We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was my first trip to Calgary. i liked the hotel very much, the breakfast was great and it was great to find a hotel with free guest parking. Not much in the area in the evenings so if u don't have a car...get a rental. The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustaali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    56
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
37
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just spent 3 night here for the Calgary Stampede. Very comfortable suite, spacious and despite being next to the lift quiet (Suite 903) Special mention to Sherie Blake - Operations Manager - just what every good hotel should have. Accommodating and very efficient, nothing too much trouble) Great location, the Transit train is just around the block. Breakfast is okay, the only downside being a small area of tables. You may not get a seat. This is a nice Hotel!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, they can only say no!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

This hotel was fine, rooms were clean, tidy and well presented. There was only a very small area for breakfast however you could take it back to the room if you preferred. There did not seem to be much to do in the centre of Calgary, mostly office blocks and there is a considerable amount of building work going on at present. The hotel was OK for a single nights stay but I would not want to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We traveled to Calgary to attend a wedding reception and after looking at many hotels, we decided to stay at this one for the weekend discount and becuase of the close proximity to the reception location. Needless to say we were pretty disappointed.

We arrived late at night to discover that the hotel was located directly beside a bar, which on weekends turns into a nightclub. From the parking lot all you could here was the loud bass from the club and there were an array of drunk club goers wandering outside near the main entrance of the hotel. Luckily, our room was on the 8th floor of the hotel, so we were far enough away that we couldn't hear the music all night long, but because there was little to no sound proofing from the sliding patio door we were disturbed on a regular basis by the yelling of club goers and a garbage truck emptying a dumpster in the early morning.

The patio, although I'm sure it provided a nice view of the city, was filthy dirty and covered in poop from the pigeons living in it.

Overall the room wasn't bad, it didn't seem really clean though. We booked a room with a King bed, which was supplied with pillows for a Queen bed. I asked the clerk at check out if this was typical and she said that they only had the one size of pillows, which I thought was a bit strange.

The continental breakfast was good, it was nice to have a 'hot food' option for breakfast. We also thought the underground parking was nice to have. I'm glad the hotel wasn't really busy that weekend though, becuase there are not many spots underground and I would not have been excited to have my car parked out on the street with all the people coming out of the club.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katn00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga County, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

I spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Calgary for a business meeting. The price seemed a bit high for a Holiday Inn Express, but at least there was no additional charge for parking or WiFi, and a simple buffet breakfast, typical of this type of hotel, was also included.

The elevator was quite small, but otherwise the hotel was ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed here when visiting downtown Calgary on business.

Its more on the outskirts of the downtown area but still only a few blocks walk to the centre which is okay - safe area, lots of people around when walking in the evening.

The hotel itself looks fairly basic, but the rooms are well equiped with fridge, microwave, big TV, balcony, large comfortable bed and shower.

The free breakfast in the AM was basic, but you don't need to many frills (i don't anyway), when i have business lunches all week, and just need something to kick start your day.

Free WiFi was reliable, i did not use the gym or any other facilities.

If you are used to staying in Marriots and Hyatts i would say that you probably wont like the Holiday Inn. But if you are looking for the basics then this works fine.

Jerry or Gary (lost his name in translation!) was an attentative front desk manager, so top marks there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

My family took a trip to Calgary and we decided to stay at this hotel due primarily to location. We stayed four nights, Wednesday to Sunday. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful in regards to finding local restaurants and things to see in the city. The rooms were spacious and clean.

We had quiet night of sleep on Wednesday and Thursday night and were having a great trip ... then Friday night arrived. At 10 pm we were awoke by massive amount of rumbling bass which continued until 2:30 am. The music was so intense that we assumed it was a neighbouring room having a party. I spoke with the front desk who admitted that there was a bar (Nelsons) attached to the hotel which was the source of the noise.

My family ended up trying to watch TV, having to wait out the noise which lasted until 2:30 am when the bar shut down. After a terrible night I spoke with the front desk about cancelling the remainder of our stay and moving to another hotel. I was assured that this was a one time thing and that we would not be bothered again during our stay by noise from the bar. The exact same thing happened on Saturday night ... incredibly loud bass music until 2:30 am. This wasn't something you could sleep through. The pounding thump made you feel like you were trying to sleep in a club. The lack of sleep made my children tired and cranky and put a huge kink in our trip.

This is a nice hotel to stay at during the week, but I would strongly avoid ever staying here on a weekend due to the noise from the attached bar's live entertainment!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unknown_id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Property: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing