We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton
2 reviews
“Great Breakfast!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2008

I stayed at this hotel during the Christmas holidays with my wife and kids. The kids loved the pool with the waterslide and the breakfast was a nice treat with fresh Belgian Waffles! I would recommend this hotel to other families as it is close to the mall and downtown.

The room was clean and had plenty of pillows! The hotel is very well kept and didnt have any issues with any of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller111000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    54
    45
    22
    23
See reviews for
57
34
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We were here for a 2-night mini-vacation in Calgary and wanted something inexpensive, on McLeod Trail, a suite so the kids could have some privacy and a pool for the kids. This hotel fit the bill on all counts - not a huge room by any means, but well laid-out and the pool/slide was great fun.

The A/C didn't seem to make it into the "living room" - our bedroom was nice and cool but it was a little warm in the living room. Pillows were in short supply too, but our housekeeper found us an extra one after the first night. The breakfast room was nice but a bit cramped for the amount of people using it, and probably needed to have more attendants refilling bread, cereal, juices, etc.

But overall, for the price it was quite nice. Yes it's a crummy part of town, but it's really close to a go-kart place and easy access to the rest of Calgary. Despite some other reviews we had no issues at all with housekeeping - our room was clean and well looked after.

  • Liked — Pool with waterslide
  • Disliked — Apparent lack of A/C in the living area
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2007

I realize we stayed over the Christmas holiday period, but there was no - absolutely no - excuse for the horrible conditions that we encountered during our stay. On a daily basis our rooms lacked towels and face cloths, and other amenities and the maid service was poor. The pull out hide-a-bed was filthy, with hundreds of sunflower seeds in and underneath the bed. The carpet in our room was dirty and the room in general needed a good cleaning. The continental breakfast area was lacklustre and of poor quality. On Christmas day they closed the breakfast area early, only to open it later for what apeared to be family members. As well, the management neglected to mention there would be NO maid service at all on XMas Day, so in addition to all of the above we had no towels or service on that day. The front desk staff was not equipped to handle regular requests from guests and often one young person was left alone to handle all hotel issues. My family and I would not stay at this hotel again. When management was contacted by us, their response was very poor. As regular visitors to Calgary, they have lost our business indefinately.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We found this hotel to be quite adequate and convenient to the Calgary Stampede, downtown locations, and other attractions such as the zoo.The rooms were clean and the desk staff were extremely helpful when asked for any information or directions. I was not thrilled with this block of Macloud Trail but directly behind the hotel was a lovely neighborhood. Unfortunately in front of the hotel was a Hooters, liquor store and a money exchange/check cashing facility. Further down on this same Trail was a lovely mall and many of the large stores and restaurants found in most cities.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newjerseyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Since it was Stampede time, we were very limited as to choices when we booked up. However we were very happy to find a very clean and "new" hotel that was in reasonable proximity to the Stampede grounds (one train stop or walk). Overall very happy with our stay. Breakfast was a bonus, I didn't realize it was included. In addition to standard continental breakfast, you could make your own Belgian waffles. This was a hit with my daughter.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noisy air conditioner
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dixiechick-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

I stayed here for 3 days in December '06, and the experience wasn't the best, nor was it the worst.

My room was clean when I arrived and my toiletries and towels were stocked every day. My only problem with the hotel was that none of the staff, including the manager, would help me with the wireless internet issues I was having, even though I paid for it.

I didn't find this hotel as bad as other people said it was, however, next time I'm in Calgary, I will probably stay at another hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThisIsNotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwood park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

The hotel was dirty and the rooms were even worse. The beds were like sleeping on the floor. The noisy bar across the road will keep you up during the early morning hours. The front desk staff was very unprofessional. There are many better options available. Do not waste your money here.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank loisduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#92 of 109 in Calgary
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 109 in Calgary
763 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#21 of 109 in Calgary
511 reviews
Econo Lodge South
#88 of 109 in Calgary
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites South
Address: 4611 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites(R) South is located minutes from downtown Calgary and the Pengrowth Saddledome, home of the Calgary Flames hockey team. This Calgary hotel is minutes from the Calgary Exhibition & Stampede grounds, the famous Calgary Tower, the Calgary Zoo and the Calgary TELUS Convention Centre. Guests of this Comfort Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy the indoor heated pool, two-storey water slide, hot tub and fitness room. Corporate travellers will appreciate the business center and meeting rooms that accommodate up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites South Hotel Calgary
Comfort Inn And Suites South
Comfort Inn Calgary
Comfort Inn South
Calgary Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing