We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Budget & Adventure Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #68 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stay here while attending Spruce Meadows "Masters" as an photographer. My friend and I used the light rail transit back and forth. The staff at the Holiday Inn were most helpful and friendly giving us the "lay of the land" and putting us a ease with the West End Town "flavor." I am a realistic traveler and keep my eyes wide open to all the elements at play, To the staff at the Holiday... Thank you! You all were professional and friendly and were most helpful taking the next step in making sure we had a great experience.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay while most of your day is gone on adventures. If you are look for blus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We generally like Holiday Inn Express, but for the price this one just wasn't up to par. The building is older, and although the rooms are decent, I probably wouldn't stay here again, For the price we paid ($200 for one night) there are much nicer hotels in downtown Calgary.
There is a continental breakfast, but we didn't eat there so I can't say if it was any good or not.
The staff at the hotel was great, and the location is awesome if you want to be downtown. I did also like the balconies off the rooms.
I just can't justify the price for a hotel that is very mediocre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Rachelle R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. We are also pleased you liked our location. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the condition of our facilities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We arrived from Australia after a 23 1/2 hour journey!!
Caught shuttle from airport and were greeted by wonderful staff Rachel at front desk!!!
Room had 2 queen sized beds and was clean and comfortable.
Breakie was included and had everything you could want, was fresh and delicious!!
Would definitely recommend this place to other and would stay here again for sure!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews before booking anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is to relay my dissatisfaction on my recent stay at this location on July 14-16. The location does not look like safe specially at night when strolling in the area, the price is comparable to other hotels near the centre of the city and the staff was not attentive to my needs. The first night stay, I was given a room adjacent to the elevator - I had asked to be transferred away from the elevator. The night manager/staff noted this but I did not hear nor was advised whether this was possible. I was supposed to check out on July 20 (1 - week stay) but had to leave early because of this poor customer service. I advised the front desk staff of my dissatisfaction and said that it will be relayed to the manager, to date, I have not received a call or email or any communication regarding this concern. This is something very unusual to the service that I get from the other hotel locations and I am very frustrated with this outcome. I hope somebody in higher management would take a note of this.

Room Tip: I was told that to get a bigger and spacious room at this location, it has to be at the end of both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comp-aliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear comp-aliance,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Earlier this week, I spent two nights at this hotel. The suite was Huge and more room than I had time to enjoy! The staff was extremely attentive and friendly! I did not have time to enjoy the offered breakfasts as my morning meetings were elsewhere over that meal. It's about a mile (1.6 km) to Center Street giving one an opportunity to walk or, if less inclined to exercise, there is a free downtown light rail system. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and it worked out well for your business trip. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just got back to Calgary from China and this has been my stop for 2 nights before continuing my journey southward in Alberta. My vacation has just begun and after some long flights, delays and other issues, the hotel was a welcome retreat to recharge my batteries before continuing.

The staff was great. They were incredibly helpful both with information about nearby necessities and with making things as simple as possible.

The suite was really nice and very well-appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Called phone centred received a great rate for our stay but was informed to contact hotel directly to book. Took the extra time to phone hotel directly only to be told NO! Asked to speak with manager which was then told I already was. Spoke to Sheri (apparently General Manager) and she would not give the quoted rate! Unhelpful! What is the point booking with a hotel that cannot honour rates given over the phone!! Will never stay here, and will inform everyone about the poor service! Wow, pretty sad when you receive bad service prior to your stay. Good thing I never booked with this hotel. Phoned other hotels in the downtown area, and surprise... they gave the rate quoted from their call centres. Bravo Westin, Sandman, Ramada and Regency Suites! Shame on you Holiday Inn Express!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank im1sweetchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your concerns regarding the property and your review. I apologize that you feel that way regarding the rates that were given, however I was the person you spoke with and did try and get your details along with the details for your phone call to central reservations so I could investigate it and have them take responsibilty for the incorrect information so they could be responsible for the difference of rates. Upon asking for your information so I could call you back you said you would call back and hung up the phone. I can assure you that we do provide excellent customer service as seen from previous reviews, and should you have chosen to stay with us we would have tried very hard to have this rectified for you. As we know we can not always completely satisfy our guests but we do take our jobs very seriously and try and offer a home away from home for our guests. Please email gmhiexdt@shaw.ca with any further concerns. Thank you very much in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing