We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. Our suite on 27th floor was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Good location. Free WiFi worked fine, you need to logon using hotel’s home page, otherwise it will not work. In some reviews I read that you cannot control the room temperature. Yes you can, they have a remote control on the wall that you need to take out and point at the a/c unit.
We did not like the pool area and did not use the pool because of that; it really does look like a military bunker. The staff was nice, however they gave a wrong information about bus #300 to airport. We were told that it costs $8 per person cash only and they do not take US$. In reality the cost is $2.75 if you board any place other than airport. It is probably not a problem for Canadians, but in our case we had exchanged US money for CD$, and at the airport had to change it back to US$. It is not a big deal, but I feel that front desk should know things like that, especially when all banks are closed on Saturday.
We would stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK99NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    1,059
    367
    102
    51
See reviews for
389
705
121
989
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were greeted in a polite and friendly way at check in. When we asked about breafast options we were told about the hotel restaurant and they also recommended Cora's which is a mall near by. Our room was fantastic! We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, kitchen/dining area and a living room space. It was all very comfortable. We did go to use the pool but it felt like being in military bunker! It was a shame as I am sure if the area was repainted and some art work was put on the walls it would feel a more inviting place to be. As a result I have put poor under the spa grading - this does not refer to the treatments that you could book in for. We did not have any so could not comment. The hotel is in a great location to explore the city which we enjoyed walking around. If we ever returned to Calgary we would stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the International Hotel for one night.
The room was large and included a sitting and dining area.
The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The wireless internet was not accessable in our 33rd floor room, which meant we had to access the internet in the lobby which was'nt great.

The gym is ok as is the pool but they are in the basement so they are a little dark.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at the International in July this year (2012) whilst we attended the Calgary Stampede. Nice clean and spacious room, free wifi and reasonable breakfast. It is located on 4th avenue two blocks away from the trolley bus that goes to the Stampede showground and very close to the main shopping centres.

It is also only two blocks away from the river and a very pleasant park for a pleasant stroll after breakfast. I would definitely recommend it.

For those of you who like excitement, try to come to Calgary in July when the Calgary Stamped is taking place. Its the largest Rodeo in Canada and features a large show ground with lots of attractions and a large stadium where the rodeo and evening shows take place. Really worth a visit.

Calgary is a modern pleasant town, but like the rest of Canada the shops are relatively expensive (I paid $10 for some head ache pills) so try to pack every day essentials with you before you come to Canada.

Room Tip: This is a very tall "narrow" hotel so if you can, ask for a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

the room we stayed in for a week for the stampede was lovely it was a studio not not quite sure but when we saw it we were very pleased . The staff could do with a lot more training though the lifts can be very busy when biga groups arrive as they lock them off so only they can use them for arrivals and departures so we was told by a maid when we had to wait 15 minsfor one.
Back to the staff if you dont need to ask any questions your ok if you do make sure you find out the right answer as all of them will tell you differant.would i stay again maybe just for the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The suite we were given was excellent, and the Welcome pack was superb, and set us up for the 3 days of the Stampede.Centrally placed, near Chinatown we could not have started our vacation in a better hotel. The only slight disappointmaent was the pool which did not look inviting, but as there was so much else to see and do in Calgary it was not much of a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigersCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the International Hotel Suites prior to setting off on our RV trip through the Rockies. For the price we paid we were really pleased with what we got. The suites are really spacious and the bed was huge! The suites come with all the facilities you'd expect, including a small kitchen area with a microwave. I was really impressed with the flat screen TV in the bedroom and another one in the lounge.... which could be watched, from the bedroom!

The hotel on the whole was clean and modern, I think it might have just been redecorated or maybe just very well looked after. The pool and gym facilities could have been a bit more up to date, but were nice extra facility to have onsite. Location-wise there isn't a huge amount on the same street as the hotel, but it is in walking distance of Stephen Avenue Walk, which is great for a drink or a bite to eat, but you'll need to get a cab to somewhere like 17th Avenue for some of the better bars etc.

When we first arrived we thought Calgary was a bit of an odd place, we didn't see anyone on our first day, until we realised that everyone lives and moves around indoors using the covered walkways etc, also the location of the hotel seems to be in the business district with all the walkways connecting various offices, for the real action you need to be a bit more downtown with a bigger choice of resturants and bars, but overall a good well presented hotel with huge spacious rooms, especially perfect if you next accommodation is going to be a crammed RV!!!

Room Tip: Have breakfast at Galaxie Diner www.galaxiediner.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel and Spa Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing