We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all, a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta. Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All in all, a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights, and it was a very pleasant stay. It's located within walking distance of several restaurant, Calgary Tower, eau claire market, and parks. Upon arriving, there was chilled lemon water in the front area, which was well appreciated after a long drive. The staff were friendly, and the lobby itself was modern and clean. Danica, in particular, made us feel very welcomed, and the fresh fruit (apples, oranges, and plums) on the front counter is a nice touch.

The room was spotless and large with a huge bed with the most comfy bedding ever. This bed was just so comfortable, almost as awesome as my own king-sixed pillow top bed. There was a flat screen in living area and in the king-bedded room. The bottled water, chocolates and tea beside the bed are lovely little touches. There was a small kitchenette with sink, fridge, microwave, kettle and coffee maker but no cutlery, but that didn't much matter to us as we always eat out. Living room area had a super comfy loveseat and an armchair.

We chose a higher floor as were advised it would be quieter, and the view was great albeit mostly of office towers.

Since we stayed over the weekend, the parking was free. Otherwise, we probably would not have stayed there as I have read it is pretty pricy to park.


The only thing is that the balcony could have done with a sweep and removal of pigeon poop, but all in all, it's really a great place to stay.

We are definitely going to be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adaeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    1,059
    366
    102
    50
See reviews for
388
704
121
987
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

In the heart of downtown Calgary, it seems it used to be an apartment building that has been converted to a hotel. The rooms are quite large with two bedrooms. Makes for an enjoyable stay if you have kids and would like privacy or extra space to yourselves. Underground parking is good which was included in the price. No hidden fees. If you need to be downtown then it is a good choice. We stayed right next to an elevator, but the noise was not too bad. The hotel is aging but is kept up quite nice. The only draw back is the small bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyBrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is a great hotel for the price.......perfect location, walking distance to Prince park, 8th Street, Kensington, anywhere you wish to go....a bit more of a walk to 17th street but we did it as we are walkers. The hotel is in the +15 system, so in the winter I think it would be awesome to avoid the weather. We used the +15 while we were here as we had a few rainy days and it was perfect! The rooms are huge, (sitting area and bedroom) very clean and comfortable; tea, coffee, fridge, everything you need and then some. Free laundry was a plus, and tho the gym is basic it more than did the trick for me. I did not eat here, but had no need to as there are many food options super close by......all in all a most enjoyable stay. I will be back, as I think there is no better bargain to be found .......

Room Tip: the King rooms have a doors to the bedroom, very handy for us.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceymill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel after booking it through www.booking.com. We were travelling after a week camping so to be honest any room would have been fine. However when we arrived we found out we had been upgraded to an 'International Business Suite'. This room was amazing - with separate living, dining and sleep areas. The King size bed was very comfy and the room(s) overall were excellent. We paid $99 CAD for this room through booking.com, inside the room it said the rate was $597 and on their website it comes in at $199 so definitely shop around for the best price. Wireless internet access was $10 per 24hrs though I later found out this was free in the communal areas. The air con worked but we were still hot during the night.

We parked in the underground car park (valet parking is also available. We arrived at 6pm on a Friday night - paying at the machine was $4, if we had paid inside the hotel it would have been $8. HOWEVER we only got the $4 dollar rate as it had gone to weekend rates, if you stay during the week 24hrs at the machine costs $14 so then it is worth paying through the hotel.

Lastly we paid $20 each for the buffet breakfast. Maybe a little pricey but the food was plentiful and of good quality. There were several cooked items as well as fruits and cereals.

Room Tip: Book through a third party website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kv_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Check in was excellent, valet parking included in the price. Everything close by. A room on the 28th floor so we had a view, of sorts. The suit was modern & comfortable with TV's in both the living room & bedroom. Presented the valet card for my car next morning & sat in the reception area. A young lady duly appeared within 5 minutes with some keys for a compact, I explained that we were waiting for our car, but we had a Suburban not a compact, the young lady apologised & disappeared. 2 minutes later a different lady brought the same keys for us, we explained again that it was not our car, we had a Suburban. After 5 more minutes I went back to the reception & asked for my car, we were told it was on it's way, so I sat down again. The first young lady turned up again & tried to give me the keys for the compact, once again I explained we had a Suburban not a compact, she went away. The duty manager came to see us with the compact keys. We explained for the 4th time that when we arrived we had a Suburban not a compact. The duty manager then flourished my valet card & asked if I had presented this card to the receptionist. I had. Well he said "this card matches the number here on these keys.... Oh no it doesn't...... Sorry" 2 minutes later he brought round my Suburban. Still a great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Good lokation, although it was in officepart of town. Short walk to ervrything :o)
Breakfast café does really need a manager or change of set up. It was really a mis-managed place, 1. day we waited 1 hour for breakfast(1 person to serv all, and clean up.............. ) then we left and got breakfast i a coffeeshop
2.day it was a bit better, but there was NO struktur in anything by the waiters. When that problem has been solved, I will rate the hotel to 4½ star.
Service at frontdesk fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as your feedback. We agree our prime downtown location offers our guests easy access to the best of Calagry and beyond. Our apologies with your breakfast experience. We spoke to our restaurant team and unfortunately we were unprepared at that moment in the day for an large influx of dining guests. Please accept or apologies and if you are back in the near future, we would love to treat you to a special dining experience. We hope we can be your host again on your next Calgary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and as we are a family of five we had 3 room with double beds- my oldest daughter in her own room and the youngest two in another. The resturant downstairs was lovely although we only had breakfast there. As we had to wait a little while to be checked in, we were gived free tokens to have whatever we wanted for breakfast free which was great!! The third room was free as they couldnt get us 3 beds in one room as we had initially wanted, but it worked just fine. I would definitly reccomend coming to this lovely hotel- pool and hot tub lovely, staff helpful and caring and room imaculate. We had an amazing experience staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovelyLivix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing