the reception & asked for my car, we were told it was on it's way, so I sat down again. The first young lady turned up again & tried to give me the keys for the compact, once again I explained we had a Suburban not a compact, she went away. The duty manager came to see us with the compact keys. We explained for the 4th time that when we arrived we had a Suburban not a compact. The duty manager then flourished my valet card & asked if I had presented this card to the receptionist. I had. Well he said "this card matches the number here on these keys.... Oh no it doesn't...... Sorry" 2 minutes later he brought round my Suburban. Still a great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    1,090
    381
    107
    52
See reviews for
402
727
129
1,012
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Good lokation, although it was in officepart of town. Short walk to ervrything :o)
Breakfast café does really need a manager or change of set up. It was really a mis-managed place, 1. day we waited 1 hour for breakfast(1 person to serv all, and clean up.............. ) then we left and got breakfast i a coffeeshop
2.day it was a bit better, but there was NO struktur in anything by the waiters. When that problem has been solved, I will rate the hotel to 4½ star.
Service at frontdesk fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as your feedback. We agree our prime downtown location offers our guests easy access to the best of Calagry and beyond. Our apologies with your breakfast experience. We spoke to our restaurant team and unfortunately we were unprepared at that moment in the day for an large influx of dining guests. Please accept or apologies and if you are back in the near future, we would love to treat you to a special dining experience. We hope we can be your host again on your next Calgary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and as we are a family of five we had 3 room with double beds- my oldest daughter in her own room and the youngest two in another. The resturant downstairs was lovely although we only had breakfast there. As we had to wait a little while to be checked in, we were gived free tokens to have whatever we wanted for breakfast free which was great!! The third room was free as they couldnt get us 3 beds in one room as we had initially wanted, but it worked just fine. I would definitly reccomend coming to this lovely hotel- pool and hot tub lovely, staff helpful and caring and room imaculate. We had an amazing experience staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovelyLivix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel; I am even more impressed than first time.

The rooms are really large for a hotel layout. They are comfortably decorated. LOVE the apartment style layout, with the separate bed room and living area. The dining room table is always a plus, makes you feel more at home. Also love the large "fruit bowl" on the table. The small almost kitchen,(no stove) is great, just enough for morning coffee and snacks when you need.........and the bed is really comfy! Lots of pillows and extra blankets. It is an older hotel so it is not as sound proof as new hotels, you do get a bit of city noise and you may hear the swish of the elevator running, but it is not terrible. The elevator is tricky, you have to swipe just right to get you your floor.

We had a great breakfast every morning served by lovely Sing, which was included in our rate.

Great location, right downtown, parked our car and walked everywhere except when we went to the Olympic park.

Tons of great restaurants close by, and Eu Claire market is just 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if you are on the same floor as the ice machine......... It is really hot and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insearchofgoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

If I'm staying in Calgary I always check out this hotel first. You can usually get a great price after a little bit of searching on the internet. We stayed here for one night with my in-laws for $99 a room, at that price you really can't complain. It's located within walking distance of Stephen Ave. and there are several restaurants up the street. The room was spotless and large with a huge bed, my in-laws were very impressed. The bottled water, chocolates and tea making kit beside the bed are cute little touches. Yes the balcony could've done with a sweep and there was some noise from a tower block up the street but all in all it's really pretty good in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Team_Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed at the International Hotel Suites Calgary for a weekend wedding. Absolutely gorgeous and spacious rooms in the heart of downtown.

Ordered room service for breakfast. The international option was expensive but hearty. The continental breakfast promised fresh seasonal fruit (in August to me, this is berries, stone fruit, etc) and I received a mealy peice of watermelon, half a peeled banana, small honeydew and cantaloupe peice. It was $12 and they also brought a peice of toast.

Read that parking was free and they charged us $8 per day when the rate in the parkade was only $4 per day.

Front desk staff were fairly helpful however there was a young man standing at the front entrance (not sure his job) that was rude and unhelpful.

Pool and jacuzzi were old and a bit dirty. Would be nice if they updated that portion of the hotel.

Stayed because we had a Groupon. Would be OK value otherwise but some improvements could deffinitly be made.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

this hotel was built as a condo but turned into a hotel. the suite has a living room, attached dining area, wet bar with stocked refridgerator, seperate bedroom , two tvs , wireless internet, staff is courteus and professional. some packages include a breakfast voucher. restaurant in the basement puts out a decent breakfast but without the voucher is pricey. room service was prompt and food was delivered hot and was quite good.
location on 4th street is near the eau claire market and 6th street. 6th steet in the nightime
"happening " area of downtown. this hotel is centrally located downtown and offers much more value than the CHAIN hotels.

Room Tip: rooms with 01 and 08 are next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilot_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,034 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing