We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Business Trip to Calgary”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Earlier this week, I spent two nights at this hotel. The suite was Huge and more room than I had time to enjoy! The staff was extremely attentive and friendly! I did not have time to enjoy the offered breakfasts as my morning meetings were elsewhere over that meal. It's about a mile (1.6 km) to Center Street giving one an opportunity to walk or, if less inclined to exercise, there is a free downtown light rail system. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and it worked out well for your business trip. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    40
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
41
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just got back to Calgary from China and this has been my stop for 2 nights before continuing my journey southward in Alberta. My vacation has just begun and after some long flights, delays and other issues, the hotel was a welcome retreat to recharge my batteries before continuing.

The staff was great. They were incredibly helpful both with information about nearby necessities and with making things as simple as possible.

The suite was really nice and very well-appointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Called phone centred received a great rate for our stay but was informed to contact hotel directly to book. Took the extra time to phone hotel directly only to be told NO! Asked to speak with manager which was then told I already was. Spoke to Sheri (apparently General Manager) and she would not give the quoted rate! Unhelpful! What is the point booking with a hotel that cannot honour rates given over the phone!! Will never stay here, and will inform everyone about the poor service! Wow, pretty sad when you receive bad service prior to your stay. Good thing I never booked with this hotel. Phoned other hotels in the downtown area, and surprise... they gave the rate quoted from their call centres. Bravo Westin, Sandman, Ramada and Regency Suites! Shame on you Holiday Inn Express!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank im1sweetchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your concerns regarding the property and your review. I apologize that you feel that way regarding the rates that were given, however I was the person you spoke with and did try and get your details along with the details for your phone call to central reservations so I could investigate it and have them take responsibilty for the incorrect information so they could be responsible for the difference of rates. Upon asking for your information so I could call you back you said you would call back and hung up the phone. I can assure you that we do provide excellent customer service as seen from previous reviews, and should you have chosen to stay with us we would have tried very hard to have this rectified for you. As we know we can not always completely satisfy our guests but we do take our jobs very seriously and try and offer a home away from home for our guests. Please email gmhiexdt@shaw.ca with any further concerns. Thank you very much in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Considering the higher prices charged for downtown hotels during the week this place is reasonably priced in a great location to walk around downtown or catch transit to your destination. I enjoyed being near the Bow River to walk the pathway. Front desk staff were very friendly. Price of room includes small selection of hot and cold items for breakfast and wireless internet. I stayed in a king bed Jacuzzi suite which was very spacious. My bed was a little soft for my liking but otherwise everything was to my satisfaction including AC to keep the temperature regulated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we always appreciate the feedback especially when there are so many options out there to choose from. We have just changed all of our mattresses but will be looking into additional pillow tops to adjust the softness as well in the future. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Older hotel that has been upgraded to standard Holiday Inn Express standards. Room was good size and had a balcony. Loved being able to have a window that opened. Parking included in room rate, which is a deal in downtown Calgary where parking is only second to Manhattan in terms of cost. Staff were very friendly and acknowledged me and other guests. This hotel is at the western edge of downtown Calgary is a little sketchy, but not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We have seen that parking cost is on the increase in Calgary and we appreciate the positive feedback to our property including it in the room rate. We hope that you will be back to our hotel in the future and that the area keeps seeing an improvement as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent one night here when in town for business. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Room was nice and in good condition. Was pleased with the value for the location and the quality of the room. Breakfast was mediocre at best. I did not use or see the pool. Lot's of places to eat and visit within a short walk from here. The C-Train is only 1 block away as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to us! We hope to see you again at our hotel and any time if you would like to leave us any feedback regaring how we can improve our breakfast we would love to know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Lovely newer hotel, spacious double queen room. Love the corner desk. Spotless room. The breakfast room is spacious, easy to get around even when busy, and the food was somehow better than most. Beautiful large pool.

Close to the airport and lots of great restaurant options close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
We are glad that you were able to relax and try to get adjusted after your long trip. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
ExecSuite
#75 of 109 in Calgary
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Property: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing