We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the last night of a skiing trip to the Rocky Mountains.
It is a very special place as it feels very different to other american high rise 5 star hotels.
It has a personal touch, very delicious food and the staff is extremely attentive and helpful.
We would return anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 929KatjaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    68
    22
    21
    2
See reviews for
37
204
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vimy, AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Our first stay at "Kensington" was an absolute delight! The staff were incredibly polite and sensitive to our needs. Our hat's off to the "Chef"! What fabulous meals. Also, thank you to Phil, (our server) William, Martha, Peter, and all the rest of your well trained and personable stewards!
We loved the privacy and the quiet, that this quaint Inn provided! Also appreciated was the location, nearby shops, and underground parking.
All minor issues were taken care of by staff very promptly.
We will definitely return to your intimate fortress in the future!!

Room Tip: We recommend phoning the "Inn" for booking your room. Speaking to a "real person&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Everything was thought out to perfection. Great service - I enjoyed the complimentary coffee thermos by the door in the morning - together with the newspaper. Very tasteful design, special with the fireplace. Delicious breakfast. Only minor issue was the shuffling of chairs in the great hall across the stone floor - sounded like big furniture was moved. One can buy pads to put under the legs of the chairs at the $-store!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, MT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful neighborhood hotel. The amenities were great, service was great, and they even had a heated underground parking garage for each guest. Very small and intimate, with a very nice restaurant inside (Chef's Table). Well worth the stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cbratvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My third stay in the riverside Inn was generally as good as the first two.
I was only there one night but got a good nights rest, the bed was very pleasant and since the outside temperature was -17 the fireplace was a welcome luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was the first time I stayed at the hotel. Staff was friendly and always available. Breakfast included in room rate. There are only two stories and I would guess some 20 rooms. My room was decorated in modern decor (clearly updated), had what was arguably the most comfortable bed I've slept in at a hotel in a long time (I spend 50+ nights in hotels annually). The room had a gas fireplace that operated on a switch, and free internet.
Only two things to be aware of. As the hotel fronts a busy street (Memorial Dr) there is no place for a car to wait for pick up and before 10pm the road noise is slightly elevated so ask for a room in the back.

Room Tip: As mentioned before ask for a room that is not in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Kensington Riverside Inn during a recent holiday to Calgary.

I couldn't recommend it enough, from checking in to departing, we were met with first-rate service from all members of staff. They were all very helpful and friendly.

Our room was very well appointed, a good size with a balcony, fireplace and a very comfortable bed.

We had considered staying in one of the chains downtown, but I definitely think we made the right choice with the KRI. It is located within easy walk of downtown but is also in Kensington, which has plenty of good places to eat and drink.

Highly recommended for many reasons, most of all the room and the staff.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 206, at the back of the hotel. We had no issues with noise and it was a good size wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Last-minute-winner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Property: Kensington Riverside Inn
Address: 1126 Memorial Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#31 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as our newest addition, Oxbow, serving unique and seasonal cuisine, letting you appreciate dining as it was meant to be, honestly uncomplicated. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person culinary credit at Oxbow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing