We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Little Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calgary Westways Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calgary Westways Guest House
Ranked #2 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2005

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. Loved the place. The hosts make you feel like it's your home, the rooms are nice and big and the fridge on the landing is stocked with water and pop for you to use when you want.

Although it is a 25 minute walk to the town centre, within minutes there are some great restaraunts and bars and within 10 minutes is one of the main strips for nightlife. In fact you don't need to venture in to the City on the night as everything you need is within walking distance.

They do have two dogs but i'd say that adds to the friendliness of the place rather than detracting from it.

The breakfasts were awesome. Also a good time to meet feloow tarvellers as you all sit round the same table and swap stories with the hosts joining in as and when.

Highly recommended and will definetely stay here again if we are ever in calgary in the future.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quakerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
53
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2005

We stayed two nights in Calgary at this B&B. The room was clean and large with a confortable bed and newly decorated ensuite. The only problem was the overpowering smell of dogs! The owner had 2 dogs, and 2 of the guests had their dogs with them too. We are dog-lovers, but the smell was a little overpowering for comfort. Breakfasts were average, and the hosts were very accommodating.

The B&B is situated on a main road in a residential area, so you have to drive to the town centre/restaurants.

Helpful?
6 Thank GO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2005

Westways B&B has a wonderful location with great restaurants within walking distance. Ate at the Ouzo Greek Taverna and the food was delicious. The smell of old bacon, sausage and other fried foods was overwhelming as we entered the B&B on arrival. The room we had with queeen was very small.

Helpful?
4 Thank 6554ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2005

I really enjoyed our stay in Calgary. In part this was because our hosts were kind and attentive. The food at Westways is excellent. I found it very useful that high speed web access was available. The atmosphere in this B and B was akin to being at home. Finally, it is conveniently located near the centre of Calgary in a quiet neighbourhood. I highly recommend Westways to anyone staying in Calgary.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2003

A home away from home... the hosts goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome... Bedroom are a fair size, bathrooms and sitting rooms are also. Willing to answer questions about where to eat and go. Hot tub is a nice touch.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2003

I stayed at Calgary Westways off and on for over six months while working in Calgary. The Westways is beautiful 1912 Heritage home full of antiques and knicknacks. Located in a trendy neighborhood just south of Downtown Calgary, the Westways is near to lots of restaurants and only a short walk away from the Stampede Grounds (home of the Calgary Stampede and the Flames hockey team). I unwound after many a stressful day by walking the banks of the Elbow River, only one block away (Calgary has an extensive network of urban walkways and those near the Westways are some of the best). The Proprietors, Jonathon Lloyd and Graham Mckay, are gracious hosts. They pay close attention to the small details that make their guests feel comfortable and welcome. Jonathon acquired his cooking skills at the Savoy Hotel in London, England and his breakfasts are something else. I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict he prepares as a treat for weekend guests. The Westways is a special place - it is truly a home away from home!

  • Stayed June 2003, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calgary Westways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary Westways Guest House

Property: Calgary Westways Guest House
Address: 216 25 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2S 0L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Mission
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calgary Westways Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our 1912 Arts & Craft style home with its English ambiance. Relax, be comfortable & be you, say Jonathon & Graham. All guests bedrooms have en-suite, bathrooms, free WI-Fi, free local calls and movie channels. Enjoy our full breakfast and we provide free off street parking at the back of the house. Within walking distance of Downtown Calgary, Calgary Stampede Park, Holy Cross Centre, BMO Centre, Telus Convention Centre and Scotia Bank Saddledome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Calgary Westways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing