We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Just Average B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calgary Westways Guest House
Ranked #1 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Cod, MA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location but Just Average B&B”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed for three nights during the Calgary stampede. Perfect location for the stampede, just a ten minute walk to get there. Plenty of great places to eat in walking distance.
The room we stayed in was very small and had a strange bathroom.

Breakfast table was beautiful to look at. Food was just plain awful. We were served burnt pancakes one morning and quiche from Cosco another morning. Coffee was excellent.

The hosts were very kind and helpful during our stay, but I never saw sheets changed after people left.

Would probably choose another place to stay if we return to Calgary.

Room Tip: Stairs very narrow. Rooms dark, but attractive if you like heavy Victorian decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesCalgary, Owner at Calgary Westways Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfasts while you stayed at our bed and breakfast. If mentioned at the time that the pancakes were burnt we would have cooked you some fresh ones.

As to the Costco Quiche that was a small part of that days breakfast as it consists of fresh fruit platter, toasted bagel with smoked salmon, cream cheese and the Costco quiche. Baked goods, selection of fresh juices.

Our website has descriptions and pictures of all the guest rooms and bathrooms in our 100 year old house and this was an online booking from our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    29
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
62
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Just left Calgary after staying 2 nights at Westways. Stayed in the Hamilton room, very nice. Bed very comfortable. Unique bathroom layout, shower is separate from washroom area. Shower was tiny but has good pressure. Breakfast each day was awesome. Jonathon and Graham are great hosts. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Enjoyed a very pleasant four night stay at the Westways. The large room and en suite bathroom were clean and comfortable. A small kitchenette outside the room was supplied with water, coffee and tea. A fridge was available as well. The breakfast was very tasty and thanks to Graham for providing a vegetarian option for sausages. A busy time of the year so lots of interesting people to chat with at breakfast. The location is perfect - a few blocks to the Stampede grounds where we were participating in a horse show, very close to a number of excellent restaurants on 4th Street and an added bonus of being close to the Elbow River trail system so we could get in a few 6 km runs while in Calgary. Graham and Jonathan are knowledgeable and friendly hosts providing reliable information about activities and amenities in the area. Will definitely rebook the next time in Calgary

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehagell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for the stampede in mid July in the Mission room which was absolutely huge and overlooking a little park. The bathroom was amazing, with soaps/shampoos/everything needed. The bed was massive too and very comfy. Drinks were available in the little kitchen outside. As it was boiling, having this gem to come back to, was a lifesaver! We needed the fan on as we get pretty warm easily (cursed Englishness) but were comfy enough. breakfast was plentiful and they accomodated our early arrival which again was very much appreciated. Cracking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Westways during Calgary Stampede. The location is very good, only 10 minute walk to Stampede area, 20 minutes to the city centre, and there are restaurants and a Safeway only two blocks from the B&B. There is free parking in the backyard.

Our room (Grandin) was smallish but adequate for 2 nights stay. The breakfast was a hearty affair, and Graham was a great host.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVi_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst travelling Canada visiting family. Jonathan was a great host, made me feel welcome but was also un-intrusive after giving me a map and telling me how I could get into the City. It's about a 20 minute walk to the CBD, but through a really interesting set of neighbourhoods, which made me glad I walked and didn't catch the bus.

The room is full of great pictures and ornaments, and the bed was fantastically comfy. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with everything you could ask for and more. The shower itself was fine, albeit a little small and low. At 5 foot 10 I had to bend my knees a bit to get my head under the shower head, but it wasn't a problem at all.

Secure, off-road parking round the back was good. I can't comment on breakfast as I slept in very late both days.

I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and will look to book in again if I ever come by this part of the World again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheQuokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been here early May for 4 nights and it was great. Room is very cozy, shower is very small, but we did not have a problem with that. It is clean and service is good.
Breakfast was excellent and Graham is a very nice guy. It is a great place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
657 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calgary Westways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary Westways Guest House

Property: Calgary Westways Guest House
Address: 216 25 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2S 0L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Mission
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calgary Westways Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our 1912 Arts & Craft style home with its English ambiance. Relax, be comfortable & be you, say Jonathon & Graham. All guests bedrooms have en-suite, bathrooms, free WI-Fi, free local calls and movie channels. Enjoy our full breakfast and we provide free off street parking at the back of the house. Within walking distance of Downtown Calgary, Calgary Stampede Park, Holy Cross Centre, BMO Centre, Telus Convention Centre and Scotia Bank Saddledome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Calgary Westways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing