We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

I looked at all the different hotels available in Calgary, and was really leaning toward this one. When a great deal came up on Hotwire, I was really happy to end up with this hotel. It met all my expectations.

The hotel is very easy to find coming into the city from any direction, not just the airport. The location is also good for getting out to sight see. We found shopping and restaurants abound in this area. One nice touch is that the front desk will give you a map of all the places to eat/shop in close proximity to the hotel.

We were always able to find parking, the front desk greeted us every time we came in, the room was clean and large, and the staff at the continental breakfast were pleasant.

The breakfast itself was abundant, and always kept up. They had apples, bananas and oranges for those who like fruit with breakfast, as well as yogurt, cereals, bagels, and make your own waffles. It was plenty to get us going for the day.

I will gladly stay there next time I'm in Calgary, even if it meant paying full price. It was well worth it.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    204
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
226
128
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My friend and I met up in Calgary and stayed at this hotel with our 4 children in one of their suites! It was very nice. Front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which were very useful to us. The pool was very clean and enjoyable also. The hot tub was SUPER hot... which I like.

The housekeeping staff were excellent: very friendly and did an excellent job cleaning our room.

The fold out bed was not very comfortable but two of the kids volunteered to take it so that was fine.

Also, the elevator door would not stay open when we were trying to get our bags out at the lobby... which was a bit crazy... Our bag was lodged in the door and a member of their staff had to use all of her strength to pry it back open and hold it for me... which was very nice to have their help!

I do enjoy the country inn and find their facilities consistantly well taken care of and staffed by friendly people. This was no exception. The Calgary location was actually far better than I had even hoped.

Thanks for the excellent service.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean hotel, nice decor in the room and lobby.
  • Disliked — Busy front desk much of the time.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank synthetic_moonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed here for one night because the more affordable Days Inn was full on that date. The room at the Country Inn was $200 compared to $130 at the Days Inn, but on the other hand, I had a one bedroom suite at the Country Inn. The suite was very nice. Pleasantly decorated and plenty of room to spread out. There were freshly baked cookies at the front desk and a reasonably good continental breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately, I had asked for a quiet room and although I had a room away from the street noise, it is impossible to avoid the airplane noise since the hotel is pretty close to the airport.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We had a nice two-night stay at this hotel. It's only a few minutes' drive to the zoo and the airport, which was convenient for us. Planes flying over can be a bit loud in the early morning, but it only woke me up once. The room was comfortable, and the continental breakfast was good. The waffle station was very popular. They also had a nice selection of cereals, yogurt, english muffins, etc. There is a wide variety of restaurants nearby - just about any fast food place, and places like Joey Tomato's.

Our reservation was a bit complicated because we were making reservations for other people, too, but the staff handled it well. This is a AAA/CAA "show your card and save" hotel. Everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

Stayed a week on business in one of their suites. Everything was well maintained and clean.

Nice pool and workout facilities. Included breakfast (continrntal) includes a make your own waffle station and was great. Cookies at the front desk are a great touch too!

  • Liked — Beakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank patbarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

We chose to stay here as we hired a car and were driving to Jasper and back. The previous reviews were the reason we chose this property.

We arrived early, about 2pm. It was initially a minor drama to check in but this was quickly resolved and we got a room.

This is a nice hotel, nothing fancy, just comfortable for the price. It has a coffee maker in the room, no refrigerator and a standard hotel size bathroom. The room was a decent size for a standard room and had a sitting area. The rooms have free internet available and they supply you with ethernet cable.

We stayed here on the way too and when we returned from the Rockies. It was a comfortable, convenient place to stay. The staff were nice but not overly friendly, don't get me wrong, they were pleasant enough, but having just come from Vancouver (see our other reviews) they were not as friendly.

The breakfast was included and was okay, but we found the juices and milk warm and it wasn't well maintained. Of the two days we stayed we only had one breakfast so it may have been a bad day.

Overall, we found it a good but not great place to stay. If in Calgary and we were doing the same thing though we would stay again.

  • Liked — Close to airport, comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing special, but I guess not every place is
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wemarriedinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2007

Arrived from Europe in the evening and needed a place to stay overnight before heading for the Rockies. Picked up the rental car at the airport and drove straight to the hotel, which is about 10 minutes from the airport. I believe it would be difficult to reach this hotel without a car.
I loved the fact that you can fit the entire family of five in one hotel room. We booked a triple queen room, ideal when you have 3 children under the age of 12.
The rooms were clean, the receptionists were friendly and forthcoming, the breakfast was fine and the the pool area was clean. Did not use the gym, so I don't know what state the equipment was in.

Sightseeing in Calgary would be difficult without a car when staying at this hotel, as it is quite far from the centre. However,
for those of you who drive or intend to hire a car, the hotel is a good option, as it is more reasonably priced than the centrally located hotels.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Randi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Plus Port O'Call Hotel
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB
Address: 2481 39 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8V8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#19 Family Hotel in Calgary
#19 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary-Airport, AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calgary Airport Hotel Calgary
Country Inn Calgary Airport
Calgary Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing