We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night and enjoyed our stay it was free for us as we got a room block for our out of town guests. The rooms are suites, and ours was large and clean. I really like how central the hotel is and the view from our balcony was very nice. The only issue was that my husband did the check in, but the reservation was in my name. There was some confusion and my credit card was charged a no-show fee, which was corrected as soon as I brought it to their attention.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    1,135
    405
    114
    58
See reviews for
433
767
135
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The suites are extremely large and don't feel claustrophobic at all. The king size beds are super comfortable. The room was very clean and there was so much closet space. Definitely a good option if you are staying for an extended period of time for business - the living area and dining room table are welcome additions. The location is perfect if you are here for business - smack right in the middle of the business district.
The decor is certainly dated and could use some upgrading but overall it is clean and comfortable. I would not recommend the breakfast as it is over-priced for the quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Suave-Alessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The valet didn't lock our doors when he parked our vehicle and we lost some specialized gym equipment....REALLY what kind of freak steals a gym bag, but the General Manager didn't give a rip that one of his employees had made the mistake, he didn't even care and sent us on our way. We've stayed there MANY times over the past three years. never again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel have very large suites. Because of the room size it's great for those who have to do work while there as well as have room to lounge around and eat at a kitchen table. However, the bathrooms are strangely small with fixtures and finishes that are clearly getting very worn out. Exterior windows are pretty hard to see out of because of the grime.

Had a south facing room, and the traffic from ground level was loud enough to make it tough to fall asleep (was on 16th).

Excellent location in the city for both business and dining.

Staff was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanaAPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uttoxeter
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed for 1 night before flying home on a 9 hour flight and were given a suite - the main bedroom was very grubby - the valance had a very large coffee stain - and the bath needed a good clean around the edge. Our main problem was the lifts - our suite was on 33rd floor right next to the lifts - we felt like we were sleeping next to a train station - when asked to be moved because of the incessant noise from the lifts we were informed ALL 2 bed suites were next to the lift shaft and that they had NO other rooms available as everyone had checked in - imagine our amazement when a coach of at least 10 parties arrived some two hours later and proceeded to check in and were allocated rooms.. We would had gladly exchanged suite for a room away from lift even if it was a cheaper room as explained to the desk since a good night sleep was essential. I feel that holiday makers from the Rocky Mountaineer get a raw deal as the duty manager
suggested I contact the Rocky Mountaineer ref my request for another quieter room.
This seemed rather unreasonable and when we asked if we could have a copy of their complaints procedure since they only suggested a free breakfast as recompense (They could not understand that a breakfast didn't stop the noise) We had a very noisy night with the lifts eventually stopping at past midnight only to restart their endless journeys up and down at 5 in the morning.
I suggest that you request a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed here in early May with my sister and elderly mother. After a long flight from UK it was wonderful to be able to slump into comfortable armchairs and run a good hot bath. We had a two bedroomed suite on floor 23 which was ideal. We had good views over the river. (It's certainly worth asking for a river view room.) There was plenty of room for us to spread out and not get under each other's feet. I have read comments about the rooms looking 'tired'. Not at all! It is clearly a while since they've been decorated or refurnished, but nothing to complain about. The bathroom was roomy and the beds very comfortable. We had a huge dining room table. They provide a coffee making machine and a microwave.
The staff at check-in were friendly and welcoming and gave us plenty of helpful tips about Calgary.
I have read comments about noise from the elevators. Our suite was adjacent to the elevators and all we were aware of was the occasional gentle hum ... nothing to annoy us or keep us awake at night. It was quite soporific in fact. So if a poor sleeper, ask for a room near the elevators.
We were given free internet access which was a little slow, but did the job.
We did not eat at The International, but were directed across the street, diagonally to our right where the very tall building (well they're all tall!) with the 'fish bone' sculpture outside had a fantastic food mall on it's second floor (1st floor in UK-speak). We bought enough food to keep us going for a few days. (If you want to eat in take some cutlery and plates.) We did eat out at The Keg (disappointing) and The River Cafe (well worth a visit, excellent food and atmosphere).
The only downside to our room was a slight residual tobacco smell which disappeared by our second day.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The International and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. I would imagine that rooms on lower floors could suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a great hotel, close to a lot of business and nightlife. I stayed for a week for business and the hotel was great gettIng to work. I especially like the security, as a young woman I liked that you needed to swipe your card to get to your floor. Great room, a bit old but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinekissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing