We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel after booking it through www.booking.com. We were travelling after a week camping so to be honest any room would have been fine. However when we arrived we found out we had been upgraded to an 'International Business Suite'. This room was amazing - with separate living, dining and sleep areas. The King size bed was very comfy and the room(s) overall were excellent. We paid $99 CAD for this room through booking.com, inside the room it said the rate was $597 and on their website it comes in at $199 so definitely shop around for the best price. Wireless internet access was $10 per 24hrs though I later found out this was free in the communal areas. The air con worked but we were still hot during the night.

We parked in the underground car park (valet parking is also available. We arrived at 6pm on a Friday night - paying at the machine was $4, if we had paid inside the hotel it would have been $8. HOWEVER we only got the $4 dollar rate as it had gone to weekend rates, if you stay during the week 24hrs at the machine costs $14 so then it is worth paying through the hotel.

Lastly we paid $20 each for the buffet breakfast. Maybe a little pricey but the food was plentiful and of good quality. There were several cooked items as well as fruits and cereals.

Room Tip: Book through a third party website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kv_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    1,034
    352
    102
    43
See reviews for
372
694
118
954
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Check in was excellent, valet parking included in the price. Everything close by. A room on the 28th floor so we had a view, of sorts. The suit was modern & comfortable with TV's in both the living room & bedroom. Presented the valet card for my car next morning & sat in the reception area. A young lady duly appeared within 5 minutes with some keys for a compact, I explained that we were waiting for our car, but we had a Suburban not a compact, the young lady apologised & disappeared. 2 minutes later a different lady brought the same keys for us, we explained again that it was not our car, we had a Suburban. After 5 more minutes I went back to the reception & asked for my car, we were told it was on it's way, so I sat down again. The first young lady turned up again & tried to give me the keys for the compact, once again I explained we had a Suburban not a compact, she went away. The duty manager came to see us with the compact keys. We explained for the 4th time that when we arrived we had a Suburban not a compact. The duty manager then flourished my valet card & asked if I had presented this card to the receptionist. I had. Well he said "this card matches the number here on these keys.... Oh no it doesn't...... Sorry" 2 minutes later he brought round my Suburban. Still a great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Good lokation, although it was in officepart of town. Short walk to ervrything :o)
Breakfast café does really need a manager or change of set up. It was really a mis-managed place, 1. day we waited 1 hour for breakfast(1 person to serv all, and clean up.............. ) then we left and got breakfast i a coffeeshop
2.day it was a bit better, but there was NO struktur in anything by the waiters. When that problem has been solved, I will rate the hotel to 4½ star.
Service at frontdesk fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as your feedback. We agree our prime downtown location offers our guests easy access to the best of Calagry and beyond. Our apologies with your breakfast experience. We spoke to our restaurant team and unfortunately we were unprepared at that moment in the day for an large influx of dining guests. Please accept or apologies and if you are back in the near future, we would love to treat you to a special dining experience. We hope we can be your host again on your next Calgary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and as we are a family of five we had 3 room with double beds- my oldest daughter in her own room and the youngest two in another. The resturant downstairs was lovely although we only had breakfast there. As we had to wait a little while to be checked in, we were gived free tokens to have whatever we wanted for breakfast free which was great!! The third room was free as they couldnt get us 3 beds in one room as we had initially wanted, but it worked just fine. I would definitly reccomend coming to this lovely hotel- pool and hot tub lovely, staff helpful and caring and room imaculate. We had an amazing experience staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovelyLivix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel; I am even more impressed than first time.

The rooms are really large for a hotel layout. They are comfortably decorated. LOVE the apartment style layout, with the separate bed room and living area. The dining room table is always a plus, makes you feel more at home. Also love the large "fruit bowl" on the table. The small almost kitchen,(no stove) is great, just enough for morning coffee and snacks when you need.........and the bed is really comfy! Lots of pillows and extra blankets. It is an older hotel so it is not as sound proof as new hotels, you do get a bit of city noise and you may hear the swish of the elevator running, but it is not terrible. The elevator is tricky, you have to swipe just right to get you your floor.

We had a great breakfast every morning served by lovely Sing, which was included in our rate.

Great location, right downtown, parked our car and walked everywhere except when we went to the Olympic park.

Tons of great restaurants close by, and Eu Claire market is just 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if you are on the same floor as the ice machine......... It is really hot and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insearchofgoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

If I'm staying in Calgary I always check out this hotel first. You can usually get a great price after a little bit of searching on the internet. We stayed here for one night with my in-laws for $99 a room, at that price you really can't complain. It's located within walking distance of Stephen Ave. and there are several restaurants up the street. The room was spotless and large with a huge bed, my in-laws were very impressed. The bottled water, chocolates and tea making kit beside the bed are cute little touches. Yes the balcony could've done with a sweep and there was some noise from a tower block up the street but all in all it's really pretty good in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Team_Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed at the International Hotel Suites Calgary for a weekend wedding. Absolutely gorgeous and spacious rooms in the heart of downtown.

Ordered room service for breakfast. The international option was expensive but hearty. The continental breakfast promised fresh seasonal fruit (in August to me, this is berries, stone fruit, etc) and I received a mealy peice of watermelon, half a peeled banana, small honeydew and cantaloupe peice. It was $12 and they also brought a peice of toast.

Read that parking was free and they charged us $8 per day when the rate in the parkade was only $4 per day.

Front desk staff were fairly helpful however there was a young man standing at the front entrance (not sure his job) that was rude and unhelpful.

Pool and jacuzzi were old and a bit dirty. Would be nice if they updated that portion of the hotel.

Stayed because we had a Groupon. Would be OK value otherwise but some improvements could deffinitly be made.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing