We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as usual, just not crazy about room 101”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times over the past four or five years. Every time has been very enjoyable. Rooms are nicely decorated, staff are fantastic, and the restaurant is terrific (especially for breakfast). We stayed in room 101 (one of their luxury suites) for one night in November, and while the room itself was very nice, the location of the room was problematic. We noticed 3 things about the room:
- It's located on the main floor, just off the main lobby area. In the evening they setup tables for the restaurant in the lobby area, which means that you wind up with diners just outside your door - this is a little noisy.
- The room has a small balcony with patio doors facing the front of the hotel. While the hotel has installed excellent blinds in the windows to minimize light entering the room from the street at night, the blinds on the patio doors do not fit flush with the window, which means that light from the street enters the room through the gaps between the blinds and the door. Headlights from passing cars sweeps across the bed at night, and there is a street lamp that lines up directly with the gaps and the bed, which results in a couple of strips of fairly bright light across the bed at night. If you like a dark room when you sleep, this will probably cause you an issue.
- Finally, the room is also located on the main floor, facing Memorial Drive. The traffic noise can get a little loud at times.
We returned a couple of nights later on our way back home and stayed in room 219, which is one of their king size rooms. We had no issues with this one. Overall, our stay was really enjoyable, and the staff was genuinely interested in our views of room 101 after staying there. I still recommend this hotel with no hesitation, just be aware of the items that come along with 101 if you stay there. Still our favourite hotel in Calgary, and I still rate it as excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night as we were in Calgary for a concert. We got KRI recommended by a friend and had wanted to try out the restaurant(in the hotel)"Chefs Table" for some time so decided to stay over. The hotel is nicely decorated and the service is personal. I loved the little extras like slippers, turn down service, coffee tray and paper in the morning. Our room had a fireplace and large windows and it really felt more like part of a house than a traditional hotel. The included breakfast was great and cooked in front of us in the open kitchen in the "chefs table" restaurant. We really enjoyed our supper there too and found both food and service fantastic! Kensington is a great area with plenty of small boutiques, coffee shops and restaurants. The hotel is close to the train and just opposite the river.
All in all we loved it. Will come again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofieBVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We live in Calgary, but decided to try the Riverside as a staycation for our anniversary. It was great. Small, initimate hotel right in walkable Kensington with great views of downtown. Breakfast was superb the next morning, and the staff as friendly and helpful. Not cheap, but overall good value for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattsheldrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I booked a night at the Kensington Riverside Inn this past weekend for a surprise getaway for my husband and I. Let me say it was AMAZING!!! The Inn is decorated absolutely beautifully! As soon as we pulled up I knew I made the right choice. It reminded me of a historic building but inside it has been all renovated and is modern.

We booked the dine & stay package. The meals were phenominal. Such a neat experience to watch the chef's in the kitchen creating masterpieces that were meticuosly plated to perfection. Included in the package was a dining credit for supper as well as breakfast.

I love the intimate feeling of the 19-room inn. The rooms are very big, with the most comfortable beds. The finishings in the room were perfect!

The service was top notch from when I phoned to book the hotel (they were able to arrange massages for us last minute), to check-in. The waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The rooms were very clean.

I would definately recommend this inn and hope we can visit again.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the back alley, so if you are concerned, try request a view to the south, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristin_sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I celebrated a very special anniversary here and I'm so glad we chose KRI. Loved the room decor - we were told it had just been redone a week ago - room 219. The attention to detail was spectacular. We had our first fine dining experience at The Chef's Table as well. I'm so glad we chose to celebrate in style. My husband commented that he wasn't used to such attentive service, being escorted to our rooms, the waiters at the restaurant were so helpful. This is a luxury hotel that is worth the money. Service plus attention to detail = special++.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writerdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riverside Inn for our fifth wedding anniversary this past Saturday night. We always go to Banff when we need a night away but decided to do something different this time. To put it simply, everything about our stay was top notch. Room was clean and had excellent decor. We requested some ice from front desk and it was at our door in five minutes. We headed out for dinner and came back to a room with rose pedals scattered over the room with a congratulatory letter for our anniversary with chocolates. Awesome! The bed was the best I have ever slept in anywhere ( i have stayed in hundreds of hotels ) and we had waiting in the morning at the door tea and juice in bed! We had complimentary breakfast at the Chef's Table at the Inn and it was also excellent. This is the best kept secret in Calgary and I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We will be back. Thanks Riverside Inn, it is nice to see that someone in the world still cares about it's customers! Marc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My visits to the KRI are always a treat. It's a beautiful hotel, with excellent rooms. When I'm visiting Calgary I always prefer to stay a bit out of town as there is more to see and down than in downtown. The staff at the KRI are a delight, especially Mandy. Don't come here expecting the services of a downtown business hotel, but do come here expecting a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoJoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 110 in Calgary
925 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,240 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Address: 1126 Memorial Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £125 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as our newest addition, Oxbow, serving unique and seasonal cuisine, letting you appreciate dining as it was meant to be, honestly uncomplicated. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person culinary credit at Oxbow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing