We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff are horrible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 9 August 2007

I stayed here on a business trip. My company had 7 employees booked for 3 nights (21 room fees all together), all coming in from different cities, and all booked by the same Travel Agency. I was the first to arrive and check in. I had called before I left home, as I wanted to confirm that they would be billing my room directly to my company, and no, I would not have to pay by my own credit card. They confirmed that they received the fax confirmation from my employer, and all was good. When I got there however, they said that my company had not faxed the correct information, so they were not going to give me my room unless I paid for it myself. I refused. The staff at the front desk were very rude, and dismissed me. When I asked if there was a phone I could use to call my travel agent, they pointed down the hall to a payphone. My travel agent called the front desk, I could see the staff person talking to her, and and then the staff person hung up on my travel agent! Finally, after I sat in the lobby for close to 2 hours, they gave me my room, but no apologies for the treatment or their error. I would have gone to a different hotel, but I was meeting 6 of my co-workers in the morning, plus it was Stampede week, so chances of me getting a room anywhere else were slim.

The next day one of my co-workers was checking in, as she had arrived a day later than everyone else, and she had the same problem checking in as I had. We went to the front desk together and asked to speak to a manager, as this was unacceptable. We had 7 people renting 7 different rooms for 3 nights, and the way we were being treated was unbelievable. As we turned to walk away from the desk to wait for the manager, the staff member who had been 'assisting' us turned to another staff, and said "what a [--]". The manager came and assured us all that the situation was fixed, and said she would talk to the staff who called me the name. That evening, another of my coworkers went to take a cash advance out on her credit card, and couldn't. The Greenwood Inn, who assured us they were billing our company directly for our rooms, had charged her room to her credit card - and she hadn't even checked out yet!! The staff member who had used the profane language was still behind the desk doing their job. Let me tell you, I am in the customer service business also, and if one of my clients ever told my manager that they heard me call them a profane name, I would be fired on the spot.

When I returned home, I sent a detailed account of my experiences at the Greenwood Inn to our manager that looks after travel arrangements. She spoke with the Greenwood's managers, and they advised her that they were very sorry, and would send apology letters to all guests involved. Well, it's been over a year, and I still have not received my apology letter. Our company no longer reserves rooms at this hotel for its employees.

On a positive note, this hotel is beautiful, the room was a clean, standard 2-bed room. The pool looked nice, but I was scared to actually try it out, or walk by the front desk after my first night. I was scared they were going to change their minds and make me leave! The restaurant was very good, and the staff there were very friendly. Too bad the front desk staff didn't take lessons from them.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpg_kreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2007

The hotel was decent, and the King Bed was quite comfortable. When I checked in I asked for the AAA discount, as I am a member. The response was that they wouldn't give a discount because the hotel was full that night. In other words, they would give a discount if the hotel was not full. That really sticks in my craw. Either you offer a discount or you don't. I won't go back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PortMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2005

Excellent value for the money. Found the rooms comfortable, clean, staff courteous. Location was convenient to airport and TransCanada. Stayed both ends of western trip to Rockies. Picked up rental car at airport, so can't comment on shuttle service.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blackwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2005

When we made reservation we were told that they had shuttle service from the airport. When we arrived we called and were told to wait outside and it would be there in 15 minutes. After waiting 45 minutes we called again and were told they would be there in 10 minutes. We waited 20 more minutes. The third time we called they said they had no idea when the bus would come. At that point we jumped in a cab and paid our own fare to the hotel. We checked in and got our room. It was totally unacceptable. It had no view and it was next to a noisy ice machine and the elevators. When I asked to be moved I was told they had nothing else. The next morning I asked again and they said they could not accomodate my request. This made for an uncomfortable stay. Later I saw a bus full of people checking in. Obviously, they had rooms for over 40 people that just got off the bus. I was very disappointed with the service. Furthermore, they didn't have much knowledge for travelling tourists. I ended up walking next door to the Sheraton to get maps and information about the buses/trains. Pool/jacuzzi area was nice and our children loved that.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank euscarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2005

used this on tail ends of a trip out west to be near airport - it's your standard "by the airport" hotel - clean, helpful - not much else to say as not much more than that was needed - their free shuttle to/from airport was hotel-paid cab service - a step down from a hotel-operated shuttle service where drivers help you with bags, etc., but worked for us and should work for everyone else

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, AB
539
Reviewed 27 August 2004

Very clean, and has a nice upscale look to it. Definately recommended by me.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Clarion by Choice Hotel and Conference Centre
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 3515 26th Street NE, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 7E3, Canada (Formerly Greenwood Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £52 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and unwind: welcome to your home away from home in Calgary, and a better night's sleep. Whether you're traveling on business, with family or for leisure, enjoy all the comforts and convenience you've come to expect from Ramada - plus much more! Located in a quiet urban neighbourhood at Barlow & 32nd Streets, enjoy the best the city has to offer - from dining to nightlife, sports and events and more. Whether it's a couple hours in between meetings or an afternoon of fun with the families, there's something for everyone here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Calgary Airport Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Hotel Calgary
Greenwood Inn Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing