We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly bad sofa bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad sofa bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

This was our 2nd stay at this property. Each time we have booked an 'executive suite' so that we can have separate sleeping areas (the room has a king in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the sitting area.

The last time we stayed (Sep 2010) the sofa bed was so bad, that my adult daughter got no sleep the first night and had to make up a bed with the sofa cushions on the floor. She called down in the middle of the night to request that we be moved to another room first thing the next morning but was told that nothing could be done then, and it would have to be sorted out the next day. It took an hour of repeatedly phoning the front desk the next day and then going to check a suitable alternative with a very grumpy room attendant to find a room we could move to a room with a suitable sofa bed. (Initially we were told the sofa beds were all the same, but when we threatened to check out, they were able to find a slightly better one, although still not great.)

Not wanting to deal with the hassle of another sleepless night or having to hunt all over the hotel at check in on this stay, we requested a room with a sofa bed that could be slept on, when booking our one-night stay this time. We were told to check the bed when we arrived. We didn't have time for this with an event to get to, and quite clearly the hotel has no better sofa beds anyway, as we've now tried 3 of them and they are all basically sagging, lumpy bags of springs. For this stay we triple folded the 2 mattress pads, the comforter off the main bed and an extra blanket that we requested from front desk to create a half-decent makeshift mattress.

The ONE absolute basic that any guest needs in a hotel room is a clean, comfortable bed. This hotel does not provide that, and doesn't appear to be doing anything about it. Won't stay here again unless the sofa beds are changed. If you don't plan to use the sofa bed and can check in early enough to leave the A/C on for about 4 hours to cool the room down, you'd get a decent stay at a good rate.

Re other aspects of the stay:

-Front desk staff are generally pleasant and friendly, and we were able to check in early on this stay. -There were no towels in the room when we arrived but we were able to get some from the housekeeper who in the hallway nearby. Although we were given an early check in, the room really should be checked and ready to rent before being released back to front desk.
-Checking in early gives you the chance to put the A/C on and leave it on for the day in order to cool the room down. Not sure what is wrong with the heat in this building, but for May and September we've found the room to be unbelievably hot on arrival.
-There are 'ecology' notices in the room stating that the hotel wants to reduce waste, laundry detergents going into the water system, etc so please put the towels in the bathtub to be changed, or hang them up to keep the same ones. This is great, however there are only disposable plastic/styrofoam cups available and even on asking at the front desk, we couldn't get a washable ceramic mug or real glass and there are no recycling bins in the rooms- only one downstairs by the lifts. Not very 'executive' or ecological.
-Free parking (outdoor) & wireless internet are a bonus.
-$2.10 daily in-room safe charge is ridiculous. Include it in the bill or give guests the option not to use the safe.
-Complimentary breakfast and pool/waterslide are great features although we didn't use either.
-Would happily pay a small fee for a 'kitchen kit.' The suites have a fridge and microwave, a kit containing cutlery, plates, bowls, kettle, toaster, mugs & glasses would be worth $10-$15 per stay.
-The 1" gap under the door would be very dangerous in the event of a fire and also lets in all the noise of anyone in the hallway, including the very noisy early morning housekeeping teams. If you're sleeping on the sofa bed, plug the gap with a blanket, towel or jacket.

Room Tip: Don't book if you plan to use the sofabed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmascanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    49
    43
    22
    23
See reviews for
52
31
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

I stayed here with my husband and 2 children (5years and 8 months). We were here for a mixture of business in town and leisure in the outlying areas. It is in a great location, close to the BMO Centre and Saddledome, C train and easy to get to town. 5 mins from the very large Chinook Mall and easy access to Deerfoot Trail, Highway 1 and not to difficult for Hwy 1A.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, printing out maps and recommending places to eat when asked. The laundry closes at 10pm but I was there until late one evening and this was no problem at all.

The rooms are well cleaned everyday and although basic are well equipped. Dark cutains, comfy pillows and mattresses help sleep but the very, very noisy heating/air con causes a problem. We turned it off as it was right next to our youngest and although the temp was fine it was a bit stuffy.

Breakfast was fine, fresh waffles, muffins, toast, cereal, eggs, tea, coffee. I have a wheat intolerance so was unable to eat anything other than cold boiled egg. I have been to other hotels where they provide oatmeal. This would have been a nice addition but not essential.

The pool and waterslide was nice and clean with towels provided, although the hot tub was a little too hot for us to use.

I would definatley use this hotel again for a convenient place to stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraWilson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
We are so glad you feel Comfort Inn & Suites - South is a great value and a great place to stay in Calgary and would recommend it to others. Thank you for choosing us for your business and lesiure travel to the area. We are pleased you enjoy the amenitites offered and the service at the hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The rooms were very hot, even with the air conditioner, the noise from the bar across the street as well as other hotel guest kept me awake all night. The smell of smoke was disgusting, even though we had a non smoking room. We were promised a late check out, and there was NO chance once we arrived that they would give us one. In the three nights we stayed, we never once had our room cleaned, we were given fresh towels in a bag!!! It was awful!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMM154920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Comfort Inn & Suites - South. It is our team's goal to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us. After your first nights stay if you had contacted our front desk which is available to at your service 24 hours a day we would have been more than happy to make sure everything would have been to your liking. Its unfortunate that we werent given the chance to make it right for your stay as this is not consistent with our customer service that other guests had experienced during the same weekend.

We take our guest comments very seriously and pride ourselves on our customer service, cleanliness and helpfulness and I sincerely hope that you give us the chance to let you experience that as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel many, many times over a five year period commuting back and forth to Calgary on projects for a nearby client. I chose it because of proximity to the client, but I stayed as it was very clean and service was spectacular. Definitely staffed by the warmest, friendliest people of any hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
We are so glad you've enjoyed your stays with us over the years. Thank you for taking the time to post your review letting us know that the cleanliness of the hotel and the warmth and service from our staff keep you coming back to our hotel. We look forard in welcoming you back the next time you are in the Calgary area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful time visiting our 3yr. old grandaughter. We decided to stay at a hotel in Calgary and the Comfort Inn fitted our needs. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daleparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward in seeing you again on your next visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Our one night stay average. The room was clean and the front desk clerk was very courteous. The big thing that I was not impressed with was the fact that I didn't get much sleep since I could hear the main A/C unit for the entire floor just on the other side of my wall. We were close to the elevator also, and that too kept me up. If I ever stay there again, I would request a room at the other end of the hall.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvdaRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in July 2010. Thank you for taking the time in making us aware that you were sensitive to the noise coming from the circulating fan for the hallway. Our front desk is available to service you 24 hours a day, we would have been more than happy to move you to a different room so that you would had a quiet nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Pro:
Clean, quiet and convenient
Free parking and plugin
Free WiFI and LAN access through Shaw. Speed excellent
Continental breakfast included

Con:
Strange $2.10 safe charge per day

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilecoyote314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel385, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
We appreciate you taking the time and submitting the great review of Comfort Inn & Suites - South. It means a lot to our team. The safe is there for your use and the charge is should it be broken into you would be covered up to $5000.00 in loss. The charge of $2.10 is for this coverage. In the future should you not wished to be charged for the safe please do let us know at the time for check-in. We look forward in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites South
Address: 4611 MacLeod Trail S.W., Calgary, Alberta T2G 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites(R) South is located minutes from downtown Calgary and the Pengrowth Saddledome, home of the Calgary Flames hockey team. This Calgary hotel is minutes from the Calgary Exhibition & Stampede grounds, the famous Calgary Tower, the Calgary Zoo and the Calgary TELUS Convention Centre. Guests of this Comfort Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy the indoor heated pool, two-storey water slide, hot tub and fitness room. Corporate travellers will appreciate the business center and meeting rooms that accommodate up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites South Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn And Suites South
Comfort Inn Calgary
Comfort Inn South
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing