We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frequent business travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Frequent business travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I travel to Calgary often and the Country Inn & Suites provides a very nice room for a great price in the city. The staff are friendly and check with you on the room condition within 30 min of check in. The complementary breakfast is very nice and much better than other hotels.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room yet and I have been on all floors. There are many places to eat around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tactilesound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryJunkie, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.

As a frequent business guest it is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us and appreciate our friendly staff, complimentary breakfast and overall accommodations.

Although there are as you note many places to eat around the hotel we are also pleased to now offer room service from the Chili's restaurant next door to the hotel as an added convenience to our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Calgary!

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    189
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
200
120
19
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We overnighted here on our way to Puerto Vallarta. The rooms were spacious, very clean, everything we could ask for. The staff provide great service. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryJunkie, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that we were eveything you looked for in a hotel the night before your trip to the sunny beaches of Puerto Vallarta and we hope to see you again next time your travels bring you to Calgary!

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The first thing you'll notice when you pull in is the ample parking. Sometimes hotels seem to have these little miserly parking lots where you seem to be a football field away. Not the country inn and suites. The farthest I ever had to park when the hotel was sold out and I was coming in late on a Saturday night was about 35 steps away.
When you get into the hotel the staff are really friendly and there is an ever-full jar of cookies waiting for you. There is also sometimes a candy/mint jar too.
The check in expericence was quick and pain free, as was the check out experience (under a minute both times).
The staff at the front are both professional and friendly. I had a great time with them,
The next thing. The rooms.
When I read a review its all about the rooms. How does the Country Inn and Suites stack up?
I'd give them a "great value for it's money" . Clean, spacious (lots of power bars inside the desk for electronic gizmos), beds were comfortable, the only down side was that if you got a ground floor room you had to keep your blinds closed as people in the parking lot can see into your room. The mini fridge worked, and there is a nice reading lamp and chair. I liked my bed, but several of my co-workers thought they were only Ok. One problem I had was that if you had the fan/air on it was loud.... it did create some white noise I guess.
If you get a chance upgrade to the suites, they are much nicer with a separate reading area, a second TV, and a nice sitting room for guests.
The Calgary Country Suite and Inns also provide breakfast. Here's where I'm going to give it, the "Ok.....but it's free". Consisting of concentrate juices from machines (cafeteria stlye) so-so hot food, and such. There is no serving staff it's get your own, and then put the dishes away. The saving grace? It's free!
After that review of the breakfast let me throw in something better. They have a secondary breakfast express area which is the best I've seen anywhere. It has coffee pots , cups , granola bars (a mix of at least 3 or 4 brands of them) and fruit , also little bags.
This express breakfast area was a boon to me many a morning. It allows me a quick grab and go, that gave me a breakfast during that dreaded morning meeting.
I give the Secondary EXPRESS breakfast stand the highest "Samson Stamp of Superb"
I wish i had one of those at home!
There is also a gym , pool and hot tub there. They were all "Ok" the gym does have a nautilus and several cardio machines, but it has no free weights. The nice thing about it though is that it doesn't ever seem to be used, so I got to use the elliptical and watch Storage wars for hours!.
All in all, if you are in Calgary book a trip at the Country Inn & Suites (book online and early...I heard them constantly turning people away because they were full)

Room Tip: get the suite, and try to get second floor. They have handicap rooms which suck (no tub...huge bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsonbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryJunkie, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent experiences at our hotel.

We are proud to be refered to as " a little slice of home" as that is certainly what we strive to be to our guests! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, I certainly agree the suites are are a nice upgrade for those who are with us a little longer.

It is wonderful to hear that our Grab and Go breakfast earned your highest stamp of approval for convenience and selection.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope to see you again next time your travels bring you back to Calgary!

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in 2005 prior to flying home because of its proximity to the airport and did the same at the end of September on arrival, prior to travelling west. If anything we enjoyed our stay more this time, than last. The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful - a must after a long 7 hour time difference flight. The room was great and wonderfully quiet, except for planes (well, we did choose it for the airport!) and police sirens, but even these were not a major problem. The facilities looked good, though in our jet lagged state we used few, but the breakfast, considering it was "do it yourself" was great and set us up for our onward journey. Whether 1 or more nights, we wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. The only downsides are that the access from the airport is now more awkward because of ongoing road improvements (they confused our sat nav) and if you want to visit any part of the city you must drive. Of the 5 "chain" hotels we used on this trip we ranked this as the best and if we visit Calgary again it will be our first choice

Room Tip: We requested top floor to ensure any night room pacers would not disturb us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryJunkie, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

I am so glad to hear that your first experience with us in 2005 prompted you to return again when flying into Calgary this year and that if anything you enjoyed your stay even more this time around!

The current airport expansion has certainly altered the route to and from our hotel and the main terminal and I am sorry to hear that the updates have not yet made it to your navigation system, we have noted that Google Maps has correctly updated the new route and encourage our guests to verify that they have the up to date directions to avoid any frustration.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope to see you again next time your travels bring you back to Calgary!

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I was very surprised when I arrived at the hotel.

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The suites where spacious and extremely clean. The complimentary breakfast was hearty and an excellent added value.

I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. It. Was very comfortable and felt like I was staying with family!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryJunkie, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your very kind words about your stay with us!

I am glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your experience and enjoyed the staff, rooms and breakfast.

Again thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again next time you are in Calgary!

Warmest Regards,

Leanne Shaw-Brotherston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was fantastic. We had a jacuzzi suite. It was very clean, the staff was extremely friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful. We didn't know what to expect in the breakfast room and were delightfully surprised to see bacon, scrambled eggs, french toast and so much more. We thought it might just be something similar to a continental breakfast but it was excellent.

The indoor pool was nicely warm (some places I've stayed the pool was rather chilly) and very clean. The hot tub was down at the time but that didn't affect us since we had a jacuzzi in our room.

We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Calgary.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OADiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed for one night on 22nd September. The greeting from the Reception staff was first class and although our room was not immediately available every effort was made to get us an alternative as quickly as possible. Our room was spotlessly clean with lots of space. The bathroom was very well equipped with ample towels for two already on the shelves. The buffet breakfast was excellent putting to shame other hotels in Canada where we had paid significantly higher nightly rates. The staff we met throughout the visit couldn't do enough to help which was refreshing. We couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgvlplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Courtyard Calgary Airport
Courtyard Calgary Airport
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Port O' Call Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Address: 2481 39 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#19 Business Hotel in Calgary
#19 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Country Inn Calgary Airport
Calgary Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing