We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work, and the location was pretty convenient for where I needed to be, just on the edge of downtown. Nothing's too far away, with downtown and the entertainment areas of Stephen Ave & 17th Ave all within short walking distance. I also liked that it was close to the running & biking trails by the river.

The room itself was very basic, exactly what you'd expect, with a king-sized bed, desk and chair. Just the right size for one or two, not cramped at all. I was surprised that I had a full balcony overlooking the rail line, which is nice for getting some quick fresh air.

Welcome amenities were free parking (a perk in downtown Calgary), free wifi and free breakfast that met my needs (including hot eggs, sausages, panckes). The exercise room is a bit of a joke, but I'd rather be outside anyway. Reception was very friendly.

Overall, although nothing really stood out here, this hotel met all my needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmontonMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. As noted in other reviews we have a couple of areas of opportunity to upgrade in and one is the fitness room. We look forward to being able to complete this renovation as soon as our new great room and breakfast bar is completed. I hope you will be able to enjoy our changes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    61
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
39
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf bay area
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

It was on the edge of downtown so it was a slight walk to most restaurants. Building and rooms were OK but not of great note. It did not have much of a lobby. It did have wifi in the rooms. The staff was helpful in finding us a restaurant close by on our first night in when we had no car. The car rental place was close by. It had parking but most spaces were a bit cramped to get in and out of. It was an adequate hotel for 1 or 2 nights, typical of most Holiday Inn Expresses.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnoSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. I do appreciate the comments and concerns that you expressed about our property. We are currently undergoing upgrades to our lobby and breakfast bar area as we see this is the most requested item. I hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future so you can let us know how we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Needed a night away from the kids for my wife and I. Got a very nice room at a reasonable price. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. We live in calgary so the location wasn't important but it would be a good location for anyone visiting and wanting to spend time downtown. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lundvike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I've stayed here a number of times as my employeer has a negotiated rate of about $120/night. Unless you negotiate a rate down to something reasonable it's not worth staying here. The web price is insane, lots of better places at those rates. Unfortunately with so many business travellers in Calgary this is one of the cheaper in the downtown core, but really not worth it. If you are staying long term you can get much better rates and comfort if you are willing to drive a couple of kms. The rooms are outdated, the area that the hotel is in is aweful. I'm now staying at the other holiday inn further south just outside of the downtown core - much better !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholasNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear andrewp9,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Rest assured that your comments about the room conditions have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed our last night here and used as a staging area to get to the airport early in the morning (about a 20 minute drive). Room was clean, comfortable bed, had a desk area, free wi-fi, mini kitchen, and a nice big bathroom. The hallway was a bit worn and in need of a vacuum, but our room was fine.

We were able to easily walk downtown and see some of the city and passed a ton of restaurants. The hotel location is a little sketchy so be sure to walk the correct way. There is a dingy looking bar right next to the hotel with the smoking clientele hanging around in front. In the middle of the night yelling and banging could be heard from the street, probably from this bar.

The car parking is free and covered and I think there is an option for secured parking as well (a smart option). For one night this hotel was fine and an alternate option to staying at the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Rooms were clean and decent, especially for the price when compared with hotels a few blocks closer to the core of downtown. The staff were always friendly and helpful. They even found me a needle and thread package when a button came off of my pants. Breakfast was acceptable, but nothing fancy. The location was just a 15 minute walk to the place I was working and I could also hop on the C-Train to get me part way there for free.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was initially a single night stop-over at the start of a Trans-Rockies trip to Vancouver and then an Alaskan cruise. However, AirTransat sprung a last-minute schedule change on us which necessitated a 2 night stay instead. It turned out that the extra day was well spent exploring Calgary. The hotel is just a bit away from the main areas of town but easily walkable. The staff we met were really helpful in pointing out routes around town and recommending places to visit and eat. Overall, OK for a night or two but not for a prolonged stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#81 of 109 in Calgary
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Property: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing