We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Downtown Calgary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location in Downtown Calgary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice right in the center of Calgary. I reserved a superior king room, and was given an upgrade to a deluxe king suite at check in. The suite was enormous and very nicely furnished, with a large king bedroom separated from a comfortable living room plus a dining room with a massive dinner table that had seating for 8. The bathroom was nicely appointed, and everything worked perfectly. Several closets and flat screen TVs throughout the suite. Our only issue with the suite was the bathroom lighting.... much too dim. The included breakfast was good, though there was clearly not enough serving staff to keep up with the demand during the 90 minutes of peak load on Saturday and Sunday morning. Only 2 of the 3 elevators were working. So, it took an annoying 10 minutes to get a lift up or down. Parking was convenient, and relatively inexpensive at $8 per night during the weekend... jumps to $28 per nite Sunday thru Thurs night. Overall... a double thumbs up!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joinbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    1,008
    343
    97
    43
See reviews for
355
674
116
929
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 6 years because it is in a convenient location. I recently visited again with a large group (we had 5 rooms booked) and was disappointed with a few things that I feel should be addressed by the management team.

Firstly, the pool and gym area was NOT opened- we use these facilities at least once a day and it would have been nice if the hotel would have notified us in advance that these were not available at all. We may have made alternate arrangements in this case.

My second complaint has to do with the inadequate elevators. My husband, baby and I had come back to the hotel to change clothing and had to walk 26 FLOORS CARRYING A BABY STROLLER because the elevators were broken and there was no indication of when they would be fixed. None of the staff members knew anything and lobby and restaurant floors were packed with people waiting for the elevators. The stairwell was PACKED with people trying to access their rooms, however the doors are all locked onto the floors until you reach the 16th floor. It was not fun trying to carry a heavy stroller up those 26 flights in plus 30 temperatures. The front desk made no apology which seems to be their style.

Overall, this is a great location if you want to be downtown. Rooms and clean and spacious. The breakfast is delicious and there are numerous options (both hot and cold). Just beware of the high potential for a broken elevator, the lack of amenities and the unapologetic staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your return stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed our free daily ​hot ​breakfast ​buffet ​and our ​perfect ​downtown Calgary location along with our extra large guest rooms. It would be helpful. if I was able to discuss with you the customer experience you had with this on this most recent stay. Would you email me at GeneralManager@internationahotel.ca so I might be able to follow up with you directly.
Our new pool and workout room is nearing completion but not yet operational (which we note on our website) and will open later this month. In the meantime guests interested in working out can visit the front desk to obtain a free pass to the YMCA two blocks from the Hotel.
We sincerely apologize for the elevator experience. During your stay, one of our three elevators was down for a day due to a replacement part being required to be air shipped into the city. Our bellmen are always available to assist our guests with any assistance required to get belongings safely and quickly to guest rooms.

Thank you for your feedback as well as your past patronage and I hope to hear from you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Probably the best hotel we've ever stayed at!!

Couple times a year we go to Calgary spur of the moment and I go online to find a good last minute deal. Found this hotel at a great price and booked it.

Nothing to complain about at all! Check in was quick, room was super clean and comfortable, breakfast was great and checkout went smooth.

We'll definitely keep this place in mind on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived in Calgary on 3rd July, for 3 nights, staying at the International Hotel Suites. We had booked a Stampede Package with the hotel (2 days at Stampede Park). This hotel and activity was the start of a long tour in Canada and US. We had seen this activity on TV before, but you don't get the atmosphere like you would at the arena. The hotel was clean and modern, with helpful staff. We were on the 26th floor, so had a great view of the city. The suite was like a flat, with lounge, dining, kitchen areas, a bathroom and a double bedroom with a queen size bed. It was very comfy and had two widescreen TVs. One in the bedroom and one in the living area. Very clean and modern plus air-conditioning, which was welcome as the weather was very hot. It was in the Financial District, so it was fairly quiet, especially at the weekend. The complimentary breakfast was tasty, with hot or cold choices eg. scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh fruit, yogurts, breads and danish pastries, fruit juices, coffee, tea etc. A very relaxed atmosphere and lovely wine choices in the bar. I think Calgary is definitely an up and coming place to go. The shopping centre and bars/restaurants were within a 5-7 minutes walk, with great food and helpful staff. Canadians favourite saying ''Your Welcome'', which we certainly felt we were!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in this Hotel over the weekend of 02 August. The Front Desk Associates were efficient and courteous. They gave us a "City View Room", which was actually a view of the next building. Although the lobby and the hallways were somewhat tight, the spacious rooms made up for it. The rooms were large and clean, bathrooms were a bit out dated and small in proportion to the room. TV monitors did not swivel so it could be viewed from the dining area. The elevators were fast, although when we checked in, the centre elevator was out of order and the left most was used to transport chairs to the 35th floor. So getting too your room was a bit of a wait, but after a couple of hours the three elevators worked rather well. Had a nightcap at the Bar in the Lobby. Despite the industrial looking fan resting on a chair in the corner, the place looked cozy. They only had one bartender/server who was busy with having 3 couples on 3 tables and myself in the bar. I guess it can get hectic cleaning, serving and texting at the same time. If you do plan to come down for a night cap, make it early because last call is at 930PM. All in All, it was a pleasant stay and would not hesitate to rebook in this hotel again.
Breakfast, which was included, had reasonable selection of fruits, breads and savory dishes. Coffee good

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A plus! I would definitely stay again! Besides having lots of room and a beautiful dining area, the bed was wonderful and had a very restful stay.I too had to see who manufactured the elevator because it was extremely fast! I would like to come back and stay for a week!

Room Tip: I stayed on the North side of the hotel and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well, an elevator like no other but don't let it stop you from a stay but very frustrating. Three elevators and if you don't hop on immediately doors close. Saw one family with 2 kids try 3 times to get on and I finally had to help. Now, rooms are not 4 star tops but more than average. You have a nice little balcony you can go out and enjoy. My room had refrigerator and microwave as well as breakfast table.
Bathroom not good lighting but I could work with it. What hotel has most going for it is location, location. A few blocks from the river ( about 3 streets) and also 4 blocks from shopping center as well as close to train. Room did have free wifi a definite plus.

If you can afford the Westin a block away go for it as better ambience.

Room Tip: Make sure you room has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeWittHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InternationalCalgary, General Manager at International Hotel and Spa Calgary, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to post a review with useful feedback. We will have our maintenance team check the timing on the elevator doors so that closing is as comfortable and safe as possible. We will also be following up with our housekeeping department to discuss ways to improve the bathroom lighting with new high efficiency bulbs.
We are delighted you enjoyed our extra large guest rooms, free daily breakfast, free guest room high speed wifi and of course free weekend parking when you book directly through the Hotel's website. Thanks again for your comments and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
The Westin Calgary
#25 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel and Spa Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel and Spa Calgary

Property: International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Address: 220 4 Ave SW | Alberta, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#23 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — International Hotel and Spa Calgary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel Calgary offer's the best downtown location, great value in room rates, free deluxe buffet breakfast and free WIFI in all guest rooms. All of our Guest Suites include such luxurious amenities as high thread count sheets, pillow top mattress, duvet, and flat screen TV. Our suites range in size from 595 to 750 square feet and offer both living and bedroom spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your International Hotel and Spa Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calgary International Hotel
International Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing