We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great place to stay in Calgary! Close to the river walking paths, cute boutiques shops and pubs/restaurants. This little hotel is quite, clean and very tastefully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again. A nice change from the big hotel chains. We stayed in the regular guest room and found that it was very suitable, it has a little gas fireplace and more than enough room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Kensington is an amazing neighborhood and the location is in close proximity to all amenities. We are very fortunate to be located here!
We look forward to hosting you again, when you return to Calgary.
Regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    67
    22
    21
    2
See reviews for
37
202
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for 3 nights while in town for a concert. Everything from check-in to check-out was all part of a phenomenal experience.
Very intimate hotel, especially ideal for a romantic trip away.
The very comfortable bed, in room fireplace, large tub and rain shower head are just a few of the reasons why we will be back.
We experienced great service from all the members of the staff and would definitely recommend this hotel.
Be sure to try the eggs Benedict as well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mapleleaf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for committing to returning to the Inn. Your repeat patronage and recommendation of our property is greatly appreciated. Please provide comments and feedback on your next stay so we may ensure our consistency is on par with every visit. The eggs benedict is definitely one of my favorite dishes we offer, be sure to try our famous lemon ricotta pancakes as well as they are definitely a contender!
Regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

So happy we stayed here. Such a beautiful suite and wonderful staff onsite :) love all the little touches like hot coffee and tea outside our room in the morning. Definitely our favourite hotel EVER. Worth every penny! I recommend it to anyone staying in Calgary!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geotreeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Your recommendation is the highest compliment that we could receive, and stating that we are your favorite hotel is quite an honor!

We would love to accommodate you the next time you are in Calgary!

Sincerely,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I travel extensively around the world on business and pleasure and I can easily state that this boutique hotel is exceptional. Excellent rooms and good water pressure in the shower! (a major issue for serious travelers) From the minute we arrived, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I'm not talking about the typical "be nice to the customers" training hotel staff receives when they get the job but a genuine desire to take care of you. Everyone I encountered from the maids to the maitre d' seemed to enjoy their jobs and the people they worked with. You can't teach this. You can have the finest hotel in the best location but without a spectacular staff it's just a building. When your in Calgary, stay here. You won't be disappointed. Remember, "IT'S NOT THE BOW, IT'S THE INDIAN"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWay1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. I recall meeting you and your party during breakfast while you were staying with us. I am pleased that the remainder of your stay was satisfactory enough for you to feel compelled to write a review. I only hope that we made a positive enough impression to ensure you will be back on your next visit to Calgary, which if I recall, was for stampede. Please feel free to contact me directly to make any future reservations.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Riverside Inn was excellent. The service was very personable from checkin, to turn down service, to coffee outside the door in the morning, to breakfast, and to check out. They made you feel first class.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DGSSpeedyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am very happy to that you enjoyed our personable service and comfortable amenities. Hopefully this first impression was enough to secure your patronage for the next time you are visiting Calgary.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, and in different rooms, on different floors, facing different directions. So I can say my review is truly of the hotel, and not of a single experience where something might have been out of the ordinary.

First of note-- this hotel is now a recognized member of "Relais & Chateaux". This is, in and of itself, a testament to the quality and character of the hotel. Consistent with membership in R&C, guests can expect a high level of service, a quality, "boutique hotel" experience, and a unique atmosphere during your stay.

The rooms themselves are all a good size. None of the rooms I have stayed in are the typical hotel-room layout: 2 beds with a "table" screwed to the wall between them. Of course, very comfortable king-sized beds are available, a number of different pillows with different levels of firmness, attractive and modern (but not opulent or ostentatious) decor, and the expected amenities: free wi-fi, blow dryer, bathroom lotions etc, flat screen tv...

A word about the bathrooms-- they are outstanding. Many hotels I've stayed in have attempted to give their bathrooms "a spa-like feel". Rarely do they succeed. The Kensington gets it right. The bath tubs are big, deep, long, soaker style tubs with a reclined back rest. You can actually lay down in the tub, stretch out, and stay immersed in the water. If you prefer to shower, the rainfall shower head and curved shower-curtain rod ensure a luxurious one. High end Aveda brand shampoo, conditioner, soap and bath salts complete the picture.

I have always found the staff to be helpful, without constantly getting in front of me to ask me if everything is acceptable. They somehow just seem to be there to ask at the right time, and never at the wrong, intrusive time. They are knowledgeable about the area if you need to go out for a run or walk, shopping or some other activity.

At check in they ask if you would like coffee in the morning (the rooms do not have coffee makers in them). Then in the morning you will find outside your door a wood serving tray with the morning news paper and a small thermos of coffee, together with your preference of cream, sugar, sweetener etc. And the coffee is delicious. DE-LIC-IOUS!

If you are planning on staying there, the only recommendation I have is this: if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that is not on the main floor, and also not overlooking Memorial Drive (the street on the south side of the hotel). I don't want to overstate this-- a ground floor room or one facing Memorial Drive is not noisy. But compared to the other rooms they are noisier. So the light sleepers of the world may want to move up and back in selecting a room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suit_geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write an in-depth review of the Kensington Riverside Inn. Your comments are very insightful and help us gauge the quality of the guest experience we provide. From the quality of our coffee to the seamless service we provide, you have mentioned many factors that we continually strive to perfect. Please continue to provide feedback as this is the best “compass” we have to ensure that we are achieving our service objectives.

Warm regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly pleasant with good sized, very comfortable and clean rooms and bathrooms. The complimentary flask of coffee outside the room in the mornings is a really nice touch and not one I have come across before. Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection and all freshly cooked with attentive and professional staff.
The only negative comment I would make is the price for one night, which was eye watering really. I am not that familiar with hotel rates in Calgary but the cost of the room would have bought me the equivalent of a five star, world renowned London hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acrobatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse_KRI, Manager at Kensington Riverside Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a very satisfactory stay at the Inn. Hopefully the high demand for hotel rooms in the city of Calgary won’t prevent you from visiting us again. We look forward to hosting you the next time you travel to Alberta.

Regards,

Jesse Ziercke
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Riverside Inn

Property: Kensington Riverside Inn
Address: 1126 Memorial Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 3E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Calgary
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#31 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Riverside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington Riverside Inn is Calgary's premier luxury boutique Inn located steps from Downtown Calgary along the banks of the picturesque Bow River in Kensington Village. This 19-room boutique inn features upscale accommodations for the discerning traveler, as well as the renowned Chef's Table restaurant. Your "Inn" experience will include evening turndown service, morning coffee/tea tray with newspaper, as well as complimentary high-speed wireless internet and bottled water in the guest room. When booking with the Inn directly, guests will receive a $20 per person food and beverage credit at the Chefs Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kensington Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Riverside Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing